We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Decent”
Review of Sam N Andy's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam N Andy's
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Mostly Decent”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The nice part of this restaurant is the outdoor space in summer. As it is not in a high traffic area, one can actually sit out there without being drowned out or stunk out by passing vehicles. Food is pretty average with not much too exciting on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This restaurant is conveniently located to one end of Main Street where you wouldn't find a lot of eateries (the other end & center of Main Street has plethora of choices). So in a way this place has a charm but the food is unpalatable.

We saw only one cook in the kitchen, most of the dishes seemed semi-fresh cooked and they relied a lot on the refrigerator. Salsa was so cold (straight from the fridge) that it gave a bone chill while the tortillas on my tacos were too chewy. My friend had quesadilla and that tortilla was cold & chewy too - seemed a tad stale.

Also, I saw a comment from owner that chips/salsa are complementary but we didn't get any. Perhaps its complementary for parties of 4 or more & we were only 2.

I would not visit this place again when I go to Whitehorse next. There are lot better Mex or Tex-Mex options around.

This place is also frekin expensive given the quality of food. For 1 veggie tacos & 1 veggie quesadilla we shelled out approx $28.

Watch out!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want real Tex Mex food, don't eat here”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place is a rip off. Very overpriced for what you get, not interesting and not authentic Tex Mex. If you are from anyplace that has a decent Tex Mex restaurant, (that means you American tourists) you will be sorely disappointed. I have eaten here several times because of group situations, and after the last time, I will not go back. The servers are friendly enough but I hate feeling ripped off when I go to a restaurant. $6 for a refill of store bought chips in a small bowl? No thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowisnotcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ykner1974, Owner at Sam N Andy's, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We provide complimentary buckets of chips and salsa to all of our customers. This is based on 4 people, it is clearly stated on the menu that the first one is free but extra's will cost. The buckets are intended to be a started not to be the main meal. Our chips are purchased from a supplier and we keep them in a deep freeze. We then thaw, cut and cook our own chips - this ensures that our chips are always fresh and unseasoned.
We offer bottomless pop and complimentary desserts or drinks for special occasions - it is just not possible for us to give everything away.
We have never claimed to be authentic (none of the 4 owners over 25 years has) but we recently returned from a trip to Nevada. We sampled several Tex-Mex restaurants and found the seasonings and food to be similar. We even had to pay for our chips and salsa at those restaurants.
We offer not only Tex-Mex but homemade burgers, fresh salads and wraps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Okay.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place gave me a mixed feeling... The food is alright, not amazing. The decor is fun, patio is great, but I couldn't stand the slow, forgetful and unthoughtful service. My server forgot water when I asked for water and when I reminded her, she forgot again. She seemed swamped with tables but... Water? Really? I might try it again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neoprenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The staff and management are incredible here!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I loved this restaurant! What a great group of people!! Staff and management alike! Great atmosphere and fast, friendly, DELICIOUS food!
I could eat here every day! Fantastic!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmatt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam N Andy's also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing