We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundog Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Yukon Inn(Whitehorse)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel(Whitehorse)
US$214
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKKY Hotel(Whitehorse)
US$157
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
283
64
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
64
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfuzzy crocusviewing cabinsraven's nestwolf denhot tubnorthern lightsdog sleddingfire pitsun dogcranberry cottagesun roomaurora viewingcity tourbean northwell equipped kitchensatellite tvtakhini hot springs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We absolutely loved this place and will definitely be back! We booked the Sundog Retreat to have a well earned break, looking for some peace and tranquility which is exactly what we got. The Cranberry is perfectly appointed with wonderful views, light and spacious inside with lots of thoughtful details considered. We found it to be exceptionally clean and comfortable. I absolutely loved the HUUUGE bed in the master bedroom - very comfy, with cosy authentic country quilted comforters. I have never slept so well!
I enjoy keeping fit so was very happy to see the mini gym available in the Nook, I thought the yoga space was lovely, with perfect ambience. There are also lots of lovely tracks to explore for a nice run/jog. We very much enjoyed using the sauna and steam room along with a welcome glass or two of wine in the outdoor hot tub - VERY nice!!!!
We met both Heather and Marie who were super friendly and accommodating and Omg! Hunter the dog is soooo adorable, absolutely loved him!
Whilst I was very impressed with the library area and the sunroom where you can pick up the wi-fi Internet access (this is a well thought out space), my husband felt Internet connection to the cabin would have been useful. Personally I liked it's absence as it meant he relaxed whilst in the cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Sundog retreat at the end of 3.5 weeks camping and hiking in the Yukon. The two days were our idea of luxury after being in the Yukon backcountry - and the Sundog retreat delivered exactly what we wanted.

Sundog is situated on a large tract of land close enough to 'pop in' to Whitehorse for sightseeing or whatever, but far enough away to feel ... away from it all. The cabin we stayed in was very clean, with a full kitchen, porch, bar-b-que. We went for two walks while there; a short tour through the retreat and neighbouring forest and then a jaunt down to the river and back.

My one gripe: the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever paid to sleep in ... ever. It needs updating - and quickly!

But all other furnishing and appliances were excellent. We stayed in the Westmark in Whitehorse when we arrived, and a few other hotels in Haines Junction and Dawson and the Sundog was by far the best quality and the best value for money we experienced in the Yukon (though we did tent most of the time).

If I was going back to Whitehorse, I would base myself at Sundog without even considering any other hotel.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Princess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thanks for the feedback about the bed... We will try to figure out which cottage you were in and which bed you didn't like, so that we can make changes ASAP! Comments like these help us provide better experiences for future guests, so we appreciate the information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I had a great relaxing getaway at Sundog Retreat just north of Whitehorse in the beautiful Yukon Territory. Cute, well-kept cabins with all the amenities! The hot tub, sauna, and clean mountain scenery made for an even more relaxing time. Each cabin is far enough apart so you have your own secluded spot with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and Yukon River valley. There is a small fitness studio with some aerobic machines, stretching and yoga areas, and a satellite TV to keep you busy while burning some carbs!

Room Tip: Each cabin seems to be unique with some bigger than others(i.e. family) and some smaller (for a couple)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KauaiTennisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

There are several lovely cabins at Sundog that are fully equipped with TV, kitchenettes, etc. The cabins are in great condition and very clean. A hot tub and a sauna plus lots of trails to explore are there for your enjoyment. Sundog is located 25 minutes from downtown Whitehorse for your shopping/tourist activities. The view of the mountains and the short distance to the Yukon River makes this an ideal vacation location, You won't be disappointed if you stay at Sundog Retreat! Hotels can't offer this type of space and privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudge_Happy_Vacatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great location we travelled from Pr.George, BC to meet our daughter & husband travelling from Inuvik, NWT. Location was perfect, peaceful, comfortable. We stayed 3 nights in the Cranberry Cottage and it accomodated 5 adults and 1 dog very comfortably. The view from the deck was amazing, and no sign or sounds of neighbours. Just friendly visits from the Horses in the pasture, looking for people to scratch their ears, one even gave kisses to the dog. Would love to stay at this location on our next trip to Whitehorse. Thank you Andrew and Heather for opening your property for us to enjoy.

Room Tip: Cranberry Cottage excellent for 2 families
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceGeorgeCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews