We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the real north of Canada” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience the real north of Canada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at Panorama for four nights which was ideal for the chance of aurora sighting and experiencing living in what is a very alien environment to us ( we live in the sub-tropics) . Fortunately we struck good weather and mild temps by Yukon standards. We got to see the aurora two of the nights which was great. The best spot was by the fire pit with a log fire keeping our backs warm. By staying out of town you don't have to take expensive trips to see the aurora - just pop outside. The Sundog location is also good for Takhini area activities. Heather and Andrew are excellent hosts and attentive to your needs.
My only quibbles were that the wi-fi was some distance away in the sun room and the ancient septic system was questionable but all in all we had a very good experience at Sundog and heartily recommend it.
For aurora info see my 'Aurora Borealis and Northern Lights (NL) reality check' in the Yukon forum.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    57
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
103
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at panorama for 3 nights with the hope of seeing the Northern Lights and we were lucky enough to see it on the first night, but not on the other 2.

It is about 30 mins drive from town on good roads and easy to find. We rented from Subaru and were happy with the car and service.

The Northern Light tour packages basically drive you out to an area close to Sundog and give u hot chocolate, shelter and a fire and charge you $100+ per person!

At Sundog there is a fire pit they set up for you so you just light the fire and sit and wait for the show, or you can peak out the window every 15-30 mins, and if you see the lights, walk out a few mins to the open field or view from porch. It was quite nice to be able to pop in and out of ur room to warm up or snack while waiting for the Northern lights.

Having said that not everyone is comfortable driving in snow or if they are a single traveller they may wish to meet people so the NL tour packages may work for some people.

There is wifi in the communal sun room only. The staff are friendly and helpful. The lodges are warm and well equipped. Satellite TV had a good number of channels.

Also close to Takini Springs. In town there is a good supermarket and there is a outdoor BBQ on the porch. We cooked for all meals so can not comment on local restaurants.

Would recommend Sundog highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

After staying at the Sundog retreat for a week at the end of January there is no doubt why this place is ranked number 1!!!
The location is perfect, close enough to Whitehorse (about a 30 minute drive) but far enough outside in the country to feel like you're in the middle of the Yukon.
We stayed in the Ravens Nest apartment/loft cabin and it was exactly what we were anticipating. VERY clean, right above the hot tub/sauna area (so you don't have too far to go when you're cold afterwards), wonderful owners who are very accommodating and super friendly; overall an extremely lovely place for a very reasonable amount.
As a travel agent by profession I would have zero issues with recommending these accommodations to my clients!!!

Room Tip: The Ravens Nest is above the common area and the buildings are definitely not sound proof so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EcstaticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was a terrific location for a relaxing weekend getaway. The Fuzzy Crocus cabin was warm, well-lit and inviting, including a "Welcome Basket" when we arrived. The cabin was well-stocked and had satellite TV, (which we didn't use) a CD player and radio. Highlights for us were the x-country ski over to the hot tub and then a few kilometres to the Yukon River and back. Later we drove to Bean North Coffee Shop and Takhini Hot Springs and the Yukon Wildlife Preserve. Although the temperatures dipped below -20 we were very comfortable and warm. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We choose this cottage mainly because we wanted a far away place with no city lights nearby to watch the northern lights and also to have as a family, a time for ourselves. We didn´t have the fortune to see the auroras though we had a great time sharing together. We played in the snow (snow fights) during freezing dark nights at -26°, our laughs were the only sound we could hear in that beautiful place. We took great pictures of the cottage within the landscape. Everybody liked our pictures and made comments of how beautiful the place is. We stayed at Fuzzy Crocus, The cottage was well equipped. The kitchen had everything we could need. You also have plenty of big windows all around the cottage where you can sit and look the scenery and the sky. This cottage is well located to watch the auroras since it is next to a wide open space without trees. The only thing that I did not like about this cottage is that there is no wifi internet connection in the cottage. We had to walk to the ´sunroom´ in order to have internet facilities. It is worth to mention that we stayed 6 days in total. The first 3 in Inn on the Lake and the other 3 days in Sundog Retreat. If you are wondering which is best, let me tell you that it will depend upon what is your main interest: Inn on the Lake is more fancy. It is run by a chef which by the way, cooks wonderful and we have exceptional dinners (so if you don´t want to cook, this is place). We stayed at the presidential suite. It is beautiful but too dark. Every room has a window that you can´t see clearly to the outside. It has a kitchenette but not so well equipped. We had to ask always to lend us pans, cutlery, etc. so it is not so easy to cook there. If you are the kind of people who like to meet new ones, you will have the chance in Inn on the Lake. Everybody meet for tours, or for dinning all together. As for to watch the auroras, I noticed this is not a good place to see them in winter. The chef told us to look for a spot with no trees but Inn on the Lake is surrounded by them!!! We walked in the dark nights, but as we didn´t know the place, we did not walk long distances since it was too dark. On the other side, is the lake and although frozen, it could be dangerous to walk there. All pictures you see of the auroras in Inn on the lake are taken from the lake and the aurora behind the cottage, so no wonder we will not walk by our own in the lake. Now, as for Sundog Retreat, it is not so fancy but it is cozy. The landscape is more beautiful and you have the chance to walk as much as you want safely. There are more open spaces to chase the auroras (not so many trees, no lakes) but in this place you are by your own. In Inn on the lake there were tours that you can hire with them like dogsled, etc. If you ask me, I liked more Sundog Retreat as a place to rest and share and enjoy the landscape (superior!!!) but Inn on the Lake, you meet more people, there are more facilities as tours and first class dinners!!! but if you want to chase auroras by your own you won't find any help who can tell you where to walk since there are no open spaces. If I have the chance to go there once again, I will stay in Sundog Retreat since I liked more where it is located to watch the auroras, because of the landscape, and I felt the cottage more cozy and with more windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Cottage where you can watch if you're lucky Aurora.
Andrew and Heather were our gracious owners.
It did not appear to directly above Aurora, was seen in a lower position in the sky.

it is located About 35 minutes from the airport, about 15 minutes from the takhini hot springs.
The room was perfect heating, towels and soap are standing and clean bed, a fully equipped kitchen.My room could use Wi-Fi level 2.

Andrew and Heather was very friendly owners.

Also, I always want to go to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Love the location, it's 20-30 min drive from Whitehorse but the drive was beautiful and the road that leads to the cottages looked like winter wonderland. The cabin was so clean and spotless, with comfy beds and fully equipped kitchen. We stayed at the Fireweed which was located on the other side of the field which wasn't the best place to see the Northern Lights so next time we will pick the cottages closer to the field, but if you're not there for the Lights Fireweed is perfect. Heather was super nice and made sure our heater works properly when we had a little issue with it on the second night. The only thing that I can pick on it is that the Fireweed did not have Wi-Fi connection and we had to go to the Sunroom in order to use the internet, I think some of the other cabins do have Wi-Fi. We were glad that we picked Sundog Retreat over the accommodations in downtown Whitehorse. We definitely will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
16.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
15.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.0 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
25.9 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Property: Sundog Retreat
Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing