We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good place but make sure you know its downsides”
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Its location (about 30 minutes outside Whitehorse) seemed appealing. There is/was limited choices in and around Whitehorse and we wanted two bedrooms with a separate living room and Sundog matched that criteria perfectly.

What we were not prepared for was the invasion of the mosquitoes. They were everywhere and in large numbers. If we quickly got into our car and closed the doors they still snuck in. We did not get to use the nice wooden porch (you know the nice one you see in the photos on tripadvisor) once because they would bite you relentlessly. We literally hovered around the front cabin door and on the count of 3 opened it up and ran inside and closed the door in an attempt to not let the mosquitoes in. They still somehow got into the cabin anyway. We must of killed 100 of them inside the cabin alone. When we went down to Whitehorse they did not impact us that much at all and this became an unfortunate (and expensive) lesson we learned on this trip. If you book in the cities like Whitehorse Canada or Skagway Alaska you give up the peaceful seclusion but don’t have to spray bug repellent all over your body as much. We asked three locals about the mosquitoes and they said that the surrounding areas around Whitehorse get them throughout their limited summertime every year, so this was not an unusual event we experienced.

There is no real interaction with the owners or staff either. We tried to meet the owner the day after the arrival and she could not answer a question or two we had. The main room looks like it could accommodate a nice breakfast option but there was no food option available. Remember that when you drive out because you are 30 minutes to any type of grocery store and this place makes you use the cabin kitchen or drive an hour back and forth to try to get something to eat.

There is also delayed maintenance on several things. The Jacuzzi had two knobs broken and only 2 jets working.

Internet = the only real option for wireless internet is at the “spa” cabins and even then it was spotty at best. I was only able to check basic email and get on the internet for basic stuff at best.

Location = being 20-30 minutes out of town on your way to Dawson was not good for us. It seemed like almost anything we wanted to drive to or visit was either in Dawson or the other direction so this means we had to make this drive just to start our other drives for the day. Make sure you map out all the things you want to do in and around Whitehorse and if you find most are either in Whitehorse or towards Carcross then these cabins may not be the best location for you.

I would still recommend Sundog as long as you know what you are getting. If you strictly are looking for separate and private rooms with a separate kitchen and living area then this place delivers and as long as all the other things above do not bother you then you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G8RED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks for your recommendations…especially considering the rest of your feedback, we appreciate that you would still recommend us to other guests! We are very sorry to learn of the list of negatives you found at our resort. We strive to provide every guest with an unforgettable experience and ‘unforgettable mosquitoes’ is not the impression most guests take away.
Our great location in nature does mean there are a few mosquitoes at certain times of the year, but we have never experienced anything as horrific as this sounds nor have other guests been attacked the way your family was.
In our confirmation letter, we encourage guests to enjoy our relaxing resort atmosphere by planning for groceries and activities to reduce unecessary trips to nearby Whitehorse. We'll use your feedback to make this even clearer, thanks.
We are waiting for two missing hot tub caps in order to replace them.. sorry. We do check the hot tub daily – it’s unfortunate that your family had trouble and we didn’t get a chance to get it working for you.
In terms of host interaction, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Some people really like privacy and others want to chat with us and unfortunately we didn’t get it right this time.
We would love a chance to make this up to your family if you come north again. And if you want to guarantee 100% no mosquitoes, come visit us in January when you can enjoy the spectacular Northern Lights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Sundog Retreat is certainly a much better choice than any other downtown hotels in Whitehorse. It is only 30 mins from the town by car. A perfect place for viewing the northern light with beautiful scenery of the nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you are looking for a place private, out of town, cozy and wonderful owners than Sundog Retreat is for you. The cabins were very clean and te hospitality was fantastic. Heather and Andy have a wonderful business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I'm not much of a review writer but I wanted to make the effort for Sundog. The owners are really decent people and super welcoming. The cabins are simple but pleasant, spotlessly clean and a level of quality above anywhere else I've stayed in the Yukon. You're close to Whitehorse (15-30 mins) but you could be in the middle of nowhere. The small number of cabins aren't specially close to each other, so yours feels private. Just call Heather - she's super nice and on the ball and can explain everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I really was pleasantly surprised upon my arrival at the Sundog Retreat. I stayed in the Fuzzy Crocus & yes there were fuzzy crocus's surrounding this bright, beautiful, cozy (actually it was quite large but cozy fits) very clean & comfortable cabin. 2 deer wandered through the bush, stunning views of the distant mountains & my dog Jim & I really enjoyed a good romp after many days on the road. The only down fall ... I couldn't stay longer; my next time through I will extend my visit. Thanks so much Sundog I'm so happy to have found this gem, it's not often accommodations exceed expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I live in the City of Whitehorse and enjoy the mountain views and urban wildlife viewing on a day to day basis, but I often forget to relax while enjoying this beautiful place that I call home.

The Sundog Retreat was the PERFECT close to town get away. The "Cranberry" cabin was the perfect setting for the romantic escape my boyfriend and I were looking for. Nestled in a private patch of woods, we were able to enjoy the breathtaking mountain views, and watch wild Canadian Geese and Trumpeter Swans land in the filed right in front of us to feed. We stayed up late watching the stars, drinking a few bottles of wine and munching on perfectly BBQ'ed delights. When we got cold, we were able to move indoors and snuggle by the fire place. It was the relaxing, no hassle, rustic (with all amenities) mini-vacation we both needed to unwind from the "hectic" Whitehorse life. We both can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Cranberry Cabin is romantic for a couple, but can easily accommodate five. This cabin is VERY pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our family visited in February for a chance (successful!) to glimpse the northern lights. It was a last minute trip, as we had originally planned for Alaska.

Heather and Andrew Finton were great - helpful, warm, generous, and friendly, all while being unintrusive. Their two lodge assistants were equally welcoming and helpful.
As we booked late, we could only manage The Nook room/loft, which is smaller than others, and less well-located. Regardless, it was well furnished and the kitchen was fully utensiled.

The location, being about 20 - 25 minutes outside of Whitehorse, makes it less convenient, but this is more than made-up for by the sense of wilderness, the silence, and significantly reduced light pollution. The grounds are beautiful and you can easily set-up a good viewing station for the northern lights.

Room Tip: If watching for the northern lights, look for a room by the farm - you will have fewer trees and hen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
15.7 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
87 reviews
16.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
477 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £103 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing