We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat. Clean and cozy cabins.”
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are a family of 5 who stayed in "panorama" for 1 week in July. We enjoyed our family time very much in this close-to-nature and quiet place. The cabin is spotless clean, spacious, cozy and well equipped. (the beds are little too soft though) Heather and Andrew are extremely helpful and resourceful, We are perfectly content to stay in the cabin, with board games, a well equipped kitchen and even a barbeque pit outside... I saw 2 deers jumping through the forest, not to mention many squirrels and woodpeckers. There isn't WIFI in our cabin, but the Sunroom has it, along with hot tubs and sauna! Definitely hope to come back one day in the winter!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maydayfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Two young families, grandparents and two aunties traveled to Whitehorse from SE Alaska for a getaway to the sunshine. We were thrilled with our experience at Sundog Retreat. The Panorama cabin met our needs with two comfortable bedrooms (each room accommodated 3 people), a large living room, dining area and well-equipped kitchen (which we fully utilized!). Although there are several other cabins, we had just one close by. We topped each evening off with a campfire and some of us took advantage of the outdoor hottub. Our helpful host, Andrew, arranged horseback riding and gave us Yukon Gold potatoes harvested from the 160 property that is Sundog Retreat. Yum! We didn't use the TV.

Part of our family overnighted in a tent close to the cabin.

Although our stay was brief, we made the most of our time at Sundog and thought this was an ideal, quiet, family-friendly spot for our group.

Sundog was easy to find and is about 20 minutes from downtown Whitehorse. We hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snova P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The cabins were a delight, roomy, clean and quiet surroundings. The only complaint was the TV remote wasn't working however given that our days were filled with activities this was just a minor annoyance. It would have been nice to be able to flick on the television for a an hour or so without having to figure out how to select the channels from the television. All in all it was an experience worth repeating.

Darlene S

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleneS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were in the Raven's Nest, which also was by The Nook, and it was above the sauna, the hot tub area, and the studio(?). It was quite noisy because there was a lot of activity both nights with loud talking in the hot tub and door slamming and running or heavy talking in the sauna. A family that stayed in The Nook was outside til midnight. the children running around and yelling--no consideration for other guests. In addition, there are no keys unless you request one and pay a deposit, which left our room unlocked when we went to town. This did not appear to be a problem, until we returned, and apparently curious residents, guests, etc., tried to open the door at the bottom of the stairs. We had locked it when we were in, and could hear the door knob being tried, and then the outside door slam when they left. Had they been able to open it and come up the stairs, our privacy would have been seriously compromised. I peered out the bathroom window, which overlooked the entrance and saw a couple of women leave a couple of times. They didn't knock, just tried to enter probably because they didn't think it was occupied. If I were to go back, I would specifically ask not to be put in that building.
The internet was sporadic, but we did manage to do what we needed to do.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in The Nook or The Raven's Nest--no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When we arrived I found we weren't in a separate free-standing cabin, but on the second floor of a metal building. We stayed in the Raven's Nest. The room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen, but very uncomfortable Futon as a sofa. TV wasn't very large and complicated to use. Bedroom was at one end of space and bathroom was at the other end so you had to walk through the "great" room. A little inconvenient. Below our place was a common area and people would go in there and allow their kids to run around and slam doors. Twice we went down to speak to them about the noise. So, I would suggest choosing another room/cabin if you stay there. Wireless did NOT work. Finally went to the office and used it there. They couldn't understand, it usually worked, blah, blah, blah. I heard that same story almost everywhere we went in Yukon and Alaska. This place is secluded and about 20 minutes out of town. Keep that in mind when you are booking. It was clean, but no housekeeping while you are there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I wasn't 100% sure what to expect when I booked but we could not have been more pleased! Heather and Andrew are amazing hosts - they helped us out with whatever we needed including when we were stranded in Vancouver for an extra day.
The cabins were very clean and well maintained. There was enough space in all three rentals that we used for four adults.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different amenities (i.e. washer/dryer, # rooms) just make sure that you tell t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuelphGeckoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We only spent one night here while traveling to Alaska. The cabin had a very nice layout and easily accommodated two couples. We decided to stay there because it was less costly than two hotel rooms. It was further from Whitehorse than we expected. That was probably our fault. If you are looking for a quiet location for a vacation, this is the spot. Just be aware that restaurants and groceries are miles away.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
15.7 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
87 reviews
16.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
477 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £103 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing