We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Yukon Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Yukon Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I could honestly think of nothing that could have made our experience at Sundog Retreat any better. The hosts, Andrew and Heather, were so accommodating and helpful, and the set up there is great. We stayed in The Nook and had no problems with noise or anything- right by the spa, sauna and sunroom facilities. If you're looking for the Northern Lights you can see them from the accommodation- if they're showing- so no extra tours needed. I was part of a group of students so will also add that we found this very affordable as a group and loved every minute, will definitely be recommending it to anyone I know heading up to Whitehorse.

Room Tip: The Nook is right beside the hot tub and sauna so was great, we had no problems with noise but at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose-evelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    57
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
103
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

clean, comfortable ,friendly, scenic, affordable, we stayed three days going and coming from Dawson City.
phoned to watch northern lights on two nights. hot tub. wireless works, owner shared fresh vegetables, enjoyed golfing Mountainview Golf Club, half hour away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Easy to find prorety from the road.
Property was nice and clean.
We use orlora room, very nice and comfortable stay for watch.
Fire pit is nice for taking warmth when waiting orlora.
Owner and staff was friendly.
Only one thing to adovice is, internet for every cotage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Sundog Retreat is the most beautiful way to experience Whitehorse! I was in Whitehorse for business and at the time of year we were booking, there was a great deal on for Sundog Retreat so we thought we would give it try. We loved it so much there we extended our stay after spending just one night! The cabins are very spacious, clean, and so comfortable. They are also fully equipped for cooking meals, and a common kitchen for everyone to share if you need even more space. Heather and the staff are very accommodating but also give you lots of space and privacy. It is the perfect place for relaxing and was very refreshing for us, we especially enjoyed their beautiful outdoor hot tub underneith the Aurora Borealis. We are a touring company and spend many nights of the year in hotel rooms, Sundog Retreat is one of the few places we will definitely come back to stay, for business and leisure, and recommend to all our family and friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Cranberry" cabin which has the best and fullest view of the sky as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed in the Fireweed cabin for the weekend. The cabin was clean and well-appointed with amenities and space. We drove to the retreat in the dark, which made it more difficult, but still not that hard. The area is very quiet and isolated, so there was a great view of the full moon and the mountains beyond the field. Because the hot tub is attached to another building with occupied units, we didn't feel that we should use it in the evening. If you like an evening soak, I'd suggest staying in one of the units in the building next to the hot tub. Wonderful place for a girls' weekend--to catch up, relax, and share some laughs. I think this would be a nice place for families too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDF-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in Raven's Nest for 4 nights over the the thanksgiving weekend. The cabin was very spacious, extremely comfortable, and equipped with everything we could need. The welcome basket was also a nice touch. It was great to have the sauna and hot tub located right beneath us too. It was extremely quiet and peaceful and the cabins were so well spaced it felt very private. This is also the perfect place to watch the aurora, which we saw on the 1st and 4th night. The heated cabins, aurora and borealis, the sachets of hot chocolate and the fire pit were a real bonus. It was also great that Andrew came knocking on our door to alert us about the lights so we wouldn't miss them. A truly special place to stay with great facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in two different rooms at Sundog Retreat during our trip to Yukon. (We liked our first stay so much, we canceled a couple nights of hotel in Dawson so we could return to do more R&R at Sundog at the end of our trip).

Our first cabin was the "Fuzzy Crocus". It's a cozy place perfect for 2 people, maybe 3. The kitchen is well equipped with cooking utensils, pots and pans. There is a mini-fridge for you to store your groceries as well as a BBQ. The cabin is in good working condition and is well maintained. We loved the location of the cabin since it's a bit off of the main road and is only a few steps away from the open field and mountains where you can see the aurora!

We noticed that pets are allowed in the cabin and since we have sensitivity to pet hair and dander, we really noticed that the cabin had been inhabited by pets at one time or another. My husband has asthma and it acted up quite a bit when we stayed in this unit. The unit is carpeted which means a lot of trapped hairs and dander.

Our second stay was in "the Nook" which is attached to the sunroom (a public area where there is free wi-fi, a sauna, meeting room). Even though it's in a more public place, the unit is still quite quiet. The only draw back is that there is no shower in the unit, however, you can use the shower in the sunroom which is rarely used anyway. There is, however, a toilet and sink in the unit, so that's good! This room was a bit better for us in terms of allergies. The unit has hardwood floors and linoleum so it's seemed like there was less hair and dander. There is no stove in this unit, but there is a plug-in burner plus electric skillet, microwave and toaster oven. There are plenty of kitchen tools to use here. This unit can sleep 4 people very comfortably.

The best thing about Sundog Retreat is the location. It is located about 20 mins drive away from Whitehorse and is tucked away in a quiet, treed area. The owners even provide an area to watch the aurora (northern lights) where there is a large fire pit, plenty of fire wood and 2 cabins hang out in while watching the lights. We couldn't ask for more, it was so easy just to leave the cabin, walk a few steps and see the aurora dancing over the mountains.

We loved our stay here and would highly recommend this place if you're looking for a get-away that is peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
16.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
16.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
25.9 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 28 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Property: Sundog Retreat
Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing