We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful host with a splendid customer service mindset”
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

“It takes at least one million years for carbon to become diamonds.”

It was the answer to a simple question that I asked Andrew, the owner of Sundog Retreat at Whitehorse, Canada, when he shared with me his private collection, a valuable piece of mammoth tusk.

I asked, “Which is older, the 30,000 years old mammoth tusk or diamond?”

“I don’t know but I can find out.” He bothered to help answer even a trivial question.

This is just an example of his extraordinary customer service which makes Andrew and the stay at Sundog Retreat great!

He shared with us stories about Whitehorse and brought us to important places at Downtown (although this was not part of the package). With his great local knowledge, he recommended better and cheaper “Dog Sledding” package compared to those found in the hotel lobby.
Better? I steered the sled not as a passenger in the sled.

Most importantly! He immediately phoned us at our cabin when he spotted the Aurora Borealis. Nobody would want to miss that. And we saw one of the best shows.

I strongly recommend Sundog Retreat not merely because the place is spacious, clean and nice but because Andrew and his team have been a wonderful host with a splendid customer service mindset and that …is what really matters!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Sundog Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

There are not enough words to describe the amazing time that we had at Sundog Retreat. The staff was really friendly, the cabin was amazing, the walk around the property during the day was very fun and the aurora viewing was spectacular! It is without a question the best travel experience that we've had! We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived the 23rd January a group of 8 people for a long weekend away. We had booked the Ravens Nest and The Nook which was perfect as there are side by side to one another with an adjoining Sunroom/Sauna and lets not forget the Hot tub! The cabins were perfect in size and beds were very comfortable. We felt that the nook could improve as they didn't have a proper cooker/oven nor did they have a shower in the cabin. There is a shower in the sunroom available but not ideal. This was our one and only complaint. We seen amazing views of the northern lights and the owner came down to take proper photos for us to really capture the lights in all their glory! They had our snow gear all arranged and delivered accordingly for when we arrived which was perfect for the nightly strolls and the dog sledding. It might not be everyone's cup of tea but for us it was pure bliss. Away from the hustles and bustle of everyday life with no cell coverage, out in the wilderness with peace and quiet. I would highly recommend stayed here at Sundog Retreat it is well worth every moment shared.
Thanks to All from the Irish :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our stay at Sundog was the highlight of our trip. The cottage (Panorama) was warm and well equipped. The whole property is just beautiful. The viewing cabins were very atmospheric, they provided tea and coffee, marshmallows, biscuits and an incredible view across the fields to where the lights would hopefully occur.
The owners are lovely people, very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying four days at least as we stayed two and didnt see the lights. That said the Yukon is so stunning that the flight to Whitehorse is an experience in itself with incedible views just from the plane.We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you want the best view of the lights from your room then according to another poster Cranberry i...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We went in the middle of January and the cabin was so warm and cosy, the scenery was stunning and the owners were so friendly and accommodating. The hot tub was definitely my favourite, it's open all night and it is amazing lying in there while it's snowing on you! It is also very easy to organise activities, dog sledding is a must do! We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A group of 15 of us booked the whole resort for 4 nights in mid-November. We saw a decent aurora display that lasted for hours on the third night of our stay. We also saw glimpse of the aurora on the other nights, but those nights were too cloudy for any decent display. Our advice is to stay at least 4 nights for a good chance to see the aurora.

With the two newly built aurora-viewing cabins, Sundog is a good choice for viewing the aurora. The viewing cabins are small, and each has only a few front row seats. In any event, one really cannot appreciate the aurora through a glass window. But there is no light pollution in the area and one could stay warm inside the cabins while waiting for the aurora to appear. However for those who are serious about photographing (as opposed to just viewing) the aurora, Sundog provides little foreground. A popular aurora photo location is the camp ground next to Lake Laberge, which is about half an hour's drive north of Sundog. A further 15 min drive north is Fox Lake, a scenic spot, particularly at sunset. Mid-November turned out to be too early for dog-sled.

The cottages at Sundog are not all equal. In general, much of the spaces of the cottages were allocated to the living rooms, leaving behind small bedrooms. Below is what we found in addition to the descriptions on their website:

Cranberry - Located in the middle of all cottages and is the furthest of the wifi access. It has the best location and is really the only one that can have a decent view of the aurora from inside the cottage. It is also the only cottage with two decent double bed rooms. Its shortcoming is in the "galley kitchen," which is not as well equipped as the other cottages and with an exceptionally small wash basin. You really have to use the BBQ island outdoor to properly cook a meal for 4-6. But that could be real cold in the aurora season.

Raven's Nest - Very good choice if one is prepared to walk the stairs. Has the best wifi access of all cottages/rooms.

Panorama and Fireweed - These two and Fuzzy Crocus are at the far end beyond the wifi range. We didn't book the Wolf Den, which is even further away. These cottages are arguably beyond walking range to the aurora viewing cabins or the Sunroom in the cold. The second bedrooms of both Panorama and Fireweed are very small, just enough for the double deck single beds.

Fuzzy Crocus - Decent one bedroom cottage, but with not much mountain view. Note also that there is no door between the living room and the bedroom. The bedroom is relatively small also, with one side of the bed next to the wall.

Nook - We didn't like no shower nor the open concept, and did not believe it was worth the price. Surprisingly it had no wifi access, despite being next to the Sunroom.

Given our group size, we had also arranged to have breakfast, and dinner for two of the nights. We would recommend breakfast, but didn't believe dinner to be good value.

Andrew and Heather, the proprietors, were helpful and approachable, but would otherwise leave us undisturbed.

Overall, we felt that Sundog would be a good choice for family (less so for friends as the rooms are difficult to share) with a car and are prepared to make their own meals. We had a pleasant stay and would have no difficulty recommending Sundog.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkwli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for the feedback. Since your visit in November, we have renovated the kitchens in Cranberry and Fuzzy Crocus to provide full fridges and stoves. We also have a new food service and have been getting rave reviews from the guests who choose the new menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent three nights in Whitehorse and stayed @Sundog, Great place! Nice hospitality! The best place to watch the Northern lights as the hotel have a couple of small places where you can watch the lights with warm coffee and cookies. They also helped us on the clothing rental and the tours (dogsledding and snowmobiles) that are Great experiences coming from a tropical country!

Room Tip: Love the fireweed cottage! Perfect for a party of 4 or a family of 5-6
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan-Fregoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
16.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
439 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
15.7 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
439 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £107 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing