We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Claim

The Claim
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Awesome little cafe, off the beaten path even for Whitehorse. Had a great chicken and asiago sammy and an even better raspberry and rhubarb square. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a good, quick lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gluten free tasty options”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with a friend on the outside patio. The soups were nicely spiced and the salad was fantastic. We met after lunch hour and were able to enjoy a leisurely lunch with no lines or feeling that our table was needed. Oh, it also helps that it is located next door to my new favorite Whitehorse ladies store Sequels. A little shopping was in order after lunch:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TammiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trendy and tasty”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Surrounded by art from local artists, you can have a gourmet coffee and enjoy a soup and sandwich on the patio or inside. This is a busy little spot so prepare to stand in line for a few moments at peak times and decide what to order. Price wise, you get what you pay for - my daughter and I had a coffee, she had the soup and I had a sandwich for about $22. The food is excellent and fresh but it's not cheap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast and coffee. Nice artwork.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The coffee was great, the service was great, the chocolate was great. :-) I purchased a lovely piece of artwork by a local artist to remember our time in the Yukon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have often visited this bistro often for the good coffee and yummy treats. The prices have recently been getting too rich for my blood, but due to convenience at coffee time, still decided to buy my latte etc. here. Now I have to say that the terrible service has just been going on too long and even the $2 Tuesday latte is not enough to bring me back.
Perhaps the staff working the register could focus on the client that she has started serving rather than run away to answer the phone and then proceed with a cake order on for that caller. I'm sure someone in the back could have taken care of that call.
Then if the woman that normally works the register does complete the order, she scowls and yells so much you almost want to apologize for entering the establishment. Well no thank you I am done. There are several coffee places in Whitehorse that will be more than happy to take my money with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Claim also viewed

 

Been to The Claim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing