We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast

A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 27 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hopefully a B&B experience is more personal than just a hotel stay, and certainly we felt like we recieved special treatment, tailored to our needs and interests. While regrettably only staying for three nights, our visit could not have been better. From the relaxed introduction in the sunshine of the front garden, to the excellent recommendations of restaurants and attractions in the area, Lene is an outstanding and very personable host. It truly felt like home away from home.

We enjoyed the upstairs bedroom (very roomy, outstanding bed comfort, excellent light and air control, very spacious bath facilities), with it's own private balcony opening high above the private back yard in the branches of the trees. Absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Can't speak to the accommodations in the lower level, but the upstairs bedroom/bathroom was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at 'the scandia house' for five nights altogether, at the beginning and end of our holiday. We had a lovely room upstairs with a balcony and a wonderful view. The bed was super comfy (good when you're recovering from jet lag) and the breakfast was good. Lene is a very trusting hostess and we were able to let ourselves in and out, and make ourselves at home.Lene lent us a hiking book so that we got out of the city, and also gave us good advice about restaurants and events that were happening in town. A good way to start and finish our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I was looking for a nice B&B location in Whitehorse since this was my first time at a B&B. I researched the reviews, looked at all the websites and emailed friends and family asking them for ideas. A former Yukoner suggested Scandia. I arrived on the Friday night planning to stay just a coupel of nights in case I did not like it. Well a week later this place has been great. I am just heading back down south to BC and I have enjoyed the stay with Lene. She is a very pleasant host who makes people feel at home The great fireplace and the hot tub were super at -30C. I will be back and for sure stay here again. Just a super getaway that is outside the downtown core.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

we made a reservation half a year ago. But, when we arrived, nobody was there, just a key, with the message that the owner was away but that the rooms were ready. However, it was not the two bedroom suite we had reserved, but two different rooms. One was ok, but the other was certainly not. It looked like a sleeping place, used in emergencies. We were alone in the house, so luckily we had our privacy but this is certainly not what a good bed and breakfast should be. It felt very uneasy, to dwell in a stranger's own house and to find your own way. A bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandDuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

The sourdough starter that Lene uses to make her fabulous sourdough waffles is more than a hundred years old- and she has had hers for over two decades, storing it in a pretty ceramic pot that she with her from Norway.

Lene's cozy home is filled with beautiful things from her life in Norway and in Yukon territory as well as her travels all over. There is the child's game made from a sheep bone that she saw slaughtered in front of her and a necklace made from a pink stone which is cut locally and polished in China. Each fall, she fills her freezer with ziplock bags filled with ground cranberries (not to be confused with high cranberries) which she makes into a tart, delicious jam served every morning with breakfast.

While her home is several miles outside the city center of Whitehorse, you probably don't want to stay in the city center, anyway. Its a fairly dirty, industrial town, from what I saw, and the best parts of your trip to the North will be found outside of the crowded, bustling streets of Whitehorse. If you have a car, Lene's home will be a perfect place for you. If you don't, the bus stop is only a block away from her home. The bus to town runs about every 1.5 hours, less on Saturdays, and not at all on Sundays. If you want to get around on Sunday, you can walk over to the little grocery store/gas station, about a mile away (and a pleasant walk, as long as you're all bundled up)

Lene's house faces the river with a gorgeous spa on the back porch from which you can watch the Northern Lights, if you should be lucky enough to catch them. The top room, which also boasts a porch from which you can watch the night sky, is definately the nicest room. It has a spa tub which is big enough to be difficult to clamber into! The other room is down in a daylight basement, with windows high on the wall. It can be a bit chilly, so you'll want to bring your long johns when you're not lounging in front of the wood fireplace in Lene's living room.

The rooms feature big, plump pillows, soft linens, and plenty of blankets. Its a very comfortable place to come home to after a cold day in the field, and there's always hot tea or coffee to warm you up.

Lene has a great collection of books on the Yukon and a wide array of interests. She has operated this b&b for some time (I think nearly as long as she's lived in the Yukon, 37 years) and will happily spend the evening chatting with you or recommend a few good books to curl up with. Ask her about her upcoming x-c ski race in which she and her daughter are competing! Highly recommended- I know I'll be back again.

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — The longish wait for the bus
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
12.7 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 13 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.3 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 89 Ponderosa Dr, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
A Scandia House Bed & Breakfast Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing