We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer spot on the Deck”

Morels At The High Country Inn
Ranked #67 of 107 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great summer spot on the Deck”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Enjoyed our evening out on the Deck at High Country .. Its open air , half covered and half open sky . Very pleasant on a nice summer day . Lots of TV,s for the sports fans .. Would not call it fine dinning ...more bar food but very good for that . Will go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    6
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Conference breakfasts and lunches”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was delighted with the breakfasts and the lunches as well. Did not stay for dinner , too bad, most likely would have been pleased for that too! Good food, good service, good prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rouge_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This food was outstanding. We stayed on the High country Inn for several days and wound up eating most of our meals there not just because it was convenient but also because the food was exceptional!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not fine dining. Just fine food.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The food and wine was wonderful. The server was very untrained. She dropped my appetizer then picked it up and put it aback on my plate! Just did not understand the etiquette of "fine dining". Interrupting conversation with her own input, telling me to keep my dirty knife for later use, serving frozen butter etc.

The linens on the table were cheap and wrinkled and the bread plates were scratched and dirty looking. They are close but not quite "fine dining". Train your servers properly, upgrade your linens and then call yourself fine dining.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Whitehorse...”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Not worth the overpriced slop they serve there on a nightly basis. The only reason we went is because we had a gift certificate. Had to beg them to make a reservation...wouldnt return our calls. No one was there to seat us when we arrived. Any groups over 7 was automatically dinged 17% for absolutely mediocre service for what the product was supposed to be...4 star???? Give me a break! The chicken the risotto and the steak all had the same insipid cold sauce on them...made from oxo cubes i think! Steak was cold. Chicken was bland at best. Goat cheese salad was graced with barely a twig of wilted lettuce and thw crab cakes were soggy....oh and did i mention the white wine was warm....im just getting nausious reliving it. This place is really only a trap for exhausted travellers and lazy busnessmen who cant be bothered to find better restaurants downtown. The only meal that was worth the price was maybe the fish and chips that we ordered for a child that came from the bar menu and even that meal was overbattered and soggy. Shame!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morels At The High Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Morels At The High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing