We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”
Review of The Jetty House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jetty House
Ranked #2 of 2 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Friendly hosts Carl and Ros, lovely cooked breakfast, peaceful location, comfortable bed. Museum like interesting historic items and driftwood paintings by local artist. Beach and jetty close by for those who like to fish and close to caves and forest walks. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

I can't think of a single other thing! Thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for The Jetty House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a leisurely Friday afternoon drive from Hobart to Southport, to be met with a cosy fire, a lovely meal and a very warm welcome. On Saturday we established that the best coffee around was in fact at Jetty house itself, but we enjoyed visiting the Ida Bay railway and doing a bit of fly fishing here and there. Our excellent Plan A of going on the railway, walking to Southport Lagoon and back and catching the last returning train on Sunday was foiled by convincingly heavy rain, but Plan B - boardgames on the perfect big table in the lounge - was a good second. The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast superb with fresh-cut asparagus from the garden and home-grown eggs and herbs.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you Clare, we will look forward to having you back and i hope the weather is better next time. Board games by the fire are certainly a pleasant way to spend a rainy day but the lagoon is so gorgeous, I hope you get there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If we ever have the opportunity to return to Tasmania, this delightful B & B will be at the top of our list. The room was so comfortable, tea was served upon arrival, breakfast was delicious and the company and hosts were warm and knowledgeable. The hosts were very attentive to our needs and happy to give us suggestions of the best way to use our time while we were in the area. They sent us to a beach at twilight that was very deserted, pristine and brought us to the southern most point in Australia. Our stay was very restful, and so personal.

We could have spent a day just relaxing in the immediate environs of the house - a lovely garden, lots to see in the house and a very short walk to the water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for the kind words, We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

......it was the end of our Tasmanian Safari - we had two days left before we had to return to Hobart . We found ourselves in Southport , we drove past the Hotel and turned into the drive at Jetty House like we were meant to . I get the feeling that the time of the year that we arrived helped with checking in without booking . Ros our lovely host was so cool and pleasant - the house was so ambient . After bringing in our luggage she made us tea , cake and fruit which we had on the decking out back . The setting will take your breath away . My only recommendation is if you are anywhere near STAY there - I found the experience singular and wonderful . BOOK though as I bet everybody wants to stay there too . I could not find fault with the place .....we enjoyed it totally . Breakfast especially . Thankyou Ros , Thankyou Carl . God bless you and all who sail with you .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind50, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. It's true that booking ahead is a good idea during peak times, but the beauty of travelling in Tassie at other times is that you can meander and discover your own gems. Carl's advice is to book your first night or two then pick up a weather map and plan out the next few days. Tasmania is small enough that you can decide that the weather is perfect for exploring the far south for a few days then head on up the east coast (where it's usually fine) . It's always lively somewhere!
Autumn is a gorgeous time of year though. Magical!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went to Tasmania to experience the landscape , I was not expecting our accommodation to be a memorable experience in itself . The house is old and very beautiful , surrounded by lovely garden , I felt honoured to be there .
The decor combines a beach and country feel with historic detail , struck a personal note with me as my mum has very similar style . The bed we slept in was wonderfully big and comfy after a hard days bush walking and I later found out the frame was hand made by the owner .
The service was lovely , our host was very gracious and shared some useful local knowledge.
This may sound a silly and trivial detail but , the APPLE MUSELI was to die for .
The Jetty House was just a lovely place to be .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind50, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Belated thanks for the lovely feedback. The apple muesli recipe (and the chocolate brownie and sourdough bread recipes) are on the "Friends of Jetty House" facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our stay at the Jetty House was relaxing and we received a lot of personal attention from the lovely owners. The guesthouse is set in a stunning garden which is fun to explore, and is a good base to explore the whole South from. The breakfasts were amazing too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utamausili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a classic 1870's Tassie house with big verandahs and loads of character. The couple that own it (Ros and Carl) are very friendly and hospitable. The rooms are very much kept in the character of the period with superb, warm and comfortable (new) huon pine beds. There are two sitting rooms. The smaller one has a large log fire and comfy armchairs and tables. Breakfast was first class for quality and variety, especially the apple (when in season) muesli. When we visited it was one of the coldest periods of the year, so the room heating (apart from the log fire sitting room) struggled a bit (hardly any accommodation in Tasmania has central heating as Tasmanian folk are a pretty hardy bunch - like NZ South Islanders), but this only a small negative point really. There's an excellent selection of books on D'Entrecasteaux which are a good resource if you're planning on exploring the local area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.6 mi away
Southern Forest Accommodation
8.3 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
79 reviews
8.3 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
Ashdowns of Dover Boutique B&B
8.7 mi away
The Peninsula Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jetty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jetty House

Address: Main Rd, Southport, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jetty House is a lovely spacious timber home built in 1875, situated bayside in Southport- a tiny fishing village in Far South Tasmania ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jetty House Southport, Australia - Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing