We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bed & Breakfast Accomodation ESWILSON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hildersham B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Bed & Breakfast Accomodation ESWILSON”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this little gem in a beautiful village just outside Cambridge. We were made very welcome by a lovely young couple who only took over the pub 5 months ago. The accomodation is at the side of the pub, very spacious, very comfortable & modern. The bed was also very comfortable. We had a meal both nights we were there, there is plenty of choice & the Fish & Chips were some of the best. The owner is also the chef so it has to be good, it was really busy with the locals dining both nights. The breakfast was also excellent. No negatives, can only recommend.The Park & Ride into the city is also very close. Well done to you both & good luck for the future, & a big THANKYOU.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEWilson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Visited the Pear Tree for some dinner. We had no idea what the menu was but we were willing to have a pop in this beautifully situated pub - nestled on the high street of a small Cambridge village. It's very easy to get to as it only 200yds off the A1307.

On entering we where welcomed by the very friendly barmaid and ordered drinks. There is a fine selection of beers here especially if you are a fan of Adnams! The menu constantly changes as the chef is always sourcing fresh local produce. The current owners have only been in for a few months and I hope are going to decorate the main bar area which is only a little tired. We sat outside on a peaceful decking area and awaited our starters over a beer.

I had the tempura prawns whilst my fiancée had the fig tart. Both were excellent. Especially the tart which was great! For mains I had a massive sirloin steak with loads of chips and veg whilst my other half had the spatch-cock chicken. Again both were lovely. We also had a bottle of merlot which complemented the meat perfectly. For dessert we shared (and regretted having to share) the simply banging mocha creme brûlée! Writing this I still want more!

All in all a lovely meal in a great setting with fine ales, food and service. Very friendly people. The bill was only £60 for all that so not too bad.

Will visit again. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmyhvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The people who took this pub over four months ago are doing a limited menu but very good food using local ingridents. It's defiantly a good place to go. The tiramisu is wonderful plus very nice skin on chips.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have eaten 3 times at this lovely pub and each time the food has been at an excellent standard. The staff are very welcoming and there is a nice area outside to sit and enjoy your meal if the weathers good. Would definately recommend for a cosy pub experience with friends and family.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lek_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is in an attractive old village not far from the main road, and the Pear Tree has lots of potential.
The b&b room is a small converted building separate from the pub. It can be used as a familly room as it is partly divided and has a guest bed set in one end and a double bed the other . There is a good sized shower in the shower room. The bedroom has a couple of very low armchairs and little table. It has a small fridge,a good extra, where they provided a bottle of water and welcome fresh milk for the hospitality tray of coffee and tea ( not fair-trade, as advertised). Outside, the other side of the small car park is a pretty garden with chairs and tables.

There is a sign warning that if guests are more than twenty minutes late for their requested breakfast time, it will be assumed they do not want it- fair enough I suppose , though I have not met that before. I arrived spot on time, but my cooked breakfast took half an hour to serve (no 'home made conserve and warm croissant' as advertised, but a couple of pieces of toast balanced on the edge of the cooked breakfast). Another sign asked guests to leave by 10.30. I left after breakfast not having time to check out, and was asked if my room could be cleaned before then: OK fine, but meant that I could not use it again when I returned at ten to check out by 10.30
These are little things that I am sure the new young owners will sort out - they must prioritise their guest's comfort before their own convenience and check that everything they promise on their website is there. I wish them well in the future, and recommend others to try them out.

Room Tip: Pub is shut on Monday so you would need to eat elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed one night at this lovely B&B in May. The new owners were just in place and had everything right in order. The food in the pub was delicious and the owners really nice. The little cottage is separate from the pub and really nice. We came here from the boat of Harwich and choose this B&B due to the short distance to Cambridge. I would go back when given the chance!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneNL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Thank you for a lovely and welcoming stay. Food in the pub was delicious and couldn't fault the friendly atmosphere and service. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hildersham
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Hinxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Black Bull Balsham
The Black Bull Balsham
#1 of 2 in Balsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
Address: High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hildersham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hildersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation is in a detached cottage in the grounds of The Pear Tree house(we used to be a pub but have been closed for 2 years). The accommodation carries a 4 star rating. Hildersham is a tranquil village only 6 miles south of Cambridge and 5 minutes from the Park and Ride. There are many country walks from The Pear Tree and the river Granta runs through the village. The accommodation has a double en-suite room and a further (interleading - no door inbetween) room with a day bed that converts into two single beds. This can be used as a sitting room. This room also contains a table with four chairs for dining and a fully-equipped kitchenette. Both rooms have flatscreen TVs. Breakfast is continental and you will find it in the cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing