We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
96
16
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
16
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspent nightschez providencebreadcroissantsnear futurea great staychristinerose
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Cuxac-Cabardes is a small and genuine village in the Haute Garonne, where we found a pleasant stay at Chez Providence for two nights, after a short afternoon visit to a chaotic Carcassone in mid-August. If you are looking for resistance to mass tourism and to cloned shops packed with plastic souvenirs, this may be the place. Do not expect, however, places avec trendy cafés or busy night life but silent alleys with people sitting just outside the house door and talking with neighbors. Chez Providence is an old house within the village, decorated with great care and attention to particulars. We stayed in the large, neat and comfortable Chambre Chinoise, and in the first day had a very relaxing dinner in the small terrace (if you wish to dine, you have to tell to Christina in advance and it's at 7.30 pm). We had an excellent breakfast in common with other guests (and this in my opinion is a plus). We used it as a base to visit Toulouse on the second day of our stay (1h 20 min by car), but in the environs (Carcassone is at half an hour by car) there are also other minor locations that may be visited. Christina and Nico are kind and attentive. Overall good quality/price ratio and a family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank 936marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This #1 rated b&b was a wonderful place for a family of mom & dad, 2 year old, and grandparents to stay. We had the fleur de lys room at the top. One room had a door for privacy. The other was a spacious area we could spread out in.
We ordered the dinner that Christine cooks the first night and would highly recommend it! Potatoes roasted with duck fat and lemon chicken was awesome and rhubarb meringue with rhubarb from her garden. The local wine was also good. Her breakfasts were also wonderful and she especially serves local. The chestnut creme was amazing even though I don't normally like chestnuts. The best pain au chocolate of the trip.
The property is clean and comfortable with a kitchenette for guests.
Christine's attention to detail and friendly manner made the stay very pleasant. She was very accurate with her description of local eateries and shops which was appreciated. Thanks to Nico too, for being so friendly and informative!
There's a park and picnic area at the foot of the property and a playground for toddlers a few steps beyond. Recommend!
Getting to Cuxac Cabardes does require a car. It's a quaint village to walk around with friendly folk living there.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We spent 2 nights at this great B&B. Christina told us all the places to visit and is a wonderful cook including vegetarian. Really comfy bed and such a nice place to stay. Convenient for Carcassonne and easy parking nearby in the square

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

There was only one thing wrong!......we stayed ONLY one night!! It was so cozy, quiet, clean and comfortable. I was traveling with three other ladies and we opted for dinner in....and despite a few picky eaters, Christina was able to please all of us with her magic in the kitchen! The little village is nestled in the mountains between Albi and Carcassone (both a most of things to do) and was just the perfect stop to feel really at home! Christina and Nico have turned this lovely old building into an oasis! They have thought of everything.....even a small kitchen area if you are traveling with picnic foods to take out on your daily excursions. And a Kir Peche on their little balcony listening to the nearby stream added to the entire stay! Wonderful to say the least!

Room Tip: We were four women so we chose the Lavender room. 4 beds in the outer room, and two beds in a smaller room with the area....with bathroom included. Good for families.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We have spent 3 nights at this wonderful place. The house is great, bedrooms are fantastic and Christina is simply amazing. She is a Chef in the kitchen and a nice guide always ready to help. The breakfast is outstanding. The village itself (20 minutes from Carcasonne) is quiet and picturesque. A place to visit, to relax and enjoy life with nice people and food. Many thanks Christina.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews