We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you are in the area”
Review of La Diligence - CLOSED

La Diligence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the area”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stopped here for lunch on the way to the airport and were so glad we did. The restaurant is comfortable and charming and the food to die for. Victoria who was serving, was very welcoming. We chose from the midi menu which was €13.50 for 3 courses and it was a bargain. Chicken liver salad, duck confit and the most decadent creme catalan on a huge crepe! Everything was delicious and i can honestly say i don't think i have ever had such a wonderful meal for that price.
Thouroughly recommend if you are in the area, and worth a trip in itself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food to die for and company to treasure”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This restaurant is a jewel of a find. The location is wonderful, the owners and staff extremal friendly and helpful and true lovers of food and cooking. We have had many meals here and have NEVER been disappointed. The portions are more than generous and the choice a nightmare to make. Do not go if you are on a diet. If you are luck to be available when they have one of their theme nights, fight for a place. Should you want a family gathering or an cosy meal for two, look no further. As you may have worked out....I love this place and want to share the experience with everyone. Happy eating

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janandmikeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuxac-Cabardes, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Without exception”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have a B&B in the village and frequently recommend clients and without exception they have also been delighted.

We have also sent several enjoyable evening there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caudebronde
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super evening yet again!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were lucky enough to be invited to a private dinner party hosted at La Diligence. We have been many a time and have never been disappointed. Last Saturday was brilliant thanks to our hosts, but also because of the wonderful welcome as usual from Pauline, Vicky, Emlyn and Sean. The team put on a great and almost insurmountable array of dishes. Loved the lamb shanks, would love to have the recipe for the sauce Emlyn!
This restaurant stays open through winter thank goodness, so we'll be back for more really soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great discovery!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This little restaurant looks great from outside, and continues to impress from the moment you enter. The decor is simple and tasteful, and the staff friendly and welcoming. Chef Emlyn ffrench Mullen's food is excellent; I particularly enjoyed the boeuf bourguignon and the 'trio de desserts', which consisted of Bailey's cheesecake, mango sorbet and creme brulee - a wonderful option for anyone who loves their desserts!
At €13.50, the menu du jour was superb value.
Spotless toilet facilities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooten122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Diligence also viewed

Cuxac-Cabardes, Aude
Cuxac-Cabardes, Aude
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing