We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - go out of your way to visit”
Review of La Diligence - CLOSED

La Diligence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow - go out of your way to visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Where do I start:
- Having their cassoulet must be on your bucket list. Amazing.
- Great staff (an Irish family opened the restaurant just a few years ago)
- Intimate without being claustrophobic.
- Cuxac is a lovely town and worth the 30min drive from Carcassonne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghiamanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The restaurant, on the main road through Cuxac Cabardes, was very busy on the Tuesday evening we visited but the service was excellent and the food delicious. I would highly recommend the cassoulet in particular but we enjoyed everything we chose.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mana from heaven!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We discovered La Diligence last year when we stayed in the village and enjoyed the food so much we drove from London to spend two days here en route to Lyon, just to dine in this wonderful restaurant again, we will also be taking food away with us for dinner at our holiday cottage! We have dined Chez Paul Bocuse but Emlyn's cuisine is every bit as tasty, an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jintysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Diligence Cuxac Cabardès -only 24 kms from Carcassonne”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We live a good way the other side of Carcassonne but decided to drop in after we watched a tv programme on families that relocated to France featuring this restaurant. We stopped in for lunch and had the menu of starter= Calamarie. Main= Fish & Chips with peas and sorbet all for under 15 euros.

The food was fantastic fresh produce perfectly presented in a lovely surroundings. Well worth the a detour if you are in the area and appreciate good food. We will be popping in again some time soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kp1ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“versatile, flexible dining "out"!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We live in a nearby village. This evening, after a hard day preparing our potager, we just had to try a takeaway. Imagine our surprise and delight to have perfectly cooked cod and chips, with homemade tartare sauce and mushy peas! And all for 8 euro per person. Amazing. A wonderful end to the first day of Spring. Thank you La Diligence.
We really recommend La Diligence for both takeaway service and restaurant dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Diligence also viewed

Cuxac-Cabardes, Aude
Cuxac-Cabardes, Aude
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing