We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a unique get-a-way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mills River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our first time there but we'll be back. Our dog loved the large property to run around and play with other dogs. Our cabin was immaculate and cozy with a fire place. Great views and secluded yet close enough to drive to restaurants and entertainment. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelindaSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband discovered this place and we just got back with our two pups. Barkwells is awesome. 7 arces of fenced in land, a pond. Individually fenced in cabins, doggy doors, doggy beds. For humans there are fireplaces, comfy beds, hot tub.. Cabins are clean and very nice. Staff is wonderful. We definitely will be back many mnay times!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuphrinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My brother and sister-in-law, along with my "niece", Zoey, and "nephew", Jaxby, live in South Carolina. I'm in Tennessee with my dog, Luna, and my parents and their dog Jenny live in Kentucky. We've found that Barkwells is a good place for the family to meet up. We've only had the joy of visiting twice, but we loved it both times. It is an excellent place for dog-people and Asheville has so many dog-friendly stores, restaurants, etc., which adds to that. They also have chickens, which intrigue the dogs and offers the option of fresh eggs, as well as goats. The whole place is beautiful and relaxing. With the entire area being fenced-in, it reduces any worry for dog-owners and offers the chance to get your dog off-leash. And, each house has its own fenced-in area, which is an added bonus.

If you aren't a dog-person, this might not be the place for you, but if you are, you won't regret taking ALL of your family members here, especially the furry ones.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here a few years ago, it's an amazing place for dog lovers. The cabins are gorgeous! We stayed in Baxter. We hope to return this Christmas.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyldoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Can't say enough about what a great place this is..wonderful place if you travel with your dogs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twohappydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Barkwells is our home away from home. We come here twice a year. We have Standard Poodles. They get to run around and play with other dogs. The cabins are BEAUTIFUL and immaculately clean. I absolutely would not hesitate to recommend Barkwells. Two paws way, way up!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

What a beautiful home away from home! We stayed in Libby and I can’t say enough about it. It was immaculate and so well maintained. We loved all the personal touches. We were celebrating Xander’s (our German Shepherd) birthday and the “Happy Birthday” flag was adorable. Xander loved the fluffy bed and his own water dishes strategically located throughout the cabin. His first impression upon arriving was a fresh bowl of cold water on the back deck. We loved the pedal boat too. I’m guessing we might be the only family to almost sink ourselves. Xander was ready to jump ship if we hadn’t gotten our act together. Benjamin is still talking about the fishing and we all loved feeding the chickens and goats. Thank you for everything and we’ll definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Libby" cabin and can personally vouch for it. The entire property is fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniMouseRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mills River
10.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 66 in Asheville
1,218 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
12.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
12.2 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat

Address: 290 Lance Rd, Mills River, NC 28759-3884
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mills River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mills River
Price Range: £159 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run. Swim. Play. You and your four-legged friends can roam over eight rolling fenced acres or splash into the pond. Fully equipped and furnished vacation homes with hot tub, fireplace, luxurious beds, private fenced yard, dog door, gated porch. Every comfort and convenience of home, but far away from every day.20 minutes from downtown Asheville, Hendersonville, Brevard and Biltmore Estate in the heart of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Come. Sit. Stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers` Vacation Retreat Hotel Mills River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing