We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing getaway for family & dogs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mills River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, SC - USA
1 review
“Relaxing getaway for family & dogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband, daughter, dog, & I had a very enjoyable experience at Barkwells! Our cabin was cozy and just perfect! We stayed in the Baxter-cabin by the way... This was our first trip here and we loved it! The cabins are well kept and have great views of the mountains, lake, and countryside! Property is secluded but is also close by restaurants and shopping. This was a fabulous trip for us and we look forward to visiting again! And super cool to have a place to take our dog too since we travel with him...... ;o) Loved it!! (oh- & our daughter enjoyed feeding the chickens too by the way.....)

Room Tip: I am certain any cabin here is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our first time there but we'll be back. Our dog loved the large property to run around and play with other dogs. Our cabin was immaculate and cozy with a fire place. Great views and secluded yet close enough to drive to restaurants and entertainment. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband discovered this place and we just got back with our two pups. Barkwells is awesome. 7 arces of fenced in land, a pond. Individually fenced in cabins, doggy doors, doggy beds. For humans there are fireplaces, comfy beds, hot tub.. Cabins are clean and very nice. Staff is wonderful. We definitely will be back many mnay times!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suphrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My brother and sister-in-law, along with my "niece", Zoey, and "nephew", Jaxby, live in South Carolina. I'm in Tennessee with my dog, Luna, and my parents and their dog Jenny live in Kentucky. We've found that Barkwells is a good place for the family to meet up. We've only had the joy of visiting twice, but we loved it both times. It is an excellent place for dog-people and Asheville has so many dog-friendly stores, restaurants, etc., which adds to that. They also have chickens, which intrigue the dogs and offers the option of fresh eggs, as well as goats. The whole place is beautiful and relaxing. With the entire area being fenced-in, it reduces any worry for dog-owners and offers the chance to get your dog off-leash. And, each house has its own fenced-in area, which is an added bonus.

If you aren't a dog-person, this might not be the place for you, but if you are, you won't regret taking ALL of your family members here, especially the furry ones.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here a few years ago, it's an amazing place for dog lovers. The cabins are gorgeous! We stayed in Baxter. We hope to return this Christmas.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyldoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Can't say enough about what a great place this is..wonderful place if you travel with your dogs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twohappydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Barkwells is our home away from home. We come here twice a year. We have Standard Poodles. They get to run around and play with other dogs. The cabins are BEAUTIFUL and immaculately clean. I absolutely would not hesitate to recommend Barkwells. Two paws way, way up!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mills River
9.8 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
10.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
4.1 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat

Property: Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat
Address: 290 Lance Rd, Mills River, NC 28759-3884
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mills River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mills River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run. Swim. Play. You and your four-legged friends can roam over eight rolling fenced acres or splash into the pond. Fully equipped and furnished vacation homes with hot tub, fireplace, luxurious beds, private fenced yard, dog door, gated porch. Every comfort and convenience of home, but far away from every day.20 minutes from downtown Asheville, Hendersonville, Brevard and Biltmore Estate in the heart of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Come. Sit. Stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers` Vacation Retreat Hotel Mills River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing