We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place!”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Eynsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was shown into room, to find that there was hardly any loo roll, one of the three light bulbs in the ceiling fitting was working and the radiator did not work and room was cold. Told the guy behind the bar who said that they were short staffed and were having to done things themselves. these problems were then fixed.....but they should have been checked before I arrived! Then....there was a party going on in the pub's function room underneath the hotel rooms that went on until 1.30am and then the scraping of chairs/tables started until 2am...needless to say didnt get any sleep until 2am. Then in the morning, the shower tray did not empty and was threatening to flood the floor...therefore my girl friend could not finish her shower etc. Spoke to the owner/manager morning who's attitude was beyond belief.....he said the party was a one off...it was business...and denied there was any furniture moving....incredibly he said it was not really a hotel but a pub.... Its a shame as they have obviously spent money on the place but the disorganisation and attitude is staggering! Book at your peril and hope there is no party going on as you wont sleep a wink until it is over.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bmdmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I usually stay in Dartford when busy in the area but no room at the inn!
Bit of a problem as didn't have the car with me.
Had to use taxis to/from accommodation.
Searched on-line for small place to stay - much preferred to large hotels.
So pleased to find The Castle Hotel.
Lovely, large comfortable rooms with country inn decor.
Choice of items for breakfast and good conversation with widely travelled and interesting hosts.
Think some reviewers on TA confuse homely accommodation and friendly hosts with the sometimes lackadaisical employed staff of hotel chains.
I like to feel I am staying with friends - and I did.
Owners of small establishments do not deliberately try to give bad service.
There is too much at stake.
Give me the relaxed comfort of 'home from home' every time!
Thank you Sharon and Gordon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel this weekend and I would like to thank Gorden and his family and staff for a great break they have revampt the whole property to a high standard the rooms were very clean and comfortable food was excellent my family party of 10 all had a great time will deffo stay there again . keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I booked some friends in for this coming Saturday night as they are attending a party. Today (Wednesday) the castle called and CANCELLED the room with just three days notice as they have not completed their renovations. Brands hatch has a race on meaning most if not all hotels in the area are full. Absolutely shocked and saddened that such bad service prevails at The Castle. I would never ever again recommend this hotel. I was considering holding the actual party here - thank goodness I didn't!!!!

Stayed: March 2014
5  Thank IneeyMineyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a family run hotel/bar/restaurant. The venue is ok, but let down by the family who run it, and work the bar, waitress, and everything else. They are so disorganised, food was ordered, some arrived, they 'lost' some of the order, in all, it took over 90 minutes to receive all the food, by which time, some of us, wished we had chosen another place to eat.

Things then went from bad to worse, it is difficult to actually know who is working, as the family all wear casual clothing, plus they drink on both sides of the bar, so at times are mixed in with customers. Others were standing behind the bar, looked like they might actually work there, but were in fact 'friends' of the family, doing nothing worthwhile at all, service was truly terrible.

The food when it arrived, was either cold, or looked unappealing. By this time we were (8 of us) very unimpressed, but that was not the end of our travails, we got our bill, and it was incorrect by £61.00, had items we had not ordered or received, and double counted our wine. We pointed this out, and the owner, who was clearly drunk, began to 'challenge' us?? It took about 10 minutes to 'prove' that the bill was incorrect (we still had the empty wine bottles as the table had remained un-cleared for over an hour), eventually, after much debate between family members, they agreed the bill was incorrect.

We booked one room, £110.00 for the evening. Which for a little B&B pub is quite expensive, as you can (and we regularly do) stay in a 5* hotel in London for this amount. However, the room cost is not so much the issue, the lack of sound insulation is. The noise from the bar was incredible, as was the noise from the family who own the bar, and live in the rooms above, plus the noise from the street, cars, parking......if you want to sleep, or even hear yourself think, this is not a B&B that provides peace and quite.

All in all, food poor at best, and quite expensive, service extremely poor, bill incorrect, room over-priced, and extremely noisy.

Staff need to be easily recognisable, a simple black & white's would help, and avoid drinking with customers, and for some, becoming drunk. We would not visit again, which is a shame as 4 of our group live in the village, and they were terribly embarrassed by the whole experience.

    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here last night,
I have to say how impressed I was. Beautiful clean quiet room. Lovely pub & a fantastic breakfast. ( black & white pudding). The pub also has a lovely garden with a Shetland pony rabbits & Guinea pigs. Ideal for a Sunday afternoon with kids.
Highly recommend this place & would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a welcoming, stylish and well facilitated B&B in a high street location that's just over the road from the local historic castle. For a very reasonable price, we spent the night in a warmly decorated room with a sizeable en suite and a bed so comfortable that we didn't want to get out of it. Breakfast was generous and delicious, and adaptable for both meat-eaters and veggies alike. I really would recommend The Castle Hotel to anyone stopping into this lovely Kentish village; it's a great place to relax and is run by genuinely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E_Welthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Eynsford DA4 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Eynsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsford
Price Range: £85 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Castle Hotel we aim to capture the essence of a country inn offering a range of individually designed rooms in historical Eynsford which nestles in the Darenth Valley. Sleep and Relax in big sumptuously comfortable beds with the softest duvets and pillows. Fully carpeted rooms with thick Georgian walls, quiet village location with a village shop, butchers and two other restaurant and another pub all within walking distance not to mention the river with its picturesque ford two churches and not forgetting Eynsford castle just across the road. freshly prepared locally produced dishes our prepared by our team of chefs. Eat a delicious full English breakfast with sausages from Normans Butchers next door! (vegetarian option available).Start with cereals or our large glass of house muesli with berries, honey and Greek yogurt (inspired by a divine breakfast I once had by the Orange River in Africa!) Then later when you have visited the many local attractions come back and dine on a light but always tasty lunch, afternoon tea or scrumptious evening meal. Eat in our busy restaurant or alfresco on the sun terrace. alternatively choose one of our comfy chesterfields in the attractive bar area. Choose a book from the library and curl up in front of one of our blazing fire in winter, there is a space and time here for you to enjoy. In keeping with our contemporary classic interiors, our service is calm but focused, and dedicated to ensuring that you thoroughly enjoy your time as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Eynsford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing