We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer but not so good food”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Thurston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Public House with dining area, pool bar with TV's showing Sky Sports. One bedroom self catering holiday accommodation
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Lovely looking pub, good selection of beer, friendly staff but disappointing food. Two of my lunch party ordered the steak and kidney suet pudding with chips and vegetables. They said that the suet pudding was hard and the vegetables undercooked. However my friend said his ham, egg and chips was just right and the steak and ale pie ordered by another friend was let down by the vegetables. We have eaten there before and were very happy with the food on that occasion. Maybe today we were just unlucky in the busy lunch time just before Christmas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food on this occasion. We hope you will give us another try in future. Please feel free to let us know should
you have any issues again,l at the time, so we can rectify these for you and make your visit an enjoyable one. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

great local pub, staff are all very friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere , a true local pub.
It is always busy hence the pub of the year for a few times in suffolk.
Food is pretty much standard fare, nothing special but good quality, good price and you come away feeling full. Good value for money
have visited many times over the year and have never been disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john-suffolk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really please to hear that you enjoy your visits to the pub and look forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The food was okay, I had the burger with cheese and the cheese tasted like the cheap processed stuff which ruined the taste for me. as the meat was quite nice.

Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt let down by your burger. We do always use burger cheese as a rule on our burgers but are happy to replace that for cheddar when requested. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We went there with our lifelong friends. Staff very welcoming and we were shown to our table immediately. There was no rush to order, ordered starters which came within ten minutes of ordering, main were huge and still managed to order dessert. There was no rush to vacate our table and on a Friday evening the place was very busy and a lot of the locals were in.
Excellent service and a high standard across the board.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary lunch, the staff were very friendly, helpful and happy. Our lunch was huge! so much so that we wish we hadnt ordered a starter, couldnt fault the food or service and we also noticed that in the main bar area the locals were all happy too, its been a long time since we have seen such a good atmosphere in a pub. We will diffinately go back again some time soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 57andgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that your Wedding Anniversary was enjoyable and we look forward to serving you again on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing