We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of some TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurston
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and although the hotel itself is clean and tidy areas were quite shabby. The first room we were given was also suffering a plague of flies! After complaining we were immediately given another room on a higher floor which was much better. My husband had the full English breakfast which was very good, I however had toast and croissants the latter being completely burnt! Not difficult to warm some pastries surely. The staff were a bit half hearted I think, and when we checked out tried to charge us £89 for meals we never had! Don't think would visit again I'm afraid.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adyer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    50
    59
    39
    35
See reviews for
42
81
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently stayed at this quiet and quaint hotel for three nights. The staff were very polite and extremely helpful and check in was not an issue. The hotel has very good parking available as well as a beautiful garden area which is accessed from the side of the building and the bar area. In summer it must be gorgeous. This hotel is hard to find however and my Garmin could not pick up Thurston so use the map the hotel supplies on line. We expected old world charm but this hotel is tired although spacious and our room was very large. There is no elevator but we were offered help with our bags if we needed it. The room was No. 1 and was very spacious with a sitting area and t.v. and large bed which actually did dip in the middle but I have to say I did sleep well. Linens were good and the bedroom warm. The hotel overall was very warm at the beginning of October with adequate heating and extra supplied in the form of oil fired free standing heater. The sitting area had a tired and worn two seater couch and coffee table which was placed on a rug and every time we got up we tripped over it as it tended to bunch up on the pile carpet. The lighting for us older folk was abysmal and reading a paper after dark in the room could only be done under a lamp on the bedside table. The furniture was not wonderful, chipped and worn but maybe this is what we should expect in an old house! There was an adequate supply of tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom was adequate but the shower was dangerous with the mixer tap not mixing properly and producing scalding water in the shower. No grab rails for ease of access for older folk either. There was adequate heat although the bath towels were tired and worn. Even with all of what I have mentioned we did have a quiet sleep, no noise from weddings or the bar and breakfast was very adequate and the food well cooked both in the morning and evening in the restaurant. However, the tables were sticky and our clothing and papers and lap tops kept sticking to them. Not because they were not clean but because the varnish on them was worn and they did need to be re-sealed. This hotel has direct competition from the pub down the road and if that is the case they need to jack up their bar area and add wifi to the rooms as well. The menu is good but they clearly need extra staff when they have a party of more than 6 come in for breakfast or dinner as wait time can become long although having said that we were asked if we would be dining in every day so they could accommodate people efficiently. With all of the above said I did enjoy my quiet time there. If I had been travelling alone I would prefer to have a radio of something playing in the place in the background in the morning to take the edge off the somberness of the restaurant. More lighting would do the trick too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely location, however, thought it was strange when I got to room 8, and the curtains were closed at 6pm, pulled them back, only to find the windows covered in flies, and ladybirds, spent the next half hour with all the windows open, shoeing them out with a piece of laminated paper out of the book, 29 flies, and 12 ladybirds later,, i noticed the lamp in the room was covered in them, 10 in total, shook the lamp out of the window and got rid, thought they had all gone, went for dinner, services wasn't good, waited for over half hour before someone even came to us, but, the food was excellent, couldnt fault it. Went back to the room, only to find another 8 ladybirds on the lamp, and the wall covered with little flies, oh, and ladybirds in the bed, I couldn't sleep, as on turning the lamp off they were flying around, finally got moved at midnight, I was shattered, on complaining at reception the next morning, and saying that they needed to knock something off the bill, the girl was less than helpful, and not really interested, even when I told her we as a company put alot of business through them, and its in their best interests to do something about it, a collegue who happens to be staying all week, also had the same problem in his room too, in fact, came down to dinner with ladybirds crawling all over him, and they were also in the bar area. Couldn't fault the breakfast, in fact one of the best I have had, and I stay in quite a few hotels, although its in a beautiful setting, and the food was excellent, for customer service I wasn't impressed at all, although the girl who sorted me another room out at midnight was really helpful. I would think twice about going back, and as a business, would now consider using another hotel, simply because of the attitude when checking out.

Room Tip: check for flies and ladybirds before you unpack, and be suspicious if the curtains are drawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186411Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurston hotels

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had our wedding reception at The Grange in August 2013. The hotel is rather shabby and in need of an update, however due to the location of the hotel, we chose this as our reception venue. Unfortunately, to this day, we still regret that we didn't choose another venue. During the planning of our wedding reception, we were helped by Amy, who was very helpful and dealt with any queries effectively. However, when dealing with the managers, we were rather disappointed, finding them very unfriendly and unable to answer our questions. Although our guests had an enjoyable evening, certain parts were spoilt. We were told the food was very good, however the buffet was brought out and we were only given about an hour to eat it and then it was taken away. So much food was wasted and we didn't have a chance to eat anything. Our cake was cut up just after we had cut it. Unfortunately it was put on the plate with the decorations dumped on top and therefore only one or two people actually took some. Towards the end of the evening, we were enjoying catching up with some of our guests when the staff started taking the chair covers off and packing away our table decorations. The reception had not even finished!!! We feel really disappointed and we certainly won't be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed for 2 nights this is a really beautifull hotel and felt lovely to be in, very peaceful and restfull the staff are really lovely and the food is absolutely amazing.

Really recommended for some time away

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach NSW Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arriving at the Lodge, we were impressed with the "Olde Worlde" appearance of the Grange as this is the type of hotel we seek.
Check in was good and the room enormous and clean but with poor water pressure that seems endemic in UK hotels.
The Grange is a somewhat tired place that would scrub up beautifully with a bit of TLC.
The pleasant grounds invite you to walk around and they provide adequate parking.
Tariff was reasonable and this always has to be born in mind, because the breakfast is pathetic - no fruit offered, no yoghurt, cold mushrooms, as an example.
A dinner we had there was good, our Oriental Stir-fry a welcome change to the usual fare.
We could not access Wi-fi in the room but it was available in the bistro.
Staff were very helpful at all times and our stay (mid-week) was peaceful.
Found a fabulous pub down the road "Fox & Hounds", with a comprehensive range of beers to select from and host Bernie is a treasure with the food being both good and plentiful.
Overall, if we were passing we would most likely stay again (mid week) at the Grange but not if it took us out of our way.

Room Tip: Rooms within the hotel appeal more to us than the outside cottages, whilst undoubtedly clean and fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Only there for the one night. Room was junior suite comfortable with an extra bit of space. Staff very friendly and quite jolly all adds to the atmosphere, only issue was guinness is served from cans, not a deal breaker especially as there is adnams. Sorry for ringing the bell. Visiting family so will be staying again if the price is right. Full english breakfast very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurston
3.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: Barton Road, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Thurston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Bury St Edmunds
The Grange Hotel Thurston, Bury St Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing