We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for an Event”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurston
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue for an Event”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently held a family event in the Banqueting Room. The owners of the Grange could not have been more efficient and helpful in the organisation and the running of the event. Everything ran smoothly and on time, anything we suggested or asked for was immediately actioned. Some of our guests stayed at the Grange and they only had good reports. I would not hesitate to recommend the Grange.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    53
    63
    41
    37
See reviews for
45
89
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very comfortable room with two double twin beds. Lack of good size window meant it was hot, although there was a good window in the en suite. Food was good, very generous portion for breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was field of oil seed rape adjacent to hotel - not good if one is allergic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britainabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have run a number of business workshops at this hotel and it's always been a great venue. In particular I want to thank Carrie who did a wonderful job of making everyone feel at home and created a sense of warmth and welcome - she's a great addition to the team! Thankyou!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night as we were exploring Suffolk. We stayed in a lovely log cabin in the grounds, which was new and very comfortable and well-appointed. The grounds are beautiful, and the house itself it a bit tired, but the location is excellent. The breakfast was one of the best we had ever had, set in a beautiful dining room overlooking the gardens.

Presumably because of the very rural locationhere is no phone signal and the wifi did not work at all.

All in all was very good and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Choose the log cabins, though they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Interesting to view previous comments - this place has so much potential but I guess money is the key to the major difference between how it is and how it could be.

The room was fine but slightly let down by only soft pillows, no soap and a taped up shower head to try and hold it in position

Food was very tasty and well presented but let down by being not too warm and having been taken away for reheating it coming back even colder - and at breakfast fruit selection looked great on the plate but let down by the very long time it took to arrive (and please don't give us warm toast 15 minutes before our cooked breakfast)

If money to refurbish is a problem then one very cheap way of generating more is improve the quality of service. It appears the owner? has looked at previous comments and offers to carry bags to the rooms - but where's the warmth?? Try and be just a little bit welcoming on arrival and when checking us out don't act as if I'd just paid for a paper at a local convenience store - "Thanks for staying with us - hope you've enjoyed your stay - have a good journey home - hope to see you again" ??

I hope the Grange flourishes - it has a great location and grounds and is a great building - but it needs to work harder

PS Re ratings what fitness centre and swimming pool????

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Carrie is a fantastic addition to the team , friendly out going and professional, she made my stay welcoming.
Going out of her way to make sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed, the place is a little tired looking and needs a little cleaning here and there but you almost overlook that fact with a smile and a chat with the new assistant manager, I have stayed before but this is the first time I have felt the need to praise the venue and induvidual Carrie , thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed recently for a family wedding. The hotel itself is quite nice, however a little tired and outdated. The staff on arrival were not very welcoming, we were just given our key and no help was offered with bags. Unfortunately we were given the top floor, with a large amount of bags, and there are no lifts! Staff overall let the place down, even the so called owner was very sour faced and didn't go out of his way to help. Enquiried about a spa treatment however they seemed as though they couldn't really care less, so decided against it. Another to point to make was during the whole wedding there was only 1 member of staff on the bar! Surely you must know that it'd be a busy time?! But then the overall theme seems to be a very big lack of customer service!!
One good point was the food at breakfast. There was a nice variety and the food was cooked very well.

Room Tip: Book a cabin in the grounds rather than a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurston
3.9 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
475 reviews
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
208 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
408 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: Barton Road, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Thurston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Bury St Edmunds
The Grange Hotel Thurston, Bury St Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing