We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrise Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sural Hotel(Colakli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
291
171
101
41
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
171
101
41
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelaqua parksnack barwater slidesstarlightpoolsholidayentertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We booked this holiday on the recommendation of our travel agent, who had briefly stayed here on a reps trip herself, back in Jan 08, then I started to read the reviews on trip advisor and they seemed to get worse and worse. By the time our holiday was here I was not looking forward to it, I had stocked up on mosquito repellant and was prepared for dirty accommodation, ear infections and "rude Russians".

There was no need to worry at all, the hotel is beautiful, clean and there was more than enough food to go round all the guests without queue jumping and pushing.

The grounds were extremely well kept and were lush and green, we didn't suffer with mosquito bites at all, which I am prone to, but I did notice a couple of people had some nasty bites - only because I was looking. We stayed in the family rooms, sets of bungalows in the gardens, they were very spacious and extremely clean when we arrived and were cleaned every day of our stay with fresh towels every day if needed.

The food was fantastic and plentiful, especially at the beginning of our stay, breakfast was definitely the best meal of the day. The meal choices in the main restaurant were the same every day lunch and dinner, so extremely repetitive.

When we booked our holiday we checked that the hotel was open all year round and would not close due to being "out of season" which we were reassurred it wouldn't .... but during our stay the staff were closing down the majority of the resort. The restaurants and snacks were less and less available as our stay continued, but the main restaurant always had plentiful supplies just not as much choice. During our first week the waterfall restaurant and several snack options closed. The swimming pool bars when they were still open, constantly ran out of at least sprite, etc.

At the beginning we didn't have any problems getting 4 sunbeds next to any of the chosen pools, but again these were being packed up at a great rate and by the end there were only beds by the main pool and these were hard to come by later in the day. We complained a couple of times to the lifeguard at the aqua park and he hunted down a couple of beds for us each time but was definitely not prepared to untie any beds he had previously packed away for winter. All the swimming pools were absolutely freezing, it even took the kids a good ten minutes to get in each time, but extremely clean and I didn't see any evidence of ear infecctions at all.

"Pancake Lady" and "Pizza Man" were absolute heros in the eyes of my 2 kids. Pancakes were made fresh whilst you waited in small huts around the resort (only one still open by end of hols) and Pizza made fresh in brick pizza oven whilst you waited in main restaurant and snack bars. We noticed this was the same pizza man every day lunch and dinner, so big tip to him at the end of our stay.

The entertainments team worked tirelessly during the day with sports, darts, etc, the evening entertainment that we saw was so bad it was funny but you have to give them 10 out of 10 for enthusiasm! They entertain in so many different languages but it was hard to work out when they were switching between languages, especially during the bingo night. There were a lot of beauty shows, ie Miss Sunrise, Mr Sunrise, which we didn't bother going to but they seemed popular with the Russians!

It was easy to see where all the bad reviews could have happened if we had gone in peak season, but luckily for us it was quieter with less guests; therefore the staff had more time for serving, etc, and the waiters were great with the children.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We have just returned from a week at the sunrise resort in side. Probably not the best time of year to have gone as the hotel was closing down, so turning off 3 slides, taking away some of the sunloungers etc., but nothing that really bothered us. we only needed 2 sunloungers!!! Weather was good, although did go a little chilly in the evening, but again that didnt bother us. I cant stand it too hot, so the weather in the day was perfect for me. Air conditioning didnt work, because the locals thought it was "cold", so the room was very hot after a day of the sun shining on it! The soft drinks were running out at each bar, and they wernt replacing them as they were going to close, so in the end they were just pouring out of bottles. Also they dont have pint glasses for beer, and the only give you a tiny glass that would be for whiskey or something for soft drinks at night and plastic glasses in the day for everthing. ( which is understandable by the pool).

Entertainment was a bit rubbishy, but again maybe that was because of the time of year we went. Still, we had a laugh at what was on. Your holiday is what you make it at the end of the day isnt it!

Food in the included a la carte resturants, the Turkish & the mediterranean were very nice. Couldnt pick a thing to complain about them, and I am a very very very fussy eater! The buffet was ok, but mainly catered for the germans and russians, ie lots of salad, cheese, ham & bread! Saying that, the salad was very nice.Lots of chips, pasta and chicken for everyone else. The mexican was closed, which we were willing to pay a little extra for to go in.
Also I never saw the italian resturant. At lunch you could either go to the buffet which was simelar to dinner, or the beach snack bar, where they did lovely turkish kebabs, turkish pizzas, hamburgers, chips and ice cream, We ate in there most days!

After reading the review on how the russians and germans took over, I was worried. But the resort is huge, 4 swimming pools, so plenty of space to be away from them. Yes they were there, but if you dont let them bother you in their rudeness, it wont ruin your holiday!

The gardens and clenliness of the hotel is fantastic. The beach is also lovely. All the pools were big and plenty of sunbathing space around them. Spa is nice, even though you do have to pay for turkish bath.

Overall we had a nice break away, which is what we were looking for, so we didnt pick at things to complain about. I think in the summer this would be a good resort to go to for a reasonable price.

Liked: a la carte resturants, beach, pools, hotel grounds.

Disliked: Air conditioning ( but works in high season), pillows, jam at breakfast (rose jam?!), buffet resturant a bit repetitive some nights, glasses that they put drinks in.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

After reading the reviews, we were really worried!! No Need!! Just arrived back this morning - Fantastic resort. Clean, comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms -they even folded my nightie in a funky way! Pools spotless, loads of comfy loungers and clean beach towels. Beach beautiful - great beds when you could get one! To be fair, we got one each time we wanted one. Food was fine - there was variety, there was plenty and yes, there were some wasps. But it was 32o out there, loads of lovely sticky cakes - so no more than you would get here on a hot summers day. There was always something to eat that was really nice - just don't go expecting English food cos you ain't in England!! Go to Tenerife if you want cottage pie and chips! When in Rome, as the saying goes. We go abroad to experience different things - why go otherwise?
There were a lot of Russions, Ukrainians and Germans - we found them fine, on the whole and if they got pushy, you just get pushy right on back! Especially at the toaster! Every thing we read in the bad reviews was no how we found the Sunrise Resort,. We had a fab time, and would recommend it to everyone and anyone

Tracey & Simon 22/10/08

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happy1Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

we have just returned on fri 17 oct we had a very nice stay at the sunrise resort the kids loved all the pools and the beach. we also laughed at the russians running to get into the restaurant first and it was very busy, we went over to starlight restaurant and had many of our evening meals much quieter although it was another british couple that told us we could eat there otherwise we wouldn't of known.as for the rep we only see her once still waiting for her to sort our rooms out, we went to see her on several occasions but to no avail. we got taxis into manavgat and side paid 70 lira about 35 return for 6 of us.i had stomach bug for 3 days then my son had it for 4 days which we brought medicines in side for 9 lira £4.50 and it cleared up very quickly.some days the food was either warm or cold which we just left as we were told not to eat. the bar near the beach done burgers,chips,doners & pizzas every day between 12.30 & 4.30 which we went to most days of our 11 day stay. as for entertainment we went to the jids disco twice after that we had enough never went to anything else as we didn't no what was on or where, we took the kids to the late disco once till about 1 in the morning which was good but could of started alot earlier than 11pm overall we enjoyed our stoy and so did my children aged 14,12,11 & 3 so a holiday is what you make of it so enjoy yourselfs

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oxfordlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

hotel was full of over 3000 rude, arrogant & gready russians, the food was mainly catered for them & was also tepid not hot, wasps on all the cakes, tiny fruit flys on the cheese, hotel rooms clean, towels & linen changed regularly. hotel itself very nice and we could use the fasileties of the new sister hotel called starlite, although the staff were quite rude, served other nationalities then went to wash up leaving the english just stood at the bar.the town was a good 5 mins walk down a lane which was fairly dark, u wouldnt want to walk on your own at nite. not one bar or restaraunt in the town & they didnt seem to want turkish lira or pound, just wanted russian dollar or euro, he market was in manavgat which was about 3 miles away, 55 lira (£30) return in a taxi, how extortionate, same old tat on market as in the local town, and like the hotel the locals werent interested in pound or lira, this was my 7th time in turkey, first time to side and my last, i felt like an outcast, we were basically the wrong nationality, lovely place dont get me wrong made some great friends (english) and would of been better if we had gone a week later as not as many rusty russians

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews