We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IVY2011- Regular customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bailey Ground Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Seascale B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IVY2011- Regular customer”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Super Hotel, very freindly, attentive staff, comfortable, clean room with excellent shower and desk for working after hours. The food is superb in both quality and quantity. and alternatives are available from the menu, the daily special is particulary good value. As an aside, their home made ice cream is to die for!!
I stay regularly on business and it is like a home from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    35
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
21
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Having stayed here for a week whilst on business in cumbria, I was left astonished after reading that this hotel had recieved a poor review.
On my arrival at the hotel i got a very warm welcome from the wife of the couple that run the Bailey ground, check in was smooth and i was promptly shown to my room which was brightly decorated,clean and comfortable.
Having freshened up i then went downstairs to find a well stocked bar where i was able to sample some local real ale.(very satisfying after my travelling).
I was then given the food menu by the polite bar staff and was told there was a fresh daily special for a very reasonable price.
I subsequently went on to have the daily special throughout my stay, which along with a cooked full English breakfast each morning(continental on offer also) did not disappoint.
I would also advise to sample the lovely ice cream.
I would definately stay at this hotel should i have the pleasure of being in Cumbria again, All in all a very well run hotel by a hard working couple who will go out of there way to make you're stay comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevlou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The food fantastic! the staff are very friendly, nice atmosphere. A very pleasent stay!! Already recomended to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Owner at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for your kind review and for recommending us to your friends. The majority of the food is homemade and is produced at our own farm, dairy and ice cream parlour with zero food miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was our very 1st visit to Cumbria and we booked here for a weekend (3 nights end of March/beginning of April this year) and were left extremely disappointed on the whole.

We booked through lastminute.com and the offer was pay for 2 nights get the 3rd night free WITH FULL English Breakfast included. We arrived late in the evening and we were greeted warmly by the husband of the husband & wife team after we managed to find him. Our room was clean and quite basic overall, no real faults with that side of it. Our bedroom overlooked a wall at the very back of the hotel which is on split levels so had no view at all (most bedrooms overlook the car park, probably only a couple overlook the sea).

We didn't really have a problem the 1st night as it was late and we were tired after travelling all day, the problem started the next morning as we quite happily made our way out to breakfast. We sat at a table in the stark dining room and waited and waited, we did see someone coming in and out who cast looks at us but did not come over (there was only a couple of others in the room). Finally the wife (the glancer) of the husband/wife team came over to us and in a oh-so-charming way, pointed us in the direction of a long table in the far corner and told us this is where we can find our breakfast. We looked over and saw miniature breakfast cereal boxes, orange juice, a couple of loaves of bread, some cups & saucers for tea or coffee. We told her that we were expecting a hot breakfast, a full english to which she replied, quite annoyed with us, 'a full english is not included in the price of the room only continental of which you can help yourself to'. We both said politely, as we were still in a good mood as we were looking forward to exploring the Cumbrian countryside, that according to our receipt and booking with lastminute.com a full english was included. She again reiterated the same comment to which I replied that I can go and check our booking sheet if she wanted to as I am 100% sure that is what we booked. She sighed and said again that we were only entitled to a continental breakfast. The whole exchange at this point was becoming very tense as my partner and I couldn't believe in the manner & tone in which we were being spoken too. When we said, still stunned that we will have a look at what is on offer in the corner she then said that 'ok this time I will honour what you have booked and get you a hot breakfast, what do you want?'. We both wanted the full english but she didn't offer this and said to us 'I can do you some eggs, how do you want them done?' So this is what we had, scrambled eggs (2) with some lukewarm toast and helped ourself to coffee and juice from the 'continental' bar. Hardly a great start to keep you warm and fed until lunchtime. Anyway in her favour I will mention that while we were getting our coffee (2nd cup) she came over and apologised for her rudeness to us and explained that she was fed up with lastminute.com offering the full english on their website to people. We accepted it as we wanted to get out of there at this point but really what business is it of ours if she and her husband as business owners have a dispute with a company that promotes their business? We were not interested in hearing it and it was very unprofessional behavior on her part to display this to customers - suck it up like the rest of us have to in our day to day jobs! Before we left for the day we found our booking and showed it to her of which she made a copy to take up with lastminute.com.

We came back that evening only to go to bed as we did not want to eat at the 'hotel' in case we upset them further by asking for decent food. As this has been a long review already I will cut the rest of this short by saying that while we were in and of the hotel we could hear the husband/wife team constantly argue over who knows what (although we suspect it had to do with the husband lazing about and the wife running around like a chicken with its head cutoff trying to do everything) and it was a very uncomfortable stay so we did not stay the 3rd night but left and headed off and stayed elsewhere. We would never come back again and I am surprised that other reviews have been favorable. They need a complete attitude review and a decor makeover. (Oh yeah, the only reason they stay in business is that they have a lot of workers from Cellafield that stay with them for a good part of the year and its handy for getting to work, otherwise I don't think they would be still open).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jinty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Owner at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
I am alarmed that a guest who had stayed with our family in March had waited until October to inform us about our service. The complaint seems to hinge upon the supply of a cooked breakfast. My wife recalls the occasion and i have checked with lastminute.com and your original booking form and it clearly states room sold as "ROOM ONLY".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I have stayed at the Bailey Ground Hotel several times this year and I have found each visit to be a very enjoyable experience. The plus points of the hotel are the rooms, staff, food and location.The rooms I have stayed in have been clean and spacious with flat screen TV and en-suite with bath and shower. All the staff in the bar and the restaurant are friendly and attentive and managed in a family-friendly way by the owners, Sarah and Richard. The food is excellent with daily specials at good prices. The location is right opposite the fabulous beach at Seascale with a panoramic view from the bar. The hotel is also ideal for the Lakes and Sellafield which is why I use it regularly on business. All in all excellent value for money which is important these days!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graemesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for your awesome review and we look forward to your return. It's a pleasure to look after you and your work colleagues. Also my Farther the "Hotel Concierge" can collect you from the train station if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on tees
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

As soon as you walk into the Baily Ground you are met with a warm welcome like you have know the Family for years. The staff put themselvs out to ensure all of your requirements are met. After a nice hot shower i headed to the bar with a fine selection of local real ale aswell as your familiar brands. Everynight there is a chefs special on the menu which this evening was chicken in a white wine sauce served with veg and potatoes. I have to say it was really nice with a good home cooked feel. i was tempted and couldnt resist finishing my meal off by looking at a long list of fine home made ice creams produced on the hotel owners farm. from jelly baby flavour to millionaire shortbred it was a perfect desert and the perfect end to the evening,

cya you soon guys as i will most definetly back !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Owner at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We look forward to your return and thank you for your comments. After a hard days work this review really made me smile. However you can keep your hands off my millionaire shortbread ice cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed here for one night to meet relatives walking the coast path. Warm welcome and a clean comfortable room. The food was excellent both in the evening and the breakfast was everything that was needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.4 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
0.5 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Seascale
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Ground Hotel

Property: Bailey Ground Hotel
Address: Drigg Road, Seascale CA20 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailey Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Western Lake District, this family run hotel is set just 50 metres from the sea and is only a 3 minute walk from Seascale train station. Including Ice-Cream Parlour, Coffee Shop, Free WiFi, O2 and Vodafone mobile phone signal boosters and ample car parking. Opened in October 2008, the Mawson family have put ‘heart and soul’ into Bailey Ground Hotel, refurbishing and re-invigorating it from top to bottom to ensure offering excellent accommodation and facilities for all guests. The Mawson family also have a farm which traditionally produces dairy products for the area, so you can be certain that only the freshest, highest quality produce is used in the hotel's coffee shop and restaurant.Bedrooms have recently been refurbished, offering tasteful and stylish accommodation including all modern facilities guests would expect. The hotel places their emphasis on traditional home comforts in a relaxed and friendly environment, providing the ideal place for a relaxing getaway.The restaurant is the ideal place to enjoy a delicious freshly cooked meal; guests can sit back and soak up the ambient surroundings and wonderful view out to the Irish Sea. All produce is sourced as locally as possible, using the best quality ingredients with milk, cream, butter and clotted cream from the Bailey Ground Dairy. There is also an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Please note, guests wishing to dine in the hotel on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday will need to book a table in advance of arrival.The Ice Cream Parlour and Coffee Shop offer the perfect place to indulge in a treat. The ice cream is hand made using milk and cream from their own cows which guests can see grazing in the fields around Seascale. There are 12 flavours which will change daily depending on the best seasonal produce available. Guests can enjoy delicious ice creams such as banana split, Peach Melba, strawberry and chocolate sundae and the famous Bailey Ground Knickerbocker Glory. The Coffee Shop menu offers freshly prepared food such as; scones, toasted tea cakes, sandwiches and Panini’s. Also, a large selection of desserts, tray bakes and fresh cream cakes.Seascale is a quaint coastal town in the Western Lake District; it is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of the Lake District. Stunning views and some of England’s finest scenery provide a backdrop to the wide choice of attractions and things to do in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Bailey Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey Ground Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing