We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bailey Ground Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Seascale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Both owners really helpful and.warm family welcome. Dinner is awesome and the views are amazing I will definitely be going back.out of ten I give them a twenty xxx

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bailey Ground for two nights whilst he worked nearby. The room was very clean and tea and coffee making facilities well stocked. We rang on our way to say that we would be arriving after 7 and that we would like to eat at the hotel on arrival, this was no problem and after checking in we went down to the bar and ordered a couple of steaks. The food was delicious, steaks cooked exactly how we like them and as tasty and tender as you will find anywhere. Sarah, the wife of the Husband/wife team told us about their farm where they produce the beef and pork used in the hotel, they also make their own ice creams. Sarah mentioned that she was making a sticky toffee pudding for the next day but when my husband said that he just loved bread and butter pudding she offered to make him one as well, which he thoroughly enjoyed!
We also had a long chat with both the Mum and Dad of the family who were the original owners of the farm. Overall we were made to feel very welcome and part of the family for our short stay.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, it is clean, comfortable there is a lovely beach just across the road and the food is great!! I hope that my husband is called to work that way again soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringingqueen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Having recently stayed at the hotel on business, I can highly reccomend it. The room was comfortable, food was excellent and the staff could not have been more welcoming. Although I would not say the hotel was in any way luxurious, the owners have done a terrific job of creating a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. The gym although basic, was also a plus point.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

On arriving at the hotel at check in time we found we had a double room with shower, we had booked a twin with bath, the tv didnt work and so we complained and was given a singlre room next dorr for the same price, still no bath.
We were going out until 6pm and so we were assured on our return the tv would be working, it wasn't and so we were moved into 2 ajoining doubles still with no bath and only one tv working, the radiators and towel rail was cold, the owner brought us an electric radiator and said he would sort the other tv out the next day, by now it was around 8pm and we still wasn't settled in.
The bathroom and shower had no shelf to put your shampoo/shower gel or soap, the cups had tea stains in them and had to be washed.
The owner said the other tv would be working the next day and it was.

When i had to take my dog out at 1am i found there were no lights whatso ever in the reception or on the stairs leading in and out and i had to feel my way almost stumbling as i did.
It was literally pitch black.
This place is more like a BB than a hotel rooms are small but clean.
The complimentary toiletries wich was 1 shampoo, 1 soap,1 and 1 shower gel was only on arrival and not replentished daily.
The hospitality tray was replentished on a daily basis.
The breakfast is really good and plentiful, apart from the black pudding which was hard and over cooked with no taste.
The ice cream from their shop is good and you really must try it, it's wonderful.

On the whole i think it is a good location and the beach is near and clean, but we got a deal and paid much less than the usual price, if i had to pay the full price i would say it isn't worth it, at the price we paid i was satisfied (just)

On the plus side i would say the staff are very friendly even though there isn't many of them (it seemed to be the same lady cleaning publike areas,toilets,serving breakfast and cleaning the rooms) the owner was very obliging and helpful and done his best to try to make our stay happy.
Wifi was in all rooms and pets are welcome.
If i wanted hotel facilities i would not stay here, the games room they advertise isn't there any more and the gym is in the basement and is well stocked but over crouded as it is a small space.

If you want a BB there are cheaper places to stay but i couldn't fault the location.
We got a cheaper rate for our stay stay £40 pn BB pp but i wouldn't pay any more than that it's not worth it.

Room Tip: If you arrive and the room isn't what you booked tell them, they will do their best to rectify t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DogFriendlylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I arrived to a warm welcome and was shown to a lovely clean room with great facilities, I had everything I needed and the welcome book answered any questions I had included the password for the wireless internet, very comfortable stay, the whole room including bathroom was spotless.
The food was great makes a refreshing change to have only fresh ingredients used.
Very friendly atmosphere, would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Super Hotel, very freindly, attentive staff, comfortable, clean room with excellent shower and desk for working after hours. The food is superb in both quality and quantity. and alternatives are available from the menu, the daily special is particulary good value. As an aside, their home made ice cream is to die for!!
I stay regularly on business and it is like a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Having stayed here for a week whilst on business in cumbria, I was left astonished after reading that this hotel had recieved a poor review.
On my arrival at the hotel i got a very warm welcome from the wife of the couple that run the Bailey ground, check in was smooth and i was promptly shown to my room which was brightly decorated,clean and comfortable.
Having freshened up i then went downstairs to find a well stocked bar where i was able to sample some local real ale.(very satisfying after my travelling).
I was then given the food menu by the polite bar staff and was told there was a fresh daily special for a very reasonable price.
I subsequently went on to have the daily special throughout my stay, which along with a cooked full English breakfast each morning(continental on offer also) did not disappoint.
I would also advise to sample the lovely ice cream.
I would definately stay at this hotel should i have the pleasure of being in Cumbria again, All in all a very well run hotel by a hard working couple who will go out of there way to make you're stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevlou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.5 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Seascale
125 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kellbank
The Kellbank
#1 of 6 in Gosforth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
393 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
2.9 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Ground Hotel

Address: Drigg Road, Seascale CA20 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailey Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Western Lake District, this family run hotel is set just 50 metres from the sea and is only a 3 minute walk from Seascale train station. Including Ice-Cream Parlour, Coffee Shop, Free WiFi, O2 and Vodafone mobile phone signal boosters and ample car parking. Opened in October 2008, the Mawson family have put ‘heart and soul’ into Bailey Ground Hotel, refurbishing and re-invigorating it from top to bottom to ensure offering excellent accommodation and facilities for all guests. The Mawson family also have a farm which traditionally produces dairy products for the area, so you can be certain that only the freshest, highest quality produce is used in the hotel's coffee shop and restaurant.Bedrooms have recently been refurbished, offering tasteful and stylish accommodation including all modern facilities guests would expect. The hotel places their emphasis on traditional home comforts in a relaxed and friendly environment, providing the ideal place for a relaxing getaway.The restaurant is the ideal place to enjoy a delicious freshly cooked meal; guests can sit back and soak up the ambient surroundings and wonderful view out to the Irish Sea. All produce is sourced as locally as possible, using the best quality ingredients with milk, cream, butter and clotted cream from the Bailey Ground Dairy. There is also an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Please note, guests wishing to dine in the hotel on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday will need to book a table in advance of arrival.The Ice Cream Parlour and Coffee Shop offer the perfect place to indulge in a treat. The ice cream is hand made using milk and cream from their own cows which guests can see grazing in the fields around Seascale. There are 12 flavours which will change daily depending on the best seasonal produce available. Guests can enjoy delicious ice creams such as banana split, Peach Melba, strawberry and chocolate sundae and the famous Bailey Ground Knickerbocker Glory. The Coffee Shop menu offers freshly prepared food such as; scones, toasted tea cakes, sandwiches and Panini’s. Also, a large selection of desserts, tray bakes and fresh cream cakes.Seascale is a quaint coastal town in the Western Lake District; it is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of the Lake District. Stunning views and some of England’s finest scenery provide a backdrop to the wide choice of attractions and things to do in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bailey Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey Ground Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing