We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bailey Ground Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Seascale B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable overnight stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on visit to West Cumbria and had a memorable stay. My wife wanted a seaview and boy, that is what we got. Fantastic view from our spacious bedroom. I dealt with Sarah the boss lady on the phone and she ensured we got just what we wanted. The staff were really lovely, very friendly and welcoming. We had an evening meal in the hotel and the food was excellent. I would recommend Sarah and her brilliant team at the Bailey Ground to anyone (and grab one of the amazing home made icecreams while you are there). David Lancaster (Blackpool)

Room Tip: The view from room 3 out over the sea is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    35
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
21
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I chose this hotel for the location and that is the only reason we stayed.
On arrival I found out that this hotel is used during the week mainly for Sellafield staff and the rooms reflect this.
When we checked in we found that they didn't have any twin rooms available and so we were offered 2 rooms instead which would have been great if we could have got a picture on the TV's.
After being moved to various rooms in the space of 2 hours, we finally got settled, although the tv only worked in one of the rooms.

Although I was unimpressed with the standard of the rooms/hotel. (No games room either)
I can only praise the owner who ran around trying to find us rooms with working TV's, trying to fix them all as he went.
He even managed to fix the other TV the next day for us.

This hotel is great if you just need a bed as there is not much else to do.
The beach is just across the road and is great for the kids.

They also own the Ice Cream parlour at the front of the hotel and this is amazing.
They have a range of home made ice cream, butter, milk etc.
I was extremely impressed with the amount you got for your money too.
Even if you don't stay at the hotel, you MUST visit the ice cream parlour.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Bailey Grong Hotel with most of our family members for my nephews wedding which was being held at the Bailey Ground. The staff are brilliant they are always around to assist when you need them. The owners Richard and Sarah were fantastic, they got out of their way to help us. Richard always had a smile on his face. The wedding after party that we had in their function room was the best ever for me so far. Becka one of their brilliant staff was fantastic and very friendly. We are definitely considering going back there again, you will be guaranteed the best service by far. Thank you so much for making my nephew Tony big day a big success.

Room Tip: we hardly stayed in the rooms since we were out all day and most of the night at the wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Richie and staff could not of been any more helpful. The rooms are to a high standard and the food is excellent. Although I went there with work I would have no hesitation taking the family there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed at the Bailey Ground Hotel with several colleagues during a work course. I was immediately impressed by the friendliness of the staff upon our arrival, and this continued throughout our stay. My rooom was extremely clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Richard the owner. The food was absolutely fantastic and I can recommend the fillet steak with port and stilton sauce as one of the best meals I've had in years! Will definitely stay again and look forward to doing so. Thanks Richard - even though you are a Newcastle supporter I had such a good stay I will forgive you for it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Friendly, helpful service, excellent food, big portions, great value, nice rooms and the breakfast starts at 6:15am which is ideal if you need to be at neaby Sellafield early. No complaints. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndickson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascale, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On a course I attended through work we headed to the Bailey Ground Hotel.
The seperate room made sure there were no distractions to what the course was regarding.
The food was excellent and plenty of it at every meal time. The coffee shop attached to the hotel offered a welcome break and great Latte.

Overall I had a very enjoyable 3 days at this location and would recommend any business using the Bailey ground for conferencing and team building events.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Seascale
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
4.4 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Ground Hotel

Property: Bailey Ground Hotel
Address: Drigg Road, Seascale CA20 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailey Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Western Lake District, this family run hotel is set just 50 metres from the sea and is only a 3 minute walk from Seascale train station. Including Ice-Cream Parlour, Coffee Shop, Free WiFi, O2 and Vodafone mobile phone signal boosters and ample car parking. Opened in October 2008, the Mawson family have put ‘heart and soul’ into Bailey Ground Hotel, refurbishing and re-invigorating it from top to bottom to ensure offering excellent accommodation and facilities for all guests. The Mawson family also have a farm which traditionally produces dairy products for the area, so you can be certain that only the freshest, highest quality produce is used in the hotel's coffee shop and restaurant.Bedrooms have recently been refurbished, offering tasteful and stylish accommodation including all modern facilities guests would expect. The hotel places their emphasis on traditional home comforts in a relaxed and friendly environment, providing the ideal place for a relaxing getaway.The restaurant is the ideal place to enjoy a delicious freshly cooked meal; guests can sit back and soak up the ambient surroundings and wonderful view out to the Irish Sea. All produce is sourced as locally as possible, using the best quality ingredients with milk, cream, butter and clotted cream from the Bailey Ground Dairy. There is also an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Please note, guests wishing to dine in the hotel on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday will need to book a table in advance of arrival.The Ice Cream Parlour and Coffee Shop offer the perfect place to indulge in a treat. The ice cream is hand made using milk and cream from their own cows which guests can see grazing in the fields around Seascale. There are 12 flavours which will change daily depending on the best seasonal produce available. Guests can enjoy delicious ice creams such as banana split, Peach Melba, strawberry and chocolate sundae and the famous Bailey Ground Knickerbocker Glory. The Coffee Shop menu offers freshly prepared food such as; scones, toasted tea cakes, sandwiches and Panini’s. Also, a large selection of desserts, tray bakes and fresh cream cakes.Seascale is a quaint coastal town in the Western Lake District; it is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of the Lake District. Stunning views and some of England’s finest scenery provide a backdrop to the wide choice of attractions and things to do in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your Bailey Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey Ground Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing