We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with great staff, beautiful view and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bailey Ground Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Seascale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for a week at Bailey Ground while hiking through Lake District. Perfect place for a summer swim, local Ale in it's bar or outside, fantastic lamb shank for dinner and good night's sleep. All brought by great staff with plenty suggestions of what where to go in the District. Definitely a recommendation to anyone looking further than de Lake District's lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deBoer_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Lake District and the Bailey Ground Hotel itself.

We hope to see you soon

Regards

Bogusia

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Bailey Ground Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice clean rooms excellent food and polite staff would happily stay again if I'm working in the area.good thing for me was no children running around the bar so was able to relax after work.breakfast staff are very accommodating to give a full breakfast or something to take away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Bailey Ground Hotel.

Regards


Bogusia

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed with my wife and 1 year old daughter for 1 night and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right on the beach and has homemade great icecream for sale. The manager was very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast was great with plenty of options.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hanssprungfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the Bailey Ground Hotel in Seascale.

Kind regards


Bogusia

Assistant Manager


I stayed with my wife and 1 year old daughter for 1 night and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right on the beach and has homemade great icecream for sale. The manager was very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast was great with plenty of options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've stayed in the hotel on and off for the last 3 months due to work commitments and I've had excellent meals along with good service from nice, friendly and helpful people.
I'm moving to another contract but might just see Richard and the staff again for a weekend visit

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank tsweeneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello

Thank you for taking time to write about the Bailey Ground Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your long stay and our home made food.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards


Bogusia

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent location looking out at the sea over the beach, good for an evening walk and good park benches, Excellent evening meal with extremely good food and best service in a long time, the meal was very well presented as if it was a London restuarant, the desert was one of the best ever. Excellent room which was quiet, plenty of facilities, tea/coffee, biscuits, expensive iron, comfortable armchair, bath en-suite, powerful shower, very clean. Excellent breakfast which was cooked to order and very fresh with a large selection of cereals etc all topped off with a very impressive morning view of the coast.
I would recommend anyone travelling in this part of Cumbria to stay her e and I would also advise Lake District travellers to go that bit extra of a distance and stay here. Very well done to the staff here. This is one of the best gems in the crown for Cumbria Tourism.

Room Tip: My only advice is to get the evening meal whilst there
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stban2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello

Thank you very much for your review. We all were pleased to hear that you liked your stay so much. We take pride in our home made food and desserts and are glad to hear you enjoyed it so much!
The location is beautiful indeed and we are lucky to have fantastic views of Isle of Man and the beach.

We hope to see you soon

Regards

Bogusia

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived really late, after 9pm but were given a warm welcome. We hadn't planned on being so late, and the owner offered to call the local Italian to find out if we could still eat there. He then asked his own chef to prepare us something, and we opted for ham ploughmanns....what we received was probably the best ham ploughmanns we will ever have! Way above what we expected. We then had a drink in the bar, and were amused when the owner popped his play station on the big television, it made us feel more relaxed and at home. The room we had was sea facing with a four poster bed, not huge but comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of it too. We would love to come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoulaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the Bailey Ground Hotel. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Looking forward to seeing you again

Regards


Bogusia Gruszka

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are from Minnesota in the United States, and we stayed at Bailey's Hotel in October, 2013. My family has lovely memories, which will last a lifetime, of our days at the hotel and the surrounding area. The food at the hotel was excellent, the rooms were so comfortable, and the family who owns the hotel and the staff were so gracious and kind to my family. They went out of their way to help us with our holiday plans (what to do and see nearby, and advice in looking for ancestors in the Carlisle area), food preferences (clotted cream in our coffee – beyond dreamy!), and in so many other ways. They are really a throwback to a kinder, gentler era compared to our other hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Irish Sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsons, Manager at Bailey Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello

Thank you for taking some time to write a review about Bailey Ground Hotel. We are glad to hear that you have lovely memories and had a great stay in seascale.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

Bogusia Gruszka

Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.5 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Kellbank
The Kellbank
#1 of 6 in Gosforth
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Seascale
124 reviews
20.5 mi away
Rusland Pool Hotel
Rusland Pool Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haverthwaite
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Ground Hotel

Address: Drigg Road, Seascale CA20 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range: £70 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailey Ground Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Western Lake District, this family run hotel is set just 50 metres from the sea and is only a 3 minute walk from Seascale train station. Including Ice-Cream Parlour, Coffee Shop, Free WiFi, O2 and Vodafone mobile phone signal boosters and ample car parking. Opened in October 2008, the Mawson family have put ‘heart and soul’ into Bailey Ground Hotel, refurbishing and re-invigorating it from top to bottom to ensure offering excellent accommodation and facilities for all guests. The Mawson family also have a farm which traditionally produces dairy products for the area, so you can be certain that only the freshest, highest quality produce is used in the hotel's coffee shop and restaurant.Bedrooms have recently been refurbished, offering tasteful and stylish accommodation including all modern facilities guests would expect. The hotel places their emphasis on traditional home comforts in a relaxed and friendly environment, providing the ideal place for a relaxing getaway.The restaurant is the ideal place to enjoy a delicious freshly cooked meal; guests can sit back and soak up the ambient surroundings and wonderful view out to the Irish Sea. All produce is sourced as locally as possible, using the best quality ingredients with milk, cream, butter and clotted cream from the Bailey Ground Dairy. There is also an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Please note, guests wishing to dine in the hotel on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday will need to book a table in advance of arrival.The Ice Cream Parlour and Coffee Shop offer the perfect place to indulge in a treat. The ice cream is hand made using milk and cream from their own cows which guests can see grazing in the fields around Seascale. There are 12 flavours which will change daily depending on the best seasonal produce available. Guests can enjoy delicious ice creams such as banana split, Peach Melba, strawberry and chocolate sundae and the famous Bailey Ground Knickerbocker Glory. The Coffee Shop menu offers freshly prepared food such as; scones, toasted tea cakes, sandwiches and Panini’s. Also, a large selection of desserts, tray bakes and fresh cream cakes.Seascale is a quaint coastal town in the Western Lake District; it is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of the Lake District. Stunning views and some of England’s finest scenery provide a backdrop to the wide choice of attractions and things to do in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bailey Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey Ground Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing