We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and one of the best views on the West coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calder House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calder House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Seascale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and one of the best views on the West coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have stayed here a few times on business and always had a good experience. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and well furnished. The food is very good (especially on Wednesdays, when they have a range of curries on offer) and the breakfast is nice, too. Try and get a room on the sea side of the hotel if you can, the views are lovely on a sunny day, especially at sunset. The only down points are the lack of mobile phone signal on most networks (that's West Cumbria for you!) and the limited TV channels (again, tha's.......), but there is free wifi and that seems to have improved of late and is now quite usable.

Room Tip: get a sea view if you can - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
47
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Had to add to the list of good reviews as this place thoroughly deserves it. A very well kept establishment thats friendly with a menu that changes nicely for the regular (business) traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms "over the road" are just as good and slightly newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here with a friend just at the weekend there, as we were down for a wedding which was just up the road. The rooms were nicely decorated and cosy. We were in a twin room and I had a sound nights sleep- the bed was extremely comfortable! The bathroom was clean with a shower which was nice and powerful!

At breakfast there was a good variety of food- you could either have a full English breakfast or continental breakfast, or even a mix and match of both. The restaurant had lovely sea views.

All of the staff were exceptionally friendly, particularly the lady who served us at breakfast.

I would highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsoapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in Calder House for one night on our way from the Lake District to Manchester. Overall, it is a great hotel and a truly perfect value for money. It is very coveniently located very close to the train station with a stunning sea view. We particularly loved the building - a former Victorian boarding school for girls. The restaurant anf the pub were great, too with nice locally sourced fish and local ales. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndriyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

A warm welcome on arrival, this is a lovely old Victorian building brought back to life by the hosts Steve and Andy. Accommodation was lovely and clean nice fresh towels and linen views were smashing. The food was as good as you will get anywhere, we ate in the bar every night which i may add was lovely and a great atmosphere.
The hosts were friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble, we shall definitely be going back there to stay.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms obviously have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Working in Cumbria...and having to find an overnight..this was available I was very pleased to have it. An old Victorian building with comfortable rooms, a very good choice of good home cooked food but make sure you order early as they do stop doing orders between 8-9pm.The bar is excellent and the mine hosts very friendly and welcoming.

The rooms all with the obligitory tea/coffee are either sea view or the very quiet road which incidently leads to Seascale Golf Club.

Not a lot to do in Seascale so spend the night in the hotel.

In the morning wake up looking over the Bay...and take a nice walk to the village for you papers...and have a full English brekkie...cant beat it..

The tariff was reasonable and was very please I stayed for 3 nights.

The mobile tele.reception is difficult I use orange but other networks may be better

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Originally from the Seascale area I know all the places to stay and non come as highly recommended as Calder house! I stayed at Calder House while visiting family and friends for the weekend with my wife and young baby. Steve and Andy cannont make you feel any more welcome than they do. I compliment them on a lovely, warm, friendly hotel they have developed. The rooms are second to non with so much attention paid to detail they are absolutely beautiful, comfortable and warm. With a great atmosphere in the restaurant and bar along with fantastic food being served, there is no more you can ask for.
I am a frequent traveller both for work and pleasure and have stayed in many hotels around the world, then arrive in Seascale to find one of the best hotels ive ever been in. Compliments to you both Steve and Andy, keep up the good work and see you next time i visit!.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calder House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calder House Hotel

Property: Calder House Hotel
Address: The Banks, Seascale CA20 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calder House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calder House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calder House Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing