We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Calder House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calder House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Seascale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here at the weekend, we arrived well past the check in time but were still welcomed and in time for a drink in the bar. Ate in the bar on Saturday night, the food was fantastic, breakfast both days we were there was lovely. The room was clean and spacious and very modern. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 12 on the top floor which was a nice size and had a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisefjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
47
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arrived to find hotel with scaffolding on outside and thought oh dear but couldn't have been more wrong. Hotel was lovely, having some maintenance done so they matched a rate we found online of £45 prpn inc breakfast. We had a newly refurbed room which was spotless. The rom had flat screen tv, large shower and bathroom and lovely frey white duvet covers, I was more than satisfied. We went down to the bar and had a nice drink, lots to choose from wih local ales etc. having eaten some fish and chips on the way down we didn't eat dinner bu the dinn room nd menu looked nice and I you are on a budget they do homemade pies and chips for £7.95 per head. Breakfast was also excellent choice o full english to order and whole host o other items inc yoghurts, cereals, cheese, toast, fruit, juices etc plus tea/coffee to order. The customer service at this hotel is actually some of the best I've experienced and I've traveled a lot staying at some large hotel chains that were no where near as good as the personal service here. The location is great for touring the lakes. 3 mins walk to th beach. No much in seascale but nice little town anyway. I would highly recommend this hotel which is well kept and really understand good hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room. Sea view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piebaldhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was in a very quiet location. The interior is full of antiques and the stircase is beautiful. The location is great and the view from thr back of the hotel is fantastic. We met the hosts and had a chat with them on our last night, they were great but its a shame we did not see them before. What can I say about the fodd. FANTASTIC. The food offered is fantastic, the breakfast on the Monday morning howeve was a bit chaotic, I had to order mine 5 times befor eth got it right, but other days it was a buffett breakfast.

Overall a fantastic stay, just wish we had a sea view and been advised of the scaffolding at the front and our view of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

stayed here the night before a coast to coast cycle ride. The staff in the hotel were very welcoming, organised a place for us to store our bikes and made special arrangements for us to have an early breakfast the following morning. We were in a room with a sea view and it was plenty big enough and very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate.
We also ate in the hotel in the evening and there was plenty of choice and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Linda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Immaculately clean, adorable room and glamorous bathroom, lovely breakfast, very welcoming staff, unbelievable view of the sea. We had a meal in the dining room which was nice - what more can I say? thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Was here for a function and weekend stay. Stayed in the annex which was beautifully decorated and good value. Food was lovely at function but was whipped away before we could get up for another helping.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caithnessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is a few minutes walk away from my parents-in-law to be (hence the reason we don't stay here!) and is one of their favourites, so we called on Saturday on the offchance they had a table free. They were happy to try and fit us in and sure enough, a table was ready when we arrived. The dining room overlooks the sea and is very traditional, with

A wedding was in full swing downstairs and the dining room was full, but the welcome from the hosts and the service was excellent, despite them being obviously extremely busy.

The menu has something for everyone, from fish and chips and steaks to pies and curries. There is a good specials board too, from which I chose tempura prawns as a starter. I then opted for the spicy lamb burger, which came with fries and coleslaw. My father in-law's steak looked thick and juicy and was cooked medium, as requested. My mother in law's chicken tikka masala also looked nice and my husband to be had cumberland sausage, egg and chips... one very happy bunny!

I had sorbet for pudding which was delicious and was assured that the ice cream was also gorgeous.

Very friendly service on a really busy night and good food give this restaurant five stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seascale
2.8 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bailey Ground Hotel
Bailey Ground Hotel
#5 of 11 in Seascale
107 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
3.6 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calder House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calder House Hotel

Property: Calder House Hotel
Address: The Banks, Seascale CA20 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Seascale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Calder House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Calder House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calder House Hotel Seascale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing