We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!! (and I stay on the road a LOT).”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!! (and I stay on the road a LOT).”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I am a travel agent for school groups. I have had perhaps 200 hotel nights in the last year, so I have a good basis for comparison. 11 were at the Cottages (the initial thought was three nights, but the location, setting, hospitality, internet, and value were perfect!). I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and hope to be back. Clean and well-kept. Everything you need, and touches that make it even better still. Animals just outside the door (this spring it was sheep, alpaca, chickens, a miniature horse--and we hear a donkey arrives soon). The wifi worked wonders for us. The ability to wash clothes saved us. Diane's hospitality was as good as it gets, if not better. The winter "low season" offer made it the best value in the area. The other places are motels and not even close to this level of warmth. Easy walk to Havelock North. Bike trails begin at the end of the road. I hate to give it such a good review--likely never to find space there again!!--but honesty rules. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: The most distant cottage is a bit at the far reaches of the wifi. Still works, but a bit spotty. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    28
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
117
53
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had a fantastic weekend in Havelock staying at Cottages on St Andrews. (made even better by the fact that I had won there competition for two nights accommodation). Great location to the Havelock Village and great cafes and restaurants near by. We cycled up the Tuki Tuki valley and the keen beens in our group climbed Te Mata Peak. Cottages on St Andrews is a lovely setting and Di and her team were very welcoming, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I spent a couple of days at the cottages. They are in a fantastic location close to 'The Village' (as it's known locally) of North Havelock. As I was a solo traveller, they put me up in the main house. It was such a welcome respite from my camper van! The facilities are top notch - I had the best shower I have had since I left the UK over three months ago. Everything was spotless and to a really high standard of quality.

I took the opportunity to look into one of the cottages and can report that they are every bit as lovely.

The grounds are great too - paddocks with a small number of sheep, cows and alpacas for 'petting'. And sitting out/ play areas plus swimming pool.

As for Di and John - they were the most welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them and I was so well looked after.

I cannot recommend the cottages enough. Ideal for visiting the whole Bay area from Hastings to Napier and beyond. Perfect for families or bigger groups taking over some or all of the cottages.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for two nights at The Studio and absolutely loved the place! The weather was typically good Bay weather and the accommodation was spotless and comfortable. Our Studio overlooked the Alpacas (Tom Dick and Harry) and was only yards from the main house. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, a bottle opener! Actually it was immaculately set up and the little touches like jams and butter made life so much easier. Our hosts Di and John were so welcoming and friendly we wanted to stay more than our 2 days. We shared some time with them and their friends and we were bowled over with the warmth and ease with which they shared their home. Thanks Di and John.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corky617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a supberb location and very comfortable when you are travelling with a family. My son was in heaven- a trampoline, swimming pool & swings. Thank you so very much. A very comfortable & relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed for four nights just after new year. Our family occupied two cottages. There were six adults and four children. We all had a wonderful time. The grandchildren just loved being able to swim and feed the animals and especially brush Max! Our Hawkes Bay family joined us for barbeques and swims as it was so hot. This is a very safe place for holidaying with children. The children actually never wanted to go anywhere else. The cottages were well equipped and very clean and comfortable. It was a magic time and we will be back in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna3143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed for three nights over the Christmas/New year period with Di and John and really enjoyed our stay. We were in the studio unit as there is only two of us, however we had our wee Maltese dog with us too. We were so delighted to find high quality accommodation that were truly welcoming of pets. Out unit had everything we needed in it and we enjoyed watching the animals and having a swim in the pool. Really friendly people who made it all so easy. Great location close to the beaches and wineries and plenty else right on the doorstep. Thanks for welcoming us into your cottages.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojozaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
12.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges

Property: Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Address: 14 St Andrews Road | 443 St Georges Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six private Cottages & a stunning 8 bedroom Lodge can accommodate up to 45 guests on 10 acres with petting farm animals adorning the paddocks and is surrounded by orchards. So much more than a motel yet just 1km from the Havelock North Village with it's vibrant boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is fully self contained and self catering. The 15m pool is heated to 28 degrees between Labour Weekend (Oct) and ANZAC Day (Apr) and there is an all weather tennis court. The perfect accommodation for couples, business travellers, family, wedding or sporting groups wanting to stay & play together in the beautiful Hawkes Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing