We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Certificate of Excellence
Martinborough, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Impossible to beat!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family stayed at the Cottages for two nights recently. We could not have picked a more perfect place to enjoy a couple of days holiday with out two pre-school aged children. The cottage was ideal for our small family with bedrooms at either end ensuring we all got a good nights sleep bridged with a great family living area looking directly out to the lovely rural view. Diane could not have been more generous with her time as she took our girls riding on her pony and donkey. The girls were in their element with all the animals and the little playground. We will stay here again when we are next in the Bay. It would be hard to beat and ticked all the boxes for us. Thank you Diane.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    28
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
117
53
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This is such a lovely spot. Fabulous cottages and Di and John are amazing hosts. Close to both Havelock and Hastings but far enough away for peace and quiet. Animals for the kids and the pool will be fantastic when it is finished. You can't go wrong here!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful quiet and peaceful three nights in our cottage on st andrews, with a beautiful rural view which included Costa the donkey, the Llamas and little lambs - so very much what the doctor ordered!! Di greeted us as we arrived, super friendly lady, ready with great advice about things to do in the beautiful Havelock village. The cottage was spotlessly clean, the kitchen was well equipped, bathroom just lovely and very comfortable furnishings in living room and bedroom - there was a bbq outside and we were able to spend a lovely evening sitting on the deck driinking a glass of wine as the sun went down. So relaxing, so enjoyable. Huge thanks to Di and John for providing such a beautiful venue for R+R.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

1 night before we were due to pick up our puppy we booked a cottage there was limited options available to take pets (we had just picked up our little puppy and it was to far to travel home in 1 hit (5 hours)
It was perfect for us gorgeous rural surroundings lovely 2 bedroom cottage everything you needed a home a way from home, greeted by the lovely Di you couldn't ask for more.
Turely worth a visit :-) Kelly Darryn Madi & Stella

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. 3 adults, a 4 year old, a baby and our pet schnoodle spent a very enjoyable week in a 2 bedroom cottage on this property. The location, close to both Hastings and Havelock, was perfect. The cottage was an ideal size for a stay of this length. The surroundings and the various animals on the property were a real bonus - and the owners were very helpful for all of our requirements. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us Brent and thank you for your review. Such a shame you were so busy working for the week you were here. We look forward to hosting you again when work brings you back to the Bay. I hope you find those cuff links soon!! Warmest regards, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I'm not sure I want too many other people to know about this fantastic little hideaway, it may ruin the availability for us in the future! We had a great stay and were able to bring our dogs with us, that is hugely important to us as they are our kids. Havelock North is a charming little village and the donkey is a real charmer, we will be back so long as there is a vacancy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Ha, ha - thanks for your lovely review Allan. Hopefully the 2 new cottages will always ensure there is a vacancy for you and your dogs!! Isn't Costa (the donkey) an absolute treasure. I don't believe we need to keep him fenced in at all as he's so happy to follow me wherever I go. He's such a charmer. We look forward to hosting you again some time in the future.
Warmest regards
Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a lovely place to stay. We had a lovely time even though the weather was grim.
Di told us about places of interest and a lovely place to eat. The cottage was very clean and comfortable.
Already planing our next visit next year.

Reg Julienne

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks for your review Julienne and we look forward to you coming back for your Aunt's birthday next year. Warmest regards to you both, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
12.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges

Property: Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Address: 14 St Andrews Road | 443 St Georges Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six private Cottages & a stunning 8 bedroom Lodge can accommodate up to 45 guests on 10 acres with petting farm animals adorning the paddocks and is surrounded by orchards. So much more than a motel yet just 1km from the Havelock North Village with it's vibrant boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is fully self contained and self catering. The 15m pool is heated to 28 degrees between Labour Weekend (Oct) and ANZAC Day (Apr) and there is an all weather tennis court. The perfect accommodation for couples, business travellers, family, wedding or sporting groups wanting to stay & play together in the beautiful Hawkes Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing