We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A nice quiet location between Hastings and Havelock North, family friendly with a pool. The alpacas are smashing!
Very comfortable bed, which is especially important to those of us with back problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    28
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
117
53
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Luckily a friend had told me that Havelock North would be a great place to base ourselves in Hawkes Bay. I found the Cottages through Tripadvisor recommendations and wasn't disappointed.
We were in a 2 bed family cottage (although think more bungalow/lodge than cottage). The room is spacious with master bed up one end and twin bed at the other end, divided by a lounge/dining area, kitchenette and bathroom.
The property is set on a little farm with animals and the best bit was a children's playground, literally opposite our cottage. You can sit on the doorstep or eat dinner on the picnic table while the kids enjoy the swings. There was also a pool but sadly the weather a bit too nippy for us to enjoy it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Nicola, it is very much appreciated. It's such a shame that you're not staying this week as our daily temperatures are up around the 26-28 degree mark. So much more comfortable for swimming in the pool. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the Bay and I look forward to following your travel blog. Warmest regards, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at cottage 1 ( we got a free upgrade , thank you Di ). Cottage 1 is very private as it is standalone opposite Di's house. It has a garden with lovely flowers. The kids loved the animals in the property . Feeding in the morning can be arranged with Di. Strawberry patch is just 10 mins walk away and you could pick fresh strawberries there . Convenient short drive to town and restaurants . The shower area however was a bit small and cramp and the kettle was a bit 'worn out' .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review and yes Cottage 1 is very spacious with it's 3 bedrooms, large lounge and full kitchen facilities. It's the preferred choice as a 'gathering' cottage when we have family groups staying together for a wedding or special family anniversary etc. Thanks again for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your upgrade. Warmest regards, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Fabulous stay with family where we enjoyed warm sunsets on the large deck right next to the donkey, alpaccas, pony, sheep (did I forgot anything in the paddock?!). And our neighbours had their adoreable dog which was fun. Very nicely finished room with 2 bedrooms, great beds very comfy and good kitchen and bathroom big shower may even fit wheelchair but there were steps to these units.

The pools good sized and shoulder deep on us adults so a bit of a surprise for the wee kids as had to supervise them constantly in that pool but there's a adjoined paddling one they can splash it if you trust them not to drop over the edge into the big pool. Could do with a few more sunloungers for the busy season rather than the couple I think - but we shared okay. Fantastic location if you have a car or don't mind walking a km to the Havelock Village. I would love to stay again. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Some are nearer the road than the others though heard no road noise at night at ours (number 4, 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZorroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we too are very pleased with the new pool and the large deck area around it. It will be lovely to extend the swimming season with the pool heated to 28 degrees. We too look forward to seeing you back at the Cottages anytime. Warmest regards, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Di and shown to a gorgeous new cottage. It was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed, the beds were amazing! The beautiful weather was made even more enjoyable poolside with lovely outdoor furniture to relax in with a nice glass of wine. We had a great big deck area off the cottage where we enjoyed a bbq and the last of the sunshine while the kids enjoyed feeding the animals which came right up to us. This had absolutely everything we could have wanted and was made extra enjoyable by the wonderful service from Di. The standards were set by cottages in St. Andrews, no accomodation on the rest of our trip could possibly match the stay here. I would recommend this to anyone travelling to the Hawke's Bay with or without children, but particularly with kids who were very well catered for.

Thanks so much for the hospitality, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonjMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your generous review and I'm pleased you so enjoyed staying in one of our new cottages. Everyone thought I was absolutely mad wanting to build the decks right out to the alpaca paddock fence railing. However the builders soon changed their minds when they saw all our guests interacting with the animals on a daily basis. You don't have to be an animal lover to enjoy sitting back in the sun, enjoying a wee tipple and watching their antics. Once again, thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you back in the Bay some time in the future. Warmest regards, Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family stayed at the Cottages for two nights recently. We could not have picked a more perfect place to enjoy a couple of days holiday with out two pre-school aged children. The cottage was ideal for our small family with bedrooms at either end ensuring we all got a good nights sleep bridged with a great family living area looking directly out to the lovely rural view. Diane could not have been more generous with her time as she took our girls riding on her pony and donkey. The girls were in their element with all the animals and the little playground. We will stay here again when we are next in the Bay. It would be hard to beat and ticked all the boxes for us. Thank you Diane.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This is such a lovely spot. Fabulous cottages and Di and John are amazing hosts. Close to both Havelock and Hastings but far enough away for peace and quiet. Animals for the kids and the pool will be fantastic when it is finished. You can't go wrong here!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
12.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges

Property: Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Address: 14 St Andrews Road | 443 St Georges Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six private Cottages & a stunning 8 bedroom Lodge can accommodate up to 45 guests on 10 acres with petting farm animals adorning the paddocks and is surrounded by orchards. So much more than a motel yet just 1km from the Havelock North Village with it's vibrant boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is fully self contained and self catering. The 15m pool is heated to 28 degrees between Labour Weekend (Oct) and ANZAC Day (Apr) and there is an all weather tennis court. The perfect accommodation for couples, business travellers, family, wedding or sporting groups wanting to stay & play together in the beautiful Hawkes Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing