We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rural setting, clean and attractive cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely rural setting, clean and attractive cottages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Going to bed with alpacas, sheep, ponies and a donkey right next to you is a nice feeling and the animals are friendly enough for a pat as well which takes away the stress of traveling. We got lost mainly because the road sign is non existent but that was our only gripe. The hosts are nice, the studio room quite large and fully functional if you want to cook for yourselves ( you have your own BBQ outside the door as well), the bed is comfy and the bathroom spotless with a beautiful shower. Everything is clean and they have a rule of no shoes inside which suits us as its our rule at home too. Proximity to restaurants etc in Havelock North is close, and this would be a great place for kids to come to as theres a pool plus a playground as well. For something a bit different would highly recommend it. But please, please, can we have Sky Sport on the otherwise fairly extensive Channel availabilities? Like most kiwis I love my sport, as does my wife. That would seem to me to be a vital decision to make when planning an accommodation business in the heart of NZ.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
51
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After winning Cottages on St Andrews name the Donkey competition it was great to finally meet Costa! This really is a great place to stay & relax, Di & John are great hoists and make you feel at home. The place has changed a bit since our last visit, the new cottages & swimming pool area are great! Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Would love to try the new cottages that look straight into the paddocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

WE HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME. Start to finish the cottages delivered everything we needed this weekend. Sunny, safe, warm, pretty homes on a great setting for kids (who loved the alpacas, pool and playground best of all). The proximity to havelock and the easy bike c trails, fab shopping and restaurants. It simply could not have been better. Oh did I mention the hosts? So kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Sinead and we're so pleased you enjoyed your Easter Weekend with us. We look forward to hosting you and your family again. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived pretty late on Friday evening. Flying into Napier, hiring a car and driving to Havelock North in the dark. Thank you Tomtom... Diane was there to geet us, and make sure we were comfortable and warm. After a wonderful sleep ina beatiful bed with cotton sheets, we awoke to find sheep, alpacas, a Shetland pony and a donkey, all quietly grazing on the new green grass right out front. We found breakfast cereals, milk, orange juice, coffee/tea, bread and butter, yoghurt etc all there on shelves and in the fridge. Brand new condition cooking equipment, all super clean and easy to operate. The bathroom is just amazing, heated towel rail, lights with extractor fans and heat globes all working well. The shower and floor providing a non slip surface, no matter how much water was spilled, and we got pretty wet. The lounge room, complete with wall fixed TV, viewable from the main bedroom, and stereo system were first rate. The Swiss blinds complemented the decor, and were easy to operate. We stayed 4 nights, and could have easily stayed for 2 weeks, just drinking in the perfect position, and serenity. We can confidently recommend this establishment to all. There is a pool, and play gym for kids too, and of course the benefits of animals for their enjoyment. We shall return.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 position was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Wow, thanks for the extensive review Vicky!!! I'm so happy we were able to give you a free upgrade to the new Cottage due to your 4 night stay. We so look forward to hosting you both again when you cross the Tasman to come back and visit your family in the Bay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Comfortable, clean accommodation, great location, friendly and efficient owner and fun collection of animals all contributed to a happily memorable stay, despite constant rain. Even during a lightning-caused power cut, Di was at hand offering light, water and food and anything else we wanted! Must be the perfect place for young families on a summer's day with the pool and play area. Just as perfect for anyone wanting a quiet place yet within walking distance to local amenities. We highly recommend these cottages!

Room Tip: cottages 4 and 5 look directly on to the meadow with the alpacas in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for your kind review Jenny. After the constant rain and power outage, you would not believe the fantastic weather we have experienced since your stay. We had the most amazing Easter & Anzac weekend and the pool is still being used everyday by families staying here for the school holidays. Hopefully you can experience fun in the sun during your next visit to the Bay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Always a warm, hospitable, enthusiastic welcome and such a pleasure to stay here. Even with our 2 dogs! It's quiet and relaxing and very well set-up as self sufficient accommodation with options for breakfast service.

Room Tip: Self-explanatory and clear on the website...book what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for your review Rosie. You and your gorgeous dogs are welcome here anytime as your dogs are so well behaved and you left the cottage in a perfect condition!! We look forward to hosting you next time you're back in the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a great time here. Perfect for families with kids. Would definitely stay again. Very friendly and relaxing place to spend time. The pool is fantastic. We ended up spending a lot of time here rather than out and about as it was so fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottages0nStAndrews, Owner at Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for your review Cathy. I had to laugh as another mother complained over Easter that she couldn't get her kids off the property to go and explore the Bay as they just wanted to stay here, swim in the pool and play with their new friends they met in the playground...... I'm glad our guests feel this way. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
12.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges

Property: Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Address: 14 St Andrews Road | 443 St Georges Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six private Cottages & a stunning 8 bedroom Lodge can accommodate up to 45 guests on 10 acres with petting farm animals adorning the paddocks and is surrounded by orchards. So much more than a motel yet just 1km from the Havelock North Village with it's vibrant boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is fully self contained and self catering. The 15m pool is heated to 28 degrees between Labour Weekend (Oct) and ANZAC Day (Apr) and there is an all weather tennis court. The perfect accommodation for couples, business travellers, family, wedding or sporting groups wanting to stay & play together in the beautiful Hawkes Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing