We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous B&B in an idyllc spot - Havelock North, the jewel of Hawkes Bay”
Review of Havelock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Havelock House
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous B&B in an idyllc spot - Havelock North, the jewel of Hawkes Bay”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We found this B&B to be 'a home away from home'. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing, seeing friends and family etc. Jeff and Diana were the perfect hosts; there when you need them and going the extra mile but at the same time, providing you with the utmost privacy to unwind in your own space. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending Havelock House, whether you are visiting as a couple or a family. I'm looking forward to returning when next in the Bay! Many thanks Diana and Jeff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AField33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cofresi, DR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Havelock House during our recent trip to New Zealand in January 2011. The house and property were stunning!! We had a huge bedroom with very large private bath, and use of an absolutely gorgeous piece of property with pool. Diana our hostess was kind enough to let me use her washer and clothesline free of charge which was very helpful on our long road trip. Breakfasts were made to order and delicious with farm fresh eggs from their own chickens. Diana was very helpful with things to do and helped us discover things we had never thought of doing. Our stay at Havelock House was truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casicielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had an enormous bedroom and bathroom, opening onto the garden, beautiful and comfortable. Tea served on our arrival, and fantastic breakfast.
Enjoyed the swimming pool and the gardens.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and were sorry to leave. Diana and Geoff are great hosts and made excellent recommendations to us of where to visit and eat. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Hawkes Bay area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePFelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Very welcoming and relaxing B&B. Diana was very accommodating during our stay, as well as offering up many ideas on things to do and see in the area. The location is off a main road, but very quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmatracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay here; we are really pleased you enjoyed it.
one small point - we are not on a main street - the entrance to Havelock House is on Endsleigh Drive - a quiet no through road; the house is set back with a wide sweeping driveway. We also have a large garden, swimming pool and tennis court and grounds of 4 acres - so plenty of space to relax!
It is a lovely location for a stay in Hawke's Bay - and quiet as you say - so thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2011

A great B&B in a delightful setting with lovely hosts. Knowing it was our honeymoon the hosts kindly upgraded our room to an incredibly spacious room with spa bath and shower. We enjoyed using the pool and garden seemed very pretty too. The breakfast was great, particularly the homemade banana muffin. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My wife and I were looking for an overnight stay whilst visiting Hawke's Bay. After searching the net we settled on Havelock House. The house itself is very impressive and so was the accommodation. The room we occupied was very roomy with a King Size Bed and very well appointed. The bathroom was en-suite and included a Spa Bath and shower. We were very impressed with the room. Unfortunately due to the weather we could not enjoy the gardens, but it did not take much imagination to realise what a stay would be like with a sunny Hawke's Bay day.

Our Breakfast was served in a delightful room overlooking the garden. The breakfast itself was all you could want, with cereals, fresh fruit and for me bacon and eggs.
Add to this congenial hosts and what more could you want. A real find and a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmp236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
1.8 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
14.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock House

Property: Havelock House
Address: 77 Endsleigh Road | ( entrance on Endsleigh Drive), Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Havelock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock House B&B Havelock North,close Birdwoods,Black Barn,Te Mata Peak,Pipi,Craggy Range wineries & Cape Kidnappers golf - discount available for staying guests please enquire, cycle + bike hire, Hawke's Bay NZ luxury bed and breakfast spacious en-suite bedrooms , FREE WiFi, large guest lounge, swimming pool, tennis court,plenty of free parking by the house, quiet location 20 mins. Art Deco Napier, great breakfasts, warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Havelock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing