We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gateway to Hawke's Bay”
Review of Havelock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Havelock House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great gateway to Hawke's Bay”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have stayed for 1 night at the end of July. Everything was just spotless, the room and bed was very comfortable, as we have visited in the winter the room had a heater, make sure to turn it on as it could get cold in the winter.

Great hosts and one of the best breakfasts we had ever had! The recommendation for dinner and farmer's market were right on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay with our 2 daughters age 8 and 5. The girls loved swimming in the pool and playing on the tennis court. We were very warmly welcomed, given lots of helpful advice on places to visit (recommend the tractor ride to Cape Kidnappers) and we enjoyed delicious breakfasts every day. Thank you - a great place to stay on our first visit to Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonBlackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Our three priorities are: beautiful surroundings, quiet and privacy, and comfort. Havelock House met all of these to the highest degree. Our room had its own sitting area, looking out over a lovely garden. The whole room was comfortable (with special mention for the bed). Access to a guest kitchen meant that we could cater a simple meal for dinner, instead of eating out. And the hosts did everything they could to enhance our stay. Even a bag of spare satsumas from their tree to take with us, as we left! We had a lovely three days.

Room Tip: The largest of the three rooms is the most expensive, but definitely the best. It's big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We went to Hawke's Bay during our honeymoon in New Zealand and stayed in Havelock North, just a short distance from Napier. Havelock House is a beautiful country-house style Bed & Breakfast in a quiet spot outside the small town. We were very impressed with everything about it - great breakfasts, lovely room with big double bed. The couple who run it were very welcoming and gave us plenty of advice about the area and even booked us onto a local vineyard tour, during which i had far too much Pinot Noir! We couldn't ask for more and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_the_Yorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

A wonderful bed & breakfast in a peaceful and idyllic setting. The service was excellent, breakfast was wonderful and the open fire in our room added to the cosy, relaxed atmosphere. I'd highly recommend staying at Havelock House to anyone visiting Havelock North.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We found this B&B to be 'a home away from home'. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing, seeing friends and family etc. Jeff and Diana were the perfect hosts; there when you need them and going the extra mile but at the same time, providing you with the utmost privacy to unwind in your own space. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending Havelock House, whether you are visiting as a couple or a family. I'm looking forward to returning when next in the Bay! Many thanks Diana and Jeff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AField33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cofresi, DR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Havelock House during our recent trip to New Zealand in January 2011. The house and property were stunning!! We had a huge bedroom with very large private bath, and use of an absolutely gorgeous piece of property with pool. Diana our hostess was kind enough to let me use her washer and clothesline free of charge which was very helpful on our long road trip. Breakfasts were made to order and delicious with farm fresh eggs from their own chickens. Diana was very helpful with things to do and helped us discover things we had never thought of doing. Our stay at Havelock House was truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casicielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
1.8 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
50 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
243 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock House

Property: Havelock House
Address: 77 Endsleigh Road | ( entrance on Endsleigh Drive), Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Havelock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock House B&B Havelock North,close Birdwoods,Black Barn,Te Mata Peak,Pipi,Craggy Range wineries & Cape Kidnappers golf - discount available for staying guests please enquire, cycle + bike hire, Hawke's Bay NZ luxury bed and breakfast spacious en-suite bedrooms , FREE WiFi, large guest lounge, swimming pool, tennis court,plenty of free parking by the house, quiet location 20 mins. Art Deco Napier, great breakfasts, warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Havelock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing