We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD MANAGER!!!!”

Wine Country Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Lodge
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were in beautiful Havelock North for a wedding. The wedding had booked out around 20 rooms at this lodge. We were greeted by a lovely lady at the front desk which was nice. We entered and the room was good, tidy and modern. We enjoyed a swim in the pool that afternoon.
It was at that stage where we then met the MANAGER!!!. An obnoxious, angry, rude, GRUMPY man. We would kindly say hello and he wouldn't even smile, he would just grunt and look away.
This is terrible customer services, We tried to avoid him the whole time as it was like he was just walking around looking to tell people off. Never a "hows your stay going" or a "how was your weekend" when we checked out.
Such a shame - this is a really nice motel and if the manager was as friendly as the lady who greeted us this review would have 5 stars. This guy is asking for bad reviews so here it is....
Would never stay there again because of him.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Sign on our pool gate says " Please no food or glass to be taken into pool area".
My husband asked if this group would please take their bottles and glasses of alcohol out of the pool area only to be laughed at and confronted with argument. We are all for people having a good time, but there are reasons behind us asking people to do things they don't want to do.
If one of their children had been cut by broken glass in the pool we would be terrible managers!
If the pool was empty on the weekend they came to stay, because we had to empty it to get the glass out - we would be terrible managers. Sometimes people think we have rules or say things just to upset them, especially when they have been drinking!!! Our aim is to please ALL our guests. By the way I heard my husband ask many of your group how the wedding went. He may not have asked you personally. Maybe your group could consider that all of the probelems you had with us (except not asking if you enjoyed yourself) happened when alcohol was involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

We arrived to attend a very special Wedding with all family and friends. On arrival the lady at the Counter was good. I think if we had all locked ourselves in each of our units and only whispered then it would of been ok! Yes we did get rather excited as we are a loud family and we do all talk at once! we had total respect for each unit and did find them really nice to stay in. However once we all met Hitler well! please really think before booking here if you want to have a lovely time because you will be disappointed with his attitude very very rude!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

I am afraid it is the same old story. When you have to ask (twice), grown adults with more than a few drinks in them to please be quiet and consider other guests at 3 o'clock in the morning, they think we are grumpy and rude. My husband probably was, as we had had phone calls from other guests complaining to us. Along with the 3 complaints above we have 5 other groups who will never come back because of the behaviour of these wedding guests! I wonder when guest advisor comes online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Management appallingly rude to deal with. Booked 24 hours before arrival. Medical emergency necessitated cancellation. Charged in full for the stay even though credit card authority had been revoked. Managers refusal to refund money has left an extremely black mark against this establishment. Told by management it was easy money for them and there was never any chance of a refund, cancellation terms were not explained at all at the time of booking and were emailed after credit card details were acquired, stating cancellation had to be given 48 hours before intended arrival. I was warned about this place and now I know why. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

This traveller cancelled at 2.30pm on day of arrival - giving us absolutely no advance notice.
She was told we would actively market the room and would charge a cancellation fee only if it remained unsold. She does little credit to her legal profession by failing to acknowledge and accept the standard cancellation practices used by the accommodation industry and even less so by lying about the treatment she has supposedly received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Quick friendly check-in. Very few other guests on the two nights we stayed which was great for us, very quiet. Comfortable clean studio room, extremely comfortable bed so had two really good sleeps. Enjoyed our visit here and will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saracgisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked this motel as the Grooms parents where staying and they are close friends so wanted to stay with them.
Told by a grumpy manager had to stay 2 nights wouldnt take a booking for 1. Told us also that all of the motels in the area did the same thing as weddings were a good source of income for them-what rubbish! there where many motels that had vacancys only a short distance away. Very rude on arrival, couldnt get off his backside to greet us . I was on crutches and no enquiry on how we were managing etc. just take the $ thats all. There were 4 units booked in our small group and several others for other wedding guests. They ended up with vacanies on the Sat and they couldve been filledf as my daughter wouldve come for 1 night. Its not 4 or 5 star its only 2* motel units where Ok however the bed was small. now where to hang anything in the bathroom. I could go on very dissapointed in this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The bathroom smelt so bad from vomit (presumably from the previous occupants) that we didn't use the spa bath and had to keep the bathroom door closed to contain the smell. We let the person on duty know and she claimed that her and the cleaner "couldn't smell anything". It was quite obvious that they already knew of the problem and hadn't fixed it - something to do with the plumbing. On checking out the staff were also very rude regarding our bill - we had 4 people one night and 5 people for the second - but they made us pay for 5 people both nights. Also apart from the bathroom being cleaned (which we asked for) the rooms were not serviced before our second night - they didn't even bother to make the beds which we thought was pretty slack.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were lucky to get a room in the hotel as it was Wellington Anniversary weekend and we were told that they would not usually book a room for just one night. As it was a really hot day, we were surprised that the rooms were not air conditioned, nor did they contain a fan, which made them very stuffy to stay in. We were there with our 3 month old daughter who they said they wouldn't charge us extra for as she is so tiny - she sleeps in her pram and was not taking up a bed. There was lots of traffic noise as the hotel is off a main road. Every encounter with the staff was mildly unpleasant as they were really grumpy (we had been warned about this previously). Overall we think you would get better value and a warmer welcome elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away for the main road - Te Mata Road. It is noisy on the Te Mata Road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
1.6 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
56 reviews
3.7 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Te Mata & Arataki Roads | Hawkes Bay, Havelock North 4021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Country Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing