We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - would stay again.”

Wine Country Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Lodge
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Lovely little motel just out of Havelock North. Very clean and tastefully decorated. Excellent value for the rate we paid and well located near Te Mata Peak access road. We didn't have a spa bath in our room but they are available. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trubador77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here as a family of 4 in a one bedroom unit. Overall it was ok, few things that need to be addressed namely cleaning of the rooms needs to be more comprehensive (such as vacuuming every day), parking can be an issue if the place is full, for the money paid air-con would be welcomed. Pool was great, suggest an umbrella or two within the fence for shade.

Management was businesslike and obliged with any request.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thanks for your comments we apprecciate the feedback. We will make sure our new staff don't forget to vacuum. Air conditioning is something we are working toward at present. The umbrella in the pool area is an excellent idea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We recently stayed at Wine Country Motor Lodge and had a lovely weekend away.We were however woken by an unruley group of guests around 3am in the morning.We heard the management asking them to please be quiet for the sake of other guests in the complex trying to sleep,their replys very extremely rude.We later found out they had been to a wedding at a Vineyard near by...?Thank you for your help with discovering the area of lovely Havelock North Mary and Lee and we will be back to stay.The units were faultlessly clean and the staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Units 20 and 21 are a lovely 1 bedroom unit ,downstairs,seperate lounge area.Lounge area at front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

No complaints about the rooms but the manager of this motel needs to work on his customer service, his aggressive, rude manner is absolutely disgusting. We would never stay here again because of this. Such a shame because the lady who checked us in was lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

See previous 2 replies to your group. I was not so nice to my husband when along with other guests I was woken up at 1.30am and kept awake till 3am! We had to apologise to to other guests as they tore strips of us in the morning. If we were appalling it was to them, not your group. Your group should get real and stop blaming other people for unruly, rude and inconsiderate behaviour all fuelled by alcohol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were in beautiful Havelock North for a wedding. The wedding had booked out around 20 rooms at this lodge. We were greeted by a lovely lady at the front desk which was nice. We entered and the room was good, tidy and modern. We enjoyed a swim in the pool that afternoon.
It was at that stage where we then met the MANAGER!!!. An obnoxious, angry, rude, GRUMPY man. We would kindly say hello and he wouldn't even smile, he would just grunt and look away.
This is terrible customer services, We tried to avoid him the whole time as it was like he was just walking around looking to tell people off. Never a "hows your stay going" or a "how was your weekend" when we checked out.
Such a shame - this is a really nice motel and if the manager was as friendly as the lady who greeted us this review would have 5 stars. This guy is asking for bad reviews so here it is....
Would never stay there again because of him.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Sign on our pool gate says " Please no food or glass to be taken into pool area".
My husband asked if this group would please take their bottles and glasses of alcohol out of the pool area only to be laughed at and confronted with argument. We are all for people having a good time, but there are reasons behind us asking people to do things they don't want to do.
If one of their children had been cut by broken glass in the pool we would be terrible managers!
If the pool was empty on the weekend they came to stay, because we had to empty it to get the glass out - we would be terrible managers. Sometimes people think we have rules or say things just to upset them, especially when they have been drinking!!! Our aim is to please ALL our guests. By the way I heard my husband ask many of your group how the wedding went. He may not have asked you personally. Maybe your group could consider that all of the probelems you had with us (except not asking if you enjoyed yourself) happened when alcohol was involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We arrived to attend a very special Wedding with all family and friends. On arrival the lady at the Counter was good. I think if we had all locked ourselves in each of our units and only whispered then it would of been ok! Yes we did get rather excited as we are a loud family and we do all talk at once! we had total respect for each unit and did find them really nice to stay in. However once we all met Hitler well! please really think before booking here if you want to have a lovely time because you will be disappointed with his attitude very very rude!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

I am afraid it is the same old story. When you have to ask (twice), grown adults with more than a few drinks in them to please be quiet and consider other guests at 3 o'clock in the morning, they think we are grumpy and rude. My husband probably was, as we had had phone calls from other guests complaining to us. Along with the 3 complaints above we have 5 other groups who will never come back because of the behaviour of these wedding guests! I wonder when guest advisor comes online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Management appallingly rude to deal with. Booked 24 hours before arrival. Medical emergency necessitated cancellation. Charged in full for the stay even though credit card authority had been revoked. Managers refusal to refund money has left an extremely black mark against this establishment. Told by management it was easy money for them and there was never any chance of a refund, cancellation terms were not explained at all at the time of booking and were emailed after credit card details were acquired, stating cancellation had to be given 48 hours before intended arrival. I was warned about this place and now I know why. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havey1, Manager at Wine Country Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

This traveller cancelled at 2.30pm on day of arrival - giving us absolutely no advance notice.
She was told we would actively market the room and would charge a cancellation fee only if it remained unsold. She does little credit to her legal profession by failing to acknowledge and accept the standard cancellation practices used by the accommodation industry and even less so by lying about the treatment she has supposedly received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
1.4 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
67 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Te Mata & Arataki Roads | Hawkes Bay, Havelock North 4021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Country Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing