We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just need to step up the "friendly service" aspect.”

Wine Country Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Lodge
Reviewed 7 October 2013

So much difference can be made if there is a positive start to a stay - it's why the industry is called "Hospitality". My brief stay didn't get off to a great start with a slightly unfriendly welcome at reception - but the room was spacious and comfortable, good desk space for anyone wanting to do some work and it's nice and quiet. Decor is basic motel with simple amenities so the "lodge" aspect is a little overstated. However it is priced at motel rates so you get what you are paying for.

The location has easy access to local wineries but is a little way out of town and not close to any restaurants. Havelock North however is not big, so as long as you have a car you can drop into town in 5 mins - and I can recommend the breakfast at Bay Espresso in The Village!

A couple of reviews mention the not-so-friendly side of the management. I think they try to be helpful but place house rules above the need to be friendly. It does get things off to a difficult start.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Visitors to New Zealand - please don't stay here. You won't end up with a good impression of Kiwi hospitality! We checked in with a grumpy lady on the front desk - we both walked in with smiles and said hello and there was barely a grunt back. We arrived around 1.30pm and were told that check in was supposed to be after 2pm. We're only talking 30 minutes - and actually the motel was empty! So it wasn't that there was an issue - it's a case of the front reception just not being very accommodating or wanting to help. She did give us access however.

We booked the motel as it advertised free wifi. We were given our little slip of paper giving us a limited data access using the Zenbu wifi system. We asked if it would work for both our PCs. Very grudgingly the lady at reception handed over a second slip of paper providing another access code. I am writing this using my husband's access as mine ran out after an hour online! So disregard the offer of free wifi at this hotel - it's free but for a very limited time!

We walked out of Reception and I felt like driving out and finding another place but the accommodation was pre-paid. Our motel room (don't be fooled by the name Wine Country Motor Lodge) was a reasonable size and lwas clean and tidy enough. However the bed is one of those foamy bouncy numbers so if you want a decent bed this isn't the best place! Housekeeping obviously isn't paying much attention (or they're running this place on the cheap) because the tissue box had a tissue nicely displayed in the top of the box - but it was the one and only tissue in the box!

So if you need a motel and you find the price at Wine Country Motel reasonable, (and if you're not worried about grumpy inhospitable reception people, a soft bed and limited internet access), then you'll find the the room and facilities are basic but fine.

I have just read other Trip Advisor reviews of this motel and there are plenty that talk about a grumpy man at Reception - so I'm guessing we must have encountered his wife..a perfect match it seems! My advice to them is sell the motel to people who actually understand they're in the hospitality business and who actually like people!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here - there are better options I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is a great location to center yourself in one of the best wine country locations in New Zealand. The units are very comfortable and no road noise make for a pleasant and quite stay. If you manage to find yourself in the Hawkes Bay with fine weather then the pool is a great place to cool down.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treelessgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have stayed numerous times at the Wine Country Motor Lodge whilst on business in the Hawkes Bay over the previous 12 months.
On every occasion the room has been presented in a clean and tidy state. The price is very economical and the facilities suit my needs.
During this time there has been the odd thing where a little maintenance would be good, like a blown bulb, however, I have neglected to advise management of this. Therefore if you don't tell them they can't fix it.

The wifi is adequate, enough tv channels and is situated close to restaurants and vineyards.

Personally I have found their management to be helpful and friendly hence my return visits.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Although this is a relatively tired motel without any means of cooling the rooms in the height of summer, it is cheap.
The manager has a confrontational style which left my wife in tears. He seems unable to be flexible beyond "the rules" and became very upset when my wife asked about our son staying for the final night (he had been at a cricket camp). This was likely because he was still fuming following a local Havelock friend and his three kids coming for a swim in the motel pool on the first day (he did admit that they hadn't had any complaints from other guests and the pool wasn't being used at the time).

We would advise against staying here if there are any other options available (and there are!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We've stay at Wine Country four times now, as we find it a little quieter than the ones right in the village. Its clean and tidy, provides a daily newspaper, daily room servicing, and the staff are always willing and helpful. The Manager even booked a game of golf at Cape Kidnappers in advance for us last time and we think we were given a discount as it was booked through the Motel. The pool is a major attraction for this motel as its kept pristinely clean, they have loungers and chairs to relax in as well as a shaded area where you can bbq.. Great for families as you have entertainment with the pool at the complex without having to venture out at all. Close to all the vineyards too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Lovely little motel just out of Havelock North. Very clean and tastefully decorated. Excellent value for the rate we paid and well located near Te Mata Peak access road. We didn't have a spa bath in our room but they are available. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trubador77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
1.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cumberland Court Motel
Cumberland Court Motel
#9 of 18 in Hastings
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
250 reviews
2.5 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Te Mata & Arataki Roads | Hawkes Bay, Havelock North 4021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range: £75 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Country Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing