We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Such a warm welcome....”
Review of St Andrews Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Andrews Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Such a warm welcome....”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a find! A stunningly warm and welcoming property, in a fantastic position, almost surrounded by orchards and a stream. John and Hank have created a little bit of paradise. The fact we didn't need to wear anything was a big added bonus. We were completely free to enjoy the sunshine and explore the area when we eventually donned our clothes!

Enjoyed BBQing in the evenings and chatting with the other guests, and the kitchen and lounge areas were very well equipped.

Our hosts could not have been more helpful, showing us round the towns, and pointing out then best architectural features of the stunning buildings in Napier and Hastings.

Both of us feel very happy to recommend this lovely quiet gay place.

Room Tip: The King and Queen rooms are very nice and comfortable. Great wi-fi, and a lack of televisions, blis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
106
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

What to say about a second visit to the perfect vacation spot? Can perfection be improved? Well it seems it can!

My partner and I booked the same King room for our 4 night stay. The four man hot tub has been replaced by a seven man spa pool complete with rainbow coloured fountains and in-pool lighting. The area surrounding this has been cleverly remodelled for access from the lodge. The garden is as beautiful as before though at this time of year there are water lilies, and native kingfishers darting around the petite lake (it seems somewhat harsh to call it a pond!). Breakfast was as delicious as on our first visit and would be difficult to improve upon. It is way beyond what we experienced at the 4 star plus hotel we visited last week, in terms of quality, flavours, presentation and indeed quantity. I guess this must make it 5 star accommodation of its type!

John and Hank are exceptional hosts, with Hank gliding swan-like from one job to another, while I swear John possesses the superpower to be in two places at once - if not six – and always with a cheeky grin! It’s probably why he is so fit! I was again impressed how the layout of the various spaces facilitates friendly interactions between visitors from all over the world. John and Hank excel at helping initial barriers of shyness dissolve when new folks arrive. There are few places in the world where I have felt so completely comfortable saying genuinely fond farewells to people, who even in such a brief time felt more like friends than fellow guests. As before I felt a little sad to leave this special space. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good it just depends if you want King, Queen, Twin, Single or bunk rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hank and John were our most interesting and helpful hosts the two short nights we stayed at their tranquil resort. The lovely, industrial style architecture, was warm, elegant and nicely appointed. Our hosts had just installed a new hot tub which was divine. After a rather long drive, it was great to soak in this great tub. I think we were the first guests to use it. The guys, busy preparing for the summer season and with holiday festivities, still found time to build us a fire in the outdoor fireplace and visit with us. We discovered we knew a couple of their prior guests from the Seattle area. In the center of the complex is a huge gathering hall where you can relax, play the piano and admire the gardens. Here is also where they prepared a hearty continental breakfast with a variety of choices and fresh baked breads. Perhaps the highlight of this special place were the 12 acres of extensive gardens, surrounded by orchards and vineyards. We highly recommend this special place to all our “family” traveling this way. Roger & Lenny stayed at the Ngatahi Lodge Dec. 3rd & 4th, 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straitpenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A wonderful place to stay, the garden is amazing. Peaceful , quiet, and friendly, helpful hosts. A great place to relax and close to great wineries. I wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We are staying here right now and have to agree with the other reviews that I have read. The lodge is beautiful and set in a stunning garden. Our room is spotless, comfortable and quiet. The hosts are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The friendly atmosphere makes it a great place to meet interesting people from all over. The region is well worth the visit ... 4 days is not enough! We'll have to come back again, and will certainly chose Ngatahi Lodge when we do!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLGS_GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed here with a mate. Loved the setting and garden. The facilities are very clean, lounge is just wonderful. Host are attentive and caring.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buitenpost
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Some places a difficult to describe. This is one. Just go there. Our plan was 2 nights but stayed 16, also during the 3 days nude gathering. It was a feast. Henk and John thanks.
We hope to be there again next year. Hans and Bart from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansbartBuitenpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
50 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
79 reviews
3.6 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Havelock House
Havelock House
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Escape

Property: St Andrews Escape
Address: 172 St Andrews Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand (Formerly Ngatahi Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Andrews Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Andrews Escape is set in a large country garden embraced by the Karamu Stream. Quality Bed and Breakfast rooms and a large guest lounge surround the courtyard, plus there is a self contained Cottage. Bikes and kayaks available for guest use. We are a short drive from the Art Deco cities of Napier and Hastings and only minutes from charming Havelock North village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Andrews Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing