We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a little dated”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location but a little dated”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting family. Great location, easy walk into village. Decor of rooms was a little dated. Was quite cold. We stayed in July and only heating was a noisy fan heater built into the wall. Heated the room ok but was so noisy we had to turn it off to sleep. There were no extra blankets provided and the one on the bed was pretty thin so was a cold night. Great layout though with the 2 bed unit having two singles in the separate bedroom and the king in the lounge. Great for those travelling with kids as can put the kids to bed and not worry about waking them with TV etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
29
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Te Mata Lodge whilst attending a conference. Glen, the host, could not have been more helpful. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was clean, but the little touches were what I appreciated most. There was a flannel in the bathroom marked "make up" and packaged make up remover wipes. A nice touch, encouraging the ladies to take their make up off at night instead of marking the pillows. There was plunger coffee and everything was done to make our stay enjoyable. Very comfortable bed, most important when away from home.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor half way along on the right. Parking was right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitchenlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Basically, the room was cold and the Hearer provided was no use. Obviously it's gets chilly in the middle if winter, but warming the room is essential.

Prob won't stay here again.

THat said, a decent location, good shower, and comfy bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our second stay in this motel and it didn't disappoint. We shared a two bedroom suite with friends. Very quiet - no road noise. The location is great - just a short walk into the shops in Havelock North - can walk to New World and there's even a liquor wholesaler across the road. Suite was very clean and spacious. New modern large bathroom with spa bath. Appreciated SKY TV with the sports channels. Only disappointment was that the advertising says "full kitchen", so I expected a stove; however only a microwave, electric frypan and two hobs. I believe that's more a "kitchenette". Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again. Very helpful manager who made his garage available to house our bikes overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing on to reserve away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Young50chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimarama, null, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My family and I stay here regularly on time out in HNth
Managers are friendly and very obliging Motel itself very clean, tidy and value for money
They automatically give us the suite we so love backing onto the park with no road noise
A wonderful value for money clean and well located premise
We will return over and over as they make us feel so very welcome
Faultless!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodforfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This motel is easy walking distance to all the restaurants & shops of Havelock North. The owner is helpful & friendly. Our room was big with a spa bath, separate bathroom with shower. Ideal for self-catering with a microwave and hob. Sky TV with all 3 sports channels (important for me at the cross-over time between cricket & rugby!)
Good value at $145/night; we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have stayed in Hawke's Bay a few times, and Havelock North is the perfect base to explore the Napier/Hastings/Havelock North area. This place in Havelock North is fabulous - it is very clean and tidy, and the host and staff will go out of their way to make sure that you have all the information you need to have a great time. Once again, Glenn outdid himself as the perfect host.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravel747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
51 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
42 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Property: Te Mata Lodge
Address: 21 Porter Drive, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Mata Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing