We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have stayed here several times and we will be back again

Good value, very comfortable and the spa bath is very welcome after a long day

The air conditioning is very welcome in the Hawkes Bay heat and the location is very good

Room Tip: The air conditioned rooms are a must in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stegeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay, the wow factor being your own spa pool. We ended up staying 2 nights in the end. Glenn is a superb host let us keep our bikes in his garage and even helped us phone the UK. The studio is spotless, comfortable and loads of room. Couldn't fault anything.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Embobabe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The motor lodge is in a great location. The owner could not have been more helpful. The air conditioner was very noisy. The tub was quite slippery and you had to be careful, but the shower was wonderful and the jet tub, once in, was very nice. We did have some problems with roaches, but the owner said they would be out to spray on the 21-st. We left the 10-th. The tv is in an awkward place, but still visible from the bed.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are wonderful. Lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maloofmieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting family. Great location, easy walk into village. Decor of rooms was a little dated. Was quite cold. We stayed in July and only heating was a noisy fan heater built into the wall. Heated the room ok but was so noisy we had to turn it off to sleep. There were no extra blankets provided and the one on the bed was pretty thin so was a cold night. Great layout though with the 2 bed unit having two singles in the separate bedroom and the king in the lounge. Great for those travelling with kids as can put the kids to bed and not worry about waking them with TV etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Te Mata Lodge whilst attending a conference. Glen, the host, could not have been more helpful. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was clean, but the little touches were what I appreciated most. There was a flannel in the bathroom marked "make up" and packaged make up remover wipes. A nice touch, encouraging the ladies to take their make up off at night instead of marking the pillows. There was plunger coffee and everything was done to make our stay enjoyable. Very comfortable bed, most important when away from home.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor half way along on the right. Parking was right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitchenlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Basically, the room was cold and the Hearer provided was no use. Obviously it's gets chilly in the middle if winter, but warming the room is essential.

Prob won't stay here again.

THat said, a decent location, good shower, and comfy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our second stay in this motel and it didn't disappoint. We shared a two bedroom suite with friends. Very quiet - no road noise. The location is great - just a short walk into the shops in Havelock North - can walk to New World and there's even a liquor wholesaler across the road. Suite was very clean and spacious. New modern large bathroom with spa bath. Appreciated SKY TV with the sports channels. Only disappointment was that the advertising says "full kitchen", so I expected a stove; however only a microwave, electric frypan and two hobs. I believe that's more a "kitchenette". Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again. Very helpful manager who made his garage available to house our bikes overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing on to reserve away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Young50chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
12.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wine Country Motor Lodge
Wine Country Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 21 Porter Drive, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: £82 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Mata Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing