We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the taste test!”

Arataki Honey Visitor Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You will be amazed at what you will discover, when you visit Arataki Honey Visitor Centre. Here you will be able to explore the fascinating world of the humble honeybee in a modern & interactive environment. With many activities on offer including an extensive retail section, everybody young & old will truly have “A Sweet Experience”. Free Entry Free Honey Tasting Group bookings Open 7 days 9.00am – 5.00pmClosed Christmas DayClosed Good FridayClosed Easter Sunday
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The best thing was being able to taste test the various types of honey. It is rare to have so many different types all in one place and being able to see which ones you really like as there is a lot of difference between them. Apart from that, however, I was disappointed. There was too much focus on the shop. Our visit was a short one.

Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us, It is great to be able to taste the differences between our 10 flavours of honey isn't it? I'm sorry that you were a bit disappointed by the retail area. Our main focus is our interactive and informative Honey & Honey Bee Discovery Centre which we have just finsihed upgrading. I notice from the photo that it must be a couple of years since your visit so I would urge you to come and see the great new look visitor centre should you ever get the chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This centre is amazing the information is clearly set out and the honey tasting wonderful. Everyone was so helpful, the shop after looking at the display had some great items.

Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

It was great to read about how amazing you found our Visitor Centre. We have just finished an update to the centre and take great pride in the way it is presented, our honey and our service. Thank you for letting us know that we ticked the boxes for you on all of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Culturally perfect and wonderful, hands on experience.

How can you go wrong if you make all things honey. Yum.

Try the pollen, so good for you.

Thank astropig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a gem of a place! All the usual products plus additional features like how honey is made. A great educational visit for everyone. Recommend you visit & try out the sample bar to test all the varieties on offer.

Thank APRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

It was a joy to read your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The centre is great to kill an hour. Perfect for keeping a group of kids busy with the hands-on area and in house bee colonies. They have all of their honeys available to sample at will and a huge range of products to buy. Excellent place to find that gift for someone back home.

Thank MCWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arataki Honey Visitor Centre also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 

Been to Arataki Honey Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing