We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Superb!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

John and Iris welcomed us into their home with good humour and bon homie. They were unobtrusive yet always available. Their local knowledge and advice was given freely and was spot-on. Our room and ensuite were excellent and the the breakfast was sensational with home-made ingredients and served in the beautifully landscaped gardens. The complimentary bottle of wine was the best Pinot-Noir we tasted in NZ. And thank you, Iris, for the copy of your home-made muesli recipe.

Room Tip: If you like B & B's, you'll love the Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
T & K......It was our pleasure to welcome you both into our home. We very much enjoyed our conversations and do hope we can visit your part of Australia before too long. Enjoy the Muesli
Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

What a great place to stay. Tasteful decor, impeccable service & hospitality. Such a lovely restful place to stay and savour the delights of this lovely area. Iris & John are welcoming, not intrusive. We don't generally stay in b&b's but the 3 nights here were a delight. Loved sitting on the deck watching the birds in the water features

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your very kind words Caroline, we thoroughly enjoyed your company - we could tell that 'he really really loves you!' . Your visit seems just like last week but already it is more than a month. We hope you had a fabulous Christmas, as we did..

All our best for 2013.

Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts, but this was tops. Iris and John allowed us into their drop-dead gorgeous home, and in the process, outdid the look by the classic service they provide. There is not a stroke missed at the Loft, from the unbelievable artwork (much of it painted by John himself), to the impeccable breakfasts they serve, to the gorgeously decorated bathroom,to the comfortable and warm bedrooms-unique in New Zealand homes, usually known for their low R-factors (poor insulation). As it turns out, their taste in furnishings and art are identical to ours, and that made our two-night stay even better. Next visit to Hawke's Bay, make a point of staying at the Loft.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwrfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you so much R & A, we very much enjoyed you coming to stay with us. By now you may be back in the USA, wonder if you have re-purchased your property yet?

We would be interested to hear where you settle next time you are back in NZ.

Our very best wishes for a terrific 2013.

Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent a perfect, quiet evening with John and Iris at their home in Havelock North, NZ. He is an artist, and opened his house and studio to us. The surroundings are perfect, the home is tasteful and full of attractive art. Our room was spacious, comfortable, with one of the lovliest bathrooms we have seen.
I highly recommend this place, and look forward to our next visit there!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Manager at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Hello G & J

A belated thank you for your lovely comments on T/A and our visitors book. We hope 2013 is going well for you both. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did meeting you.

Kindest regards

Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were so glad we chose The Loft for our night in Havelock North. The location was good, with a great view over the valley. We went for an evening walk around the local roads and the beautiful Keirunga Gardens which was very special with the autumn views. It isn't really walking distance to the town, but is very quiet.

The house was very interesting, being relatively new and well designed. The guest room was away from the main living area so gave plenty of privacy, with a very well equipped ensuite bathroom. The room had a great view, was warm and the bed was comfortable, being quite firm. There was enough cupboard space for us and plenty of room for our bags.

Iris and John were great hosts. John showed us his artwork and studio, which was fascinating, and Iris showed us some of her photo books. They are both very artistic and inspirational, as well as being very friendly. They gave us good advice on seeing the gardens and nearby Te Mata Peak, without which we probably wouldn't have visited either.

We would certainly recommend The Loft.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_and_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were looking for some affordable accomodation that had some appeal and The Loft Art Studio seemed to fit the bill when we found it online but had no great expectations. Our hosts Iris and John were a pleaseure to deal with from the moment we phoned to ask a few questions right through until we left.

The room was nicely appointed. Immaculately clean and the bed was very good quality (something I am quite particular about with a bad back).

The location is stunning with great views and on our first morning we could see right accross the ranges to Mt Ruapehu.

The view however was out done by the service and the breakfast! WOW - I have never had such a good breakfast in a B&B andd doubt I ever will. We had been to a wedding the night before and my wife and I were reluctant to get up for breakfast but dragged ourselves out of bed at 8:45 and were thankful we had made the effort. We were presented with hand made muesli, poached fresh fruit for starters followed by eggs of our choice with the best baccon I have ever tasted (locally sourced) jams, spreads, toast and croisants (Our second morning we also had the choice of pancakes).

Our hosts were friendly, well informed and unlike some B&B's we have stayed in they were delightfully professional and un--intrusive knowing when to make conversation and when to give their guests space and privacy.

Next time we are down we will definately be checking in, soaking up the view and devouring the great food!

Thanks from Glenn & Anna

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewd4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have stayed at this superlative B and B twice. Owners appreciate all the finer aspects of life, good food, music and lively conversation. View is excellent too. The bathroom is memorable with a glass ceiling and beautiful shower. Great attention to detail in the house.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spa bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Havelock House
Havelock House
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Woodford Heights, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art filled architectural home in prime position with magnificent views. Out-door areas for guests including beautiful courtyard and deck with wonderful view. In-house Art Studio to visit featuring New Zealand way of life originals in acrylic and watercolour. Just 2 mins to our village, nestled in the famed Te Mata Peak foothills.20 mins. to beaches, 20 mins. We are a food and wine destination with many other attractions. i.e amazing Gannet Colony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing