We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We'd like to say a big thank you to Iris and John for their hospitality and the wonderful place they've created. We feel so lucky to be able to stay in such a beautiful home filled with artistic flair and surrounded by amazing Hawkes Bay scenery. The breakfast was delicious and truly luxurious. Iris even created a special dish for a vegan in our company. And just I can't forget that fig jam made by Iris, it was so tasty! We also very enjoyed our visit to John's studio filled with his amazing paintings. We'd love to stay with you for longer and hope to return some day soon.

Room Tip: Pick a room with spa-bath :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Olga....thank you so much for this review....we did enjoy having the four of you to stay, we loved your sense of humour and conversation...thank you for bringing your friends from the other side of the world. As you said, we hope 'next time' you can stay longer....
Have a wonderful 2014....Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We felt really welcomed by Iris and John. They spoiled us completely. We really enjoyed sharing an exquisite dinner with them, conversation flowed very easily between us. They are both great listeners and we enjoyed hearing of their travels and also their knowledge of their local area was extremely helpful. We enjoyed our wine trail and their advice was spot on as to where to go. The breakfasts where just beautiful and yummy using products from their garden and locally sourced. John is a wonderful artist and we couldn't possibly leave without some of his artwork. Their home is very comfortable with great views of the surrounding countryside. It is so close to good shopping and wineries, what more could you want. We slept very well in great comfort. We wished we had stayed longer as two nights just wasn't enough. We will be back. Sue and Bernie -Hamilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you S & B for your very kind words, we enjoyed our conversations very much; pleased to hear you had a good journey back home, we look forward very much to your next visit. Have a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2014.

Kind regards
Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

John is a great host, Iris was away when we visited. Breakfast was a surprise each morning and always delicious. John is very informative and offers advice on the local restaurants and attractions not to be missed. We were so well looked after and the Hawkes Bay area is one of the North Island's nicest areas we wished we had stayed longer than 3 nights.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the lovely big bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 343Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This bed and breakfast extravaganza is wonderful. John and Iris have together created the most beautiful home not only for themselves but also for their guests, who they treat with a royal welcome, exquisite food and luxurious accommodation. Their combined artistic talent adorns every wall and John has his artists studio above the house, where one can view his water colour paintings - everyone a masterpiece. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
D & J.....you are so kind, we do appreciate your words and appreciation, we had much in common so it was easy to talk and have excellent conversations.

Thank you both for choosing our B & B to stay for your 2 nights in Hawke's Bay.....and for sharing meals, it was a treat for us as well.

Happy retirement in the UK - Blessings :-)

Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Everything about this lovely B & B was perfect.
The hosts were so friendly and made me feel very welcome.
It was a night of pure luxury and I loved my time staying here.
The linen was of a really high standard and the breakfast was delightful.
I would most definitely return and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a great relaxing and comfortable stay.

Barbara- Hamilton

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We are thrilled that you were relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us. We know you had a good time shopping in our village.
We enjoyed meeting you very much and we were able to talk about our experiences in the area that we had all lived in - it is a small world!
We do hope we see you again on your visits to Hawke's Bay...our best wishes for 2013
Iris and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in this B & B in March and it was beautifully situated in a tranquil garden setting with gorgeous views over Havelock North and Hawke's Bay. The weather was very kind to us which made sitting on the terrace particularly pleasant for breakfast or a drink in the evening. Seeing and hearing the native Tuis playing in the bird bath a few feet from us was a real treat. John and Iris were very welcoming and helpful with advice about the area. The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts as others have said were fabulous. Te Mata Peak is a must drive for views over Hawke's Bay (approx 10 mins away).

Room Tip: One room is larger and has a much larger bathroom the the other, which is reflected in the prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us and your time in Hawke's Bay. It is one of the gems of New Zealand with our fabulous attractions.

It was our pleasure to provide you with some enjoyable breakfasts, that is why we enjoy our B&B so much, meeting people such as yourselves and making sure you leave with good memories, feeling relaxed and refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Truly outstanding. John & Iris are the most welcoming of hosts without being intrusive.
Everything about our stay was outstanding. The room and the bathroom showed an immense attention to detail and were both artfully decorated.
The breakfasts were outstanding. Fresh fruit grown from their own garden, wonderful jams, homemade meusli which I would love to have taken home.
If you're staying in and around Havelock North, this is the only place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us V & C, we enjoyed meeting you both very much. We do appreciate your very kind words. I am very happy to send you my Muesli recipe, it has gone all around the world with our guests. Please let me know if you would like it.

Hope your trip back to the UK was uneventful and maybe we will see you again In Kiwiland :-) or in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Havelock House
Havelock House
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Woodford Heights, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art filled architectural home in prime position with magnificent views. Out-door areas for guests including beautiful courtyard and deck with wonderful view. In-house Art Studio to visit featuring New Zealand way of life originals in acrylic and watercolour. Just 2 mins to our village, nestled in the famed Te Mata Peak foothills.20 mins. to beaches, 20 mins. We are a food and wine destination with many other attractions. i.e amazing Gannet Colony. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing