We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb apartment as soon to the village as possible with everything you could need.”
Review of Village Apartment

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Apartment
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb apartment as soon to the village as possible with everything you could need.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and were impressed from the moment we arrived. 20 meters from the village, the apartment had everything we needed - a full kitchen, dining area, lounge and ensuite with washer & dryer. We were able to cook and eat in and even used the free bikes to visit some wineries. Great central location to explore Napier, Hastings and Havelock North. My high standards were exceeded and the apartment is way better value than a hotel or motel. Karen and Rex were warm and caring but unobtrusive hosts. The morning shower noise from above did wake me a few times but it meant we got up to enjoy the full day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishAustralianSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Susan

Your review is very comprehensive and we are so pleased that everything met with your approval. We enjoyed seeing you make the most of the apartment, cooking facilities and of course the bikes.........we hope it felt like home. Thank you for your positive comments and hope to be able to welcome you back again some time. Rex & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
54
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed for 4 nights recently while I was working in Havelock North and it was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. A real home-away-from-home.

Its a private 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and living area. Ensuite bathroom with shower. Also great to have a washing machine and dryer if you need it.

Free wifi and a lovely little patio where I sat and had lunch a couple of times.

A few steps from the New World supermarket and a short distance from all types of takeaways or restaurants.

I borrowed a bike one morning for a ride and went along the river park. It was great.

I would have loved to spend longer as a leisure traveller and not for work.

Ideal for a couple or single - there is only 1 bed so not really suitable for larger groups.

Room Tip: there is only one room so its nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula-from-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smartybarty, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks Paula for your review we are so pleased that everything met with your approval! Great to see the bikes getting used and good that the bike trails around here are getting such great patronage.

Thank you for your positive comments and hope to be able to welcome you back again some time perhaps not with work next time so you can spend a bit more time in around Havelock north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a lovely apartment. So clean. Very spacious. Private off street parking a real bonus. Our hosts were away for the weekend but we had a friendly greeting each day from Karen's mum. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Magics70A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks Colleen for taking the time to review your stay with us and for again rating us as #1 in Havelock North ........a wonderful accolade indeed! Really sorry we were away however as you mentioned our backup host looked after you - karens Mum, cwe couldnt do this whithout her.

Its taken us a long time to get where we are positioned at the top and continue to look at ways to improve.

We hope you find your way back some time in the future.......we'd love to welcome you. Rex & Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We only wish we had more time at this lovely property. Modern, clean, comfortable and in a great location. Great hosts, great price, onsite parking. Comfortable bed in a spacious bedroom. Full sized kitchen with all you need. Would happily return.

Room Tip: There is only one apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartment and for the positive comments you made. Yes its great being so close to all the attractions in and around Havelock North especially the wineries that have on offer some of the best wines in the world in such amazing settings. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future when Hawkes By has more on offer that cannot be missed. Rex & Karen Bartlett Village Apartment Havelock North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Beautiful modern apartment. Very close to central Havelock North, perfect for wandering into town for food, drinks or shopping!! We had an amazing stay and will definitely stay again next time we are in Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jess V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the village apartment. Yes its great being so close to all the amenties, restaurants and shops and our guests always comment on the unique location in the village yet its so quiet and private. I hope we see you soon on a return visit when you can perhaps spend more time relaxing around the pool and enjoying our great weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the apartment in early December. Our hosts Rex & Karen are a lovely couple who made the booking & payment very easy. The apartment is in a perfect location, with a New World supermarket & restaurants within a minutes walk. The accommodation is perfect, it has everything that you would need & more. It's a luxury apartment, spotless, bright, airy & very comfortable. There is a covered carport to park your car. We even had access to our hosts private swimming pool. Which is in a fantastic garden setting. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi Dee we love having guests in our Village Apartment and consider ourselves to be very fortunate to live in Havelock North with everything that’s so close at hand in the way of activities and experiences. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here and everything the apartment has to offer. As far as the pool goes yes we really enjoy having others sharing our pool area especially on our hot sunny days !

We certainly hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future!

Rex & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The apartment was just right for our two night stay. Very well located with shops etc just acrossthe road; comfortable, very clean quiet and very well equipped. Good value for money and would return if staying in the area.
Havelock North is an ideal place to stay if visiting Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageapartment, Owner at Village Apartment, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Colin & Judy we really appreciate your positive feedback on your Havelock North Village Apartment experience!

It works both ways as Karen & I consider ourselves to be very fortunate not only to be able to share our property and this wonderful region with our guests but also to engage in great conversations and share travel experiences from all over the world.

Hope to be able to welcome you both back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
0.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Apartment

Property: Village Apartment
Address: 16 Middle Road | Hawkes Bay, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Apartment (WINTER SPECIAL RATE $140.00 night) is just a minutes stroll from the cafes, restaurants and shops of Havelock North. It is also in close proximity to many of the Region's wineries including the renowned Te Mata Estate Winery, Craggy Range Vineyard and Black Barn Vineyard to name but a few. The Village apartment is fully self contained or we can offer full servie on request. Weekly - Monthly rates - discounts for extended stays. Please enquire at the time of booking as rates will vary depending on the time of year. •One Queen Bedroom• Free Wireless Broadband Internet Connection• Ensuite bathroom. Open Plan Lounge and Dining•Fully equipped and Spacious Kitchen•LCD Television•Sky Television•DVD Player•Stereo•Washing Machine•Iron•Dishwasher•Electric Blanket•Dryer.onsite 24 management. Rooms serviced and self service available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing