We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

As previous reviewers have stated, this is a great location and the cottages are beautifully appointed. Situated amongst the vines with views of Te Mata this should have been an exceptional ovenight stay. The staff were very friendly and the 'Terroir' restaurant was definitely worth a visit BUT..... unfortunately, two thing let it down:
Firstly, this is the only 'luxury' NZ accommodation in which we have stayed, that does not provide a welcoming complimentary bottle/half bottle of wine. Being a vineyard this is a bit ironic and rather short sited as a complimentary bottle of wine would have no doubt have encouraged us to purchase another bottle or two!
Secondly, the breakfast was truly appalling. It consisted of day old bread which was already in our room on arrival, one choice of cereal (muesli) and a pot of stewed fruit. There was no fruit juice, no yoghurt and no jam, honey or other preserves. Plain toast or stale bread and butter is not quite what we envisaged from any establishment such of this and rather spoilt an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Only two cottages - both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyS188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Family of four (kids 5 and 8) stayed in the Cellar Master's cottage in April 2012 (this is one of the two cottages on site). We really liked the cottage - although the appearance is functional from the outside, it is spotlessly clean, fitted out to a very high standard with new fabrics and high quality furniture, and well laid out inside. Each bedroom is a good size and has its own huge wardrobe and private bathroom; there's a large entrance hall with a kind of laundry room/area behind some doors; and a pleasant kitchen / dining area with adequate cooking facilities (a hob, kettle and microwave, but no oven or dishwasher); and finally a sitting room with a stereo, satellite TV box, and a large and new flat screen TV and DVD player.

Overall the impression is that no expense has been spared in equipping this cottage for guests, and it was an extremely comfortable place to stay. If you want to do a lot of cooking you might miss an oven or dishwasher, but why would you want to stay here and not eat in the Terroir restaurant on site? (We did twice - excellent food - and they said they would deliver food to our cottage if we'd asked).

Finally the location is stunning, behind Te Mata peak and close to Havelock North and all the other wineries of the area. It's perfect for groups of adults or older families. The only advice I would have if travelling with small children (like we were) is to be aware that there isn't a huge amount of outside space to run around in near to the cottage (you don't want them playing in the vines!) and there isn't anything particularly for the kids to do there (ie no pool or playground equipment). Not a problem at all if you go out for the day and return at bedtime, but I wouldn't plan on staying around the cottage during the day if you have little ones in tow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcr1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

When we arrived here, we could not believe we would actually be staying at such an amazing place! The location is stunning - vineyards and mountain range, and the accommodation was simply superb. Two lounges, log burner, washing machine and tumble dryer! Staff very helpful and we were also taken on a personal tour of the vineyard. The only small quibble would be the continental breakfast supplied to the cottage - not very good but, to be honest, the rest of the place blew us away!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

On first look a Black Tin Hut ! but a very smart Hut !!.
This property on the beautifully presented and run Craggy Range Estate
is nicely laid out and well equipped. 2 Decent size bedrooms with their
own ensuites. Neat Kitchen and Breakfast essentiels supplied. Washing machine
also included,
Comfortable Lounge/Diner with the usual TV /players & Black boxes.
The Craggy Range Restaurant is superb.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
4.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
14.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#2 of 11 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
3.5 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 10 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage

Property: Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Address: 253 Waimarama Road, Havelock North 4294, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vines at Giants Winery, with views of Te Mata Peak, Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages are the perfect place to relax and unwind. Simple, yet contemporary in design, three of the luxury cottages boast 2 bedrooms, each with it's own en-suite bathroom. The fourth cottage has one bedroom and a bathroom that features a separate freestanding bath tub and shower. All of the cottages have well-appointed kitchenette and living areas, all with a free standing wood burner to keep you warm amongst the vines on cooler nights. Complimentary continental breakfast provisions are supplied in the cottages for you to enjoy at your leisure. With the award winning Terroir restaurant and Cellar Door just metres away and extensive grounds to explore there is almost no reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing