We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great venue - fantastic service"”
Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We held my son's wedding at Mangapapa Petit Hotel on 5 Januray 2012. The grounds made the ideal setting for an outdoor wedding. The wedding party and parents of the bride and groom were booked into the luxurious rooms - we had the venue to ourselves. The bride was able to prepare herself - hair, makeup etc- in the spa while the groomsmen left the site.

Guests arrived via the tree lined drive and mingled in the shade of mature trees while waiting the arrival of the bride. An aisle had been created with topiary trees in pots leading to an archway under a large tree. The tables were laid under another large tree on the opposite side. The place looked stunning.

The hotel staff were friendly and professional and carried out their duties unobstrusively and efficiently. They were truly tested when one of the wedding guests collapsed and had to be hospitalised. However they responded admirably ushering guests to another area of the grounds out of sight of the victim while he was being cared for. The incident was managed professionally and compassionately. Thanks to their efforts it did not detract too much from the occasion.

The food was outstanding and given the delay caused by the unfortunate incident above it arrived cooked to perfection. All guests commented at some time how great the food was.

The evening disappeared quickly - the young danced on while some of us older ones retreated in doors to the bar overlooking the venue. The rooms were luxurious and the welcome beds were very comfortable. A cooked breakfast the next day overlooking the wedding site capped off a fantastic event.

We would highly recommend Managapapa Petit Hotel as an ideal venue for a wedding, a place to escape the hum drum of life and treat to tranqulity, a place to stay where you are unobstusively pampered.

Room Tip: Expess your needs and desires - they will accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Schollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent a weekend here and,although the language was English, the quality of the experience reminded us of the chateaus in Provence.
The place is an old homestead located in an orchard away from the towns. The grounds were extensive with benches and water features to sit and reflect. Rooms are spacious with upscale baths and toiletries. The staff is attentive and the food quite good. They even drove us to dinner and picked us up when we were done. A truly great service if one does not want to drive on unfamiliar roads in the evening after enjoying the local wine.
This is a wonderful place to relax and get some down time from a long trip. We did so and were glad we did.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Rooms outside the main house were not up to luxury lodge standards but we had a half price deal so on that basis it was well worth staying. Dinner was fantastic and breakfast was tasty but not a lot of choice. Service wasnt over the top, luxury lodge style, but faultless. A beautiful setting but starting to look a bit run down around the huge gardens. A nice to have would have been an in-room folder with local info on wineries and things to do. Overall we had an awesome time and would go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I had been to this lodge several years ago to celebrate a new relationship. At that time we were awe struck by the quality of the accomodation. This time, we went with a voucher and stayed in the Hamburg suite. The room was "nice", had a little sitting area and a king bed with good quality sheets. The bathroom was large. We were surprised that there was no spa bath since the normal cost for this room is almost $500 per night! The bar was well stocked. For the price, it was a good deal BUT the regular price for this room would be incredibly high for what you get. The lodge itself is really beautiful. The grounds and flowers are spectacular. I was pleased to discover that the new chef is fantastic. We had the 8 course dugustation with matching wines and every dish was a delight. The cost for dinner was high, but unlike the low value for the room, I think the dinner was worth every penny. I would certainly return for the dinner but would hesitate to return for the accomodation. Cleaning was spotty..dirty wine glasses from the night before were not replaced with clean ones and the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been. Sink taps were still spotty when we returned. Unacceptable for a high end lodge like this. I got the feeling that we were being treated like people with a voucher deal. If the idea was to encourage people to return for the ful price, it didn't work for me. Check out took about 20 min and I was getting quite restless by the time my turn came. Breakfast is usually included in the HIGH room cost but was quite a bit extra for us so we went to town.

Room Tip: the suites are not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Didn't know what to expect but it was fabulous. Beautiful room (Bensheim), beautiful property, lovely meal, amazing staff. Overall great experience! Would totally recommend :)

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank An2inette_P_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Beautiful property and service. We had an excellent long weekend here just relaxing. The pool area and gym were perfect for enabling us to forget about work - and the warm weather certainly helped. The staff were wonderful and we had a great evening served on by Emma. While the 5 course degustation was very good (and wine match perfect) we were left a little hungry afterwards which was a pitty.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in the Macon suite for 3 nights. This hotel is superb. They gardens and buildings are beautifully maintained. Every single member of the staff (particularly Max, Catherine and Andy the chef) were enthusiastic, welcoming and helpful. The food was sensational to eat and beautifully presented. The accommodations were such that we would have loved to have stayed longer to enjoy it. Our every wish was their command and the staff did all that could be done for us to enjoy our holiday. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: I only saw our suite, but I doubt very much that choosing one suite over another would make the slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRISBANEKIMBO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
71 reviews
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
800 reviews
10.5 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: £232 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing