We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I was impressed. - met at my car door with a smile, carried my luggage to my room which was two hours early of check in. The grounds are well kept with stunning roses and gardens, the photos online do not give it justice at all, it is beautiful! The gym is small but has all the high end equipment you need for a good workout. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. When I returned from my wine tour staff came out to welcome me back and the turn down service with the truffle on the silver platter with an update on the next days weather was a nice touch. The wild rabbits and pukekos added to the charm of this place. This boutique hotel is faultless and I would recommend to all who are travelling around the Hawkes Bay - great location! Can't wait to return, next time with friends and family!

Room Tip: Grounds are expansive. Rooms are quiet and private. Some noise can be heard in the bathroom from u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amkblackbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Hello amkblackbetty,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Mangapapa.

I look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
158
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Mangapapa, is truly a gem. From the lovely gardens to the wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and superb food. I cannot praise this hotel high enough. We travelled with our infant daughter and were a little hesitant to stay in such a boutique hotel. Despite this, the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. They did discourage her attending dinner, but I woudn't dare try to take a 2 year old to a 6 course degustation so I Can't comment on the evening food, but judging by breakfast I'm sure it's superb. They even have babysitting so next time we come (and we will) we will be able to have a nice evening meal.

The rooms are all differently decorated and I'm not normally a fan of 'olde worlde' charm but the Mangapa is not in that style. it's more like a lovely country home (if you were very wealthy). Amazingly though the prices are exceedingly reasonable for the quality of accommodation. We walked around the grounds, tried to play golf. with a 2 year old this essentially means rolling the balls into the hole. and had a picnic dinner on the grounds.

We loved the hotel and cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Each room is different, look at their website to see which style you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Hello Aussie_trekker,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mangapapa, we look forward to seeing the three of you again in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was a last minute choice and was surprised at how cost effective the offer was considering it includes breakfast. Chose the degustation menu and suite room in the old house. Everything was just great. Greeted at the door and ushered up to the beautifully prepared room. Registration form in the room - how sensible! There are 20 acres of grounds but most of these are in orchards. Golf, tennis, gym all add to the experience. Meal was excellent and definitely worth considering. Free bottled water, fruit, macaroons and turn down chocolates great little extras.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aklabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hello Aklabow,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mangapapa.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Hawke's Bay.

Kind regards

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a bit late ... 13 years and two days late to be precise! ... we were married - via elopement, with just two witnesses in tow - at this absolutely stunning location way back in 1999. The manager at the time was a lady named Carolyn who made sure that absolutely every aspect of our stay was perfect (including assigning us a Butler!). We married under a big tree on the lawn and were so delighted that Mrs Wattie - who lived in the house next door at the time - watched proceedings as we exchanged our vows :-) We've been back a couple of times since our amazingly special and happy day - just for afternoon tea - but we hope to come back and stay as guests sometime soon.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer part of the Lodge - upstairs, with a separate entranceway (our wedding pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeHoroNeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at Mangapapa for 4 nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the Hawkes Bay area, including their fantastic wineries. Although the decor was a bit 'chintzy' for my liking, the suite was large, bed comfy and bathroom had enough room for all your bathroom 'stuff' - big pluses for me. Unlike some hotels of this standard, the staff were all warm and very friendly and helpful, from a nightly turn down service with chocolates and a weather report for the next day to an umbrella left thoughtfully outside our room one morning when it poured with rain overnight. Things like this set Mangapapa apart from the usual boutique hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you are booking a deluxe suite, try to get one on the first floor. Other guests walking above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophisticant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b.c.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a fantastic property with a few rooms. There are numerous facilities including a 3 hole golf course! The greens are a bit rough though. The service was great and the 6 course meal was incrideble. Tony was very helpful to us. I highly recommend this lovely place with great gardens. We even saw 2 Kangaroos in the garden!

Room Tip: Main lodge upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain-CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We won 2 nights stay as part of a prize package. Didn't dine there, but would like to go back and stay and dine. Setting is fabulous, rooms appointed beautifully, attention to detail very fine. Staff very friendy, courteous and most willing to assist where ever. Breakfast was lovely. Resident cat a bit wary..

Room Tip: Had a room in the old homestead - nice views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuwharetoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
9.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
9.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Property: Mangapapa Hotel
Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing