We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back”
Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Yes, Mangapapa Petit Hotel is quaint, peaceful and set in beautiful surroundings but we will not be back. This was our third stay (4 nights) and clearly this hotel lacks management. We arrived late the first night (8 pm) to find out that there is no food offered other than a 6 or 12 course degustation menu which had to be pre- booked. The chef was there but we could not eat. Luckily, we had a car so we could drive back into town to get something to eat. There was no way we could get even a simple sandwich.
On our last night, we arrived back at the hotel at 10pm. to find the gate closed. We buzzed for about half an hour to no avail. My husband(69 years old) had to scale the 8 foot gate with spikes at the top and then walk the driveway to the hotel . He searched the hotel to eventually find a staff person to open the gate so we could drive in. There was no number to call at the gate. Security was non- existent. He was told the intercom buzzer doesn't work and many guests have had to do the same.
You cannot run a 4 star hotel without offering food to guests. The reason the dining room was empty is that the actual hotel guests who had to eat somewhere else if they wanted a meal other than a gourmet 6 course menu. A new manager started the day we were leaving. He did not offer anything other than to say he would make it right if we came back. Never. Not even with climbing gear.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midgett101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Midgett101,
Thank you for your frank review.
As you know, I was absolutely horrified to hear your husband's account of the locked gate/intercom not working/fence scaling drama. Clearly unacceptable, whether the property is a 5-star hotel, backpackers or any other establishment. The situation has been remedied with the installation of a brand spanking new intercom system - we'll not be seeing this scenario develop again.
It was also saddening to hear that we didn't meet your dining expectations. I've discussed this with the chef and we're looking at options to improve our bar/snack/room service menu. I personally understand the need for real food at unusual times, and we're working on this.
Lastly however, to say I "did not offer anything" is the absolute polar opposite of the truth. I am rather irritated that in addition to completely ignoring my genuine, generous offer of a 'weekend on the house in 2015', you actually have the gall to publish such a divergence from the truth in a public forum!

Nick Judd
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Went here on a dinner, bed and breakfast special. Food was fantastic and very unusual. Well presented. Had six course tasting menu. Room was in annexe and had living room as well as partitioned off bedroom. More modern than in the house but very private and comfortable. Frigid bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A lovely old homestead now a boutique hotel, situated just outside Havelock North in its own beautiful grounds, We enjoyed our stay tremendously. After reading other reviews, we requested an upstairs room and were given the delightful Seefeld suite. Very comfortable and romantic, with a large bathroom and four poster bed. We didnt have dinner but can highly recommend the breakfasts, especially the ricotta hotcakes! A couple of minor points, there is an extensive outdoor area upstairs but no outdoor furniture. We had to request a couple of chairs so we could enjoy the view. I understand the degustation menu is afeature of the hotel but it would have been good to have an alternative. A car is desirable as the hotel is out of town This was a plus for us!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here over a year ago and had a fabulous time. The chef stayed on late to cook us dinner after returning from an art exhibition.

This time however, our visit was very disappointing. We stayed in the Cambridge room. With guest staying in the room above, it resulted in a long, sleepless night for us as the noise was terrible. After asking the next morning to change rooms, we were told the staff were aware of the noise problems with these rooms and the guests upstairs were leaving that day and they would keep the room empty so we could get some sleep. I was ok with this, until reading some reviews on trip adviser and discovering that over a year ago this problem was made known to staff and still nothing has been done about it.

My other gripe is, after reading all the lovely reviews about the food and wine offered, we decided to head over for dinner about 8:30pm on the Friday night, only when we walked in we were told "dinner was over, but maybe we could get a 'bowl of fries' or 'the cheese is out, maybe we could fix you a cheese plate'". This was what we were told! We decided to get the cheese platter. We sat at the bar (not aloud in the dining room) and had a drink and ate our small cheese plate. I have to say it was beautiful, but not enough to fill two adults who were wanting dinner. While sitting at the bar, we could hear the conversation between the chefs (who were still working, so why couldn't we have dinner)? Needless to say their conversation was crude and not what we would expect from a place like yours!

When paying what we did to stay with you I would expect a lot more in the way of friendly service. Very disappointing after the wonderful visit we had the first time.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cakiepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

First class service. Close to all of the Hawkes Bay attractions. Excellent value.
Food was excellent. Best of our trip so far.
The service standard for everything at Mangapapa is very high.
Intimate and elegant setting with vineyards ,orchards at your doorstep,yet easy access to the surrounding area

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I cannot recommend Mangapapa highly enough. The staff were delightful and were always on hand but not obviously so. The service was superb and the degustation dinner pushed me to try things outside my comfort zone. We hadn't travelled far, but the whole experience was made us feel very special. Thanks so much for your attention to detail.

Room Tip: Rooms adjoining a deck with outdoor furniture mean the sun can be enjoyed in comfort and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtgreigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had my mums surprise birthday lunch here. I cannot thank the staff enough. They are excellent, they truly went above and beyond the expected. The food, the service the willingness and the ability to accommodate exceeded expectations, thank you from us all it was a truly memorable occasion, thank you.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
67 reviews
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
9.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
924 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: £239 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing