We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the whole family”
Review of Birdwoods Gallery

Birdwoods Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwoods Gallery is a very special place in the heart of Hawke's Bay. Set in the countryside just 3km from Havelock North Village, Birdwoods Gallery and its small companion, the Birdwoods Sweet Shop, are a 'must see' for young and old. Two historic buildings have been relocated to this pretty rural setting and transformed to become a distinctive and enchanting visitor attraction. Enjoy our famous morning or afternoon tea or come for a delicious garden lunch with family or friends. End it off with a delicious real fruit ice-cream from our little Ice Cream Shop.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well worth the trip out to Birdwoods Gallery. The lollyshop is fantastic, brings back a lot of memories from childhood with all the lollies you use to find at the corner dairy. The gallery and sculptures in the garden were great. Service in the cafe was a little slow, however this allowed us time to sit and admire the garden.

Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Wendy, thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry the service was a bit slow on the day you came, however, we hope you enjoyed the tea/coffee tray when it arrived. Come and visit us again - the Sweet Shop never disappoints! Kind regards, Louise Stobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a terrific little secret. Tucked away out the back of Havelock North, the gallery, cafe and sweet shop is a must see/do on your Hawkes Bay trip. I loved the gallery and in particular the outside sculptures. My wife loved the cafe with good coffee and wonderful scones. My kids loved the sweet shop with its terrific range and friendly staff member....actually I loved the sweet shop too.

Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for discovering us and we are delighted that your whole family enjoyed the experience. The Sweet Shop is usually the icing on the cake! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. Come again next time you are in Hawke's Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

About 3kms from Havelock North 'Village Center' and so worth the trip.
It's a coffee shop, brunch/lunch cafe and art and sculpture gallery all in one. Spacious seating area inside, tables outside. Nice menu, great plunger coffee.
All the art for sale has its own story, please ask for it if its not offered spontaneously :) Very nice to hear where the pieces come from.
Very friendly and relaxing place. A friend took me there and I go back every time I'm in Havelock.

Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your visit to Birdwoods Gallery, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

An excellent gallery for adults, a pick your own selection lolly shop for young and old, plus a brilliant cafe all in a fantastic setting. All of this close to the Havelock North village.
Thoroughly recommended to fit in with the other attractions in this beautiful part of New Zealand.

Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. Come and visit us again next time you are in the lovely Hawke's Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We loved sitting out on the deck for afternoon tea - it was such a lovely, relaxing environment so soak up a warm, sunny afternoon.

Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Birdwoods Gallery - we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdwoods Gallery also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 

Been to Birdwoods Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing