We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place terrific staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Lake Tahoe
Poway, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place terrific staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stay at The Lodge almost every time we are in South Lake Tahoe. The accommodations are great and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. It has become our home in Tahoe away from home. This is very close to the casinos and they are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Chose a full 1 or 2 bedroom unit to get a full kitchen. The "Sierra" units have a "p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a nice place except for the beds. Never had such an uncomfortable bed on land or sea. We travel a lot, and a carry a thin air mattress just in case and even with that it was painful. Almost got up in the middle of the night to make up the hide a bed. We left after two nights, just couldn't take it the bed was so hard. The room was large clean with full kitchen. I think the floor would have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldrushgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great value. Got the larger room and it worked out for us perfectly. Separate bedroom, full kitchen, good central location, and all at a very good price. The front desk help is very nice. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best to book a room directly by calling the hotel. There is a discount if you stay 2 nights or long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We've stayed at this location many times. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the room and kept in very good condition and clean. They have both an outdoor pool and hot tub. The hot tub is open all year round. The location is only a few blocks from a main shopping area and the Nevada Casinos. It is also close to several ski runs, some of which have complimentary shuttles.

Room Tip: This is a timeshare that also rents units. They have 1 and 2 bedroom units on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jergmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the first floor. The bedroom, kitchen and lounge were generously sized, we were close to the pool and bbqs and to the car parked in the rear. The bus to the ski lifts and to the shopping strip stops every 10-15 minutes outside the door of this small resort. The bus system is superb as it travels from one end of Heavenly in California all the way to the Heavenly side, and past supermarkets, casinos, shops etc. The Lodge is pretty close to everything. It was great value for money in my view as well.

Room Tip: all the rooms are well away from the main road, Pioneer Rd, and the walls are thick. It's very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank velkytatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Lodge is situated in a fantastic location right up the street from the main part of town. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was spacious and clean but the decor was very outdated. The Wi-Fi was problematic and the TV was retro. The kitchen was well stocked with good appliances and the bathroom had better than average toiletries. Overall an okay stay but happy that it wasn't an extended one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrazierFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent two very happy & comfortable weeks at The Lodge. We shared a two bedroom unit with friends and found there was plenty of room for the four of us. Decor was pleasant; bedding & furniture comfortable; staff were friendly & helpful; close to town; and with bus stops right outside to take you on the free bus to the Gondola or California Lodge - not that you couldn't walk to the former if you felt active. There are fancier places around, but for good accommodation at a reasonable price I reckon you'd be hard pressed to beat The Lodge - we've booked to come back next year. I only have one minor gripe, which is common to many American units - why isn't there a kettle to make a cup of tea???

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi J, Manager at The Lodge at Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Lodge at Lake Tahoe. We are so glad you will be returning. I appreciate your suggestions about our kitchen inventory and when you return next year I will make sure you have a kettle for hot water so you can enjoy your tea. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tahoe (California) hotels
1.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Lake Tahoe

Property: The Lodge at Lake Tahoe
Address: 3840 Pioneer Trl, CA 96150-8806
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Lake Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing